tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

19/08/2015 : RENÉ HULSBOSCH (STRUGGLER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

RENÉ HULSBOSCH (STRUGGLER)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
19/08/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

While listening to the music of the Flemish band Struggler after all these years, you wonder why they never broke through nationally or even internationally. Meanwhile, the band has been around for over 35 years and still performs occasionally. We asked singer and guitarist René Hulsebosch which albums have influenced him then.

1. Roxy Music - Roxy Music (1972)
I heard the song Re-make/Re-Model for the first time when I was 14. The lyrics describe a man who falls in love with a woman, but is afraid to approach her. Ferry explained in an interview that the number plate CPL 593H belonged to a car he previously owned. Afterwards he saw it parked on the street. An attractive young woman stepped in and drove away. Thus, in true Ferry style, the song was indirectly about 'the girl'. Hmm, nice story I believe. This 'Art-modelling Glam Rock' amazed me enormously, but the second album For Your Pleasure is even more my thing, especially In Every Dream Home a Heartache and The Bogus Man. After the release of that album, Eno left the band and my interest in Roxy Music slowly faded away.

2. Fripp/Eno - No Pussyfooting (1973)
Swastika Girl was my first step into Ambient music, between dream and reality. Still like it a lot. Guides me mostly through error-land.

3. Pere Ubu - The Modern Dance (1978)
I have nominated The Modern Dance because it still is a great album, but I go for the single Final Solution (not on the album) because, for the moment, it is the only cover in the Struggler live setlisting. Cheers!

4. Magazine - Real Life (1978)
The name of the song Shot By Both Sides came from a political argument between Devoto and his girlfriend, in which she said to him: "Oh, you'll end up shot by both sides”. And weren’t we all? I also adore the guitar riffs of John McGeoch. When we talk about lyrics, Devoto is one of the masters.

5. Chrome - Half Machine Lip Moves (1979)
UK magazine The Wire included Half Machine Lip Moves on its list of “100 (130) Records That Set the World on Fire". Despite the many staff changes, Chrome remains an amazing band. Aren’t they the crusaders of Industrial?

6. Killing Joke - Killing Joke (1980)
When it must cut deep with a powerfull sound, I long for War Dance of Killing Joke's self-titled debut studio album. They were in my head for days after I saw them at the Eurorock Festival this year, so despite all the rumours, thank you very very much Eurorock!

7. Rema-Rema - Wheel in the Roses (1980)
When I listen to Rema-Rema I only feel happiness. The band split up shortly after the EP's release in April 1980. Pirroni later went to Adam and the Ants. Asquith, Allen and Cox formed the short-lived Mass. Asquith then moved on to Renegade Soundwave, while Cox and Allen stayed with 4AD as part of The Wolfgang Press. Drummer Max Prior went on to form El Trains, worked with Genesis P. Orridge and as a solo artist under her real name (Dorothy) with Industrial Records. She eventually joined Psychic TV. Is there more to say!

8. Phew - Phew (1981)
The song Signal has a beautiful sequence loop that leads me into the world of Electro and EBM. I love this Japanese singer, working in the areas of rock and jazz avant-garde. In 1981 she made the album Phew with the members of Can.

9. The Birthday Party - Prayers on Fire (1981)
Yard is the softest track on the album, but with a certain vibe that makes you shiver. But that was not what we got during the show in Kuringen-Hasselt in the early 80s: a raw meat-like and overpowering killdozer, stunning bass and lots of booze by Tracy Pew, and our bass player Yvo Hendrikx loved it.

10. Cabaret Voltaire - 2x 45" (1982)
Yashar was the confirmation of my preference for Nag,Nag,Nag and No Escape, very convincing songs with a ring modulator on the voice that blew my mind out a few years before.

Have a nice time you all and make sure your intentions remain pure.

William LIÉNARD
19/08/2015


NL

Als je nu naar de muziek van de Limburgse Struggler luistert, vraag je je af waarom die band nooit nationaal of zelfs internationaal is doorgebroken. Ondertussen zijn de jongens al meer dan 35 jaar actief en treden ze nog sporadisch op. Wij vroegen aan zanger en gitarist René Hulsbosch welke albums hem destijds hebben beïnvloed.

1. Roxy Music - Roxy Music (1972)
Ik hoorde het liedje Re-make/Re-Model voor de eerste keer toen ik 14 was. De teksten beschrijven een man die verliefd wordt op een vrouw, maar haar niet durft te benaderen. Ferry verklaarde in een interview dat de nummerplaat CPL 593H bij een auto behoorde die eerder zijn eigendom was. Op een keer zag hij hem op straat staan. Een aantrekkelijke jonge vrouw stapte in en reed weg. Dus in ware Ferry stijl gaat dat lied indirect over 'het meisje'. Hmm, mooi verhaal, geloof ik. Deze artglamrock verbaasde me enorm, maar het tweede album For Your Pleasure is nog meer mijn ding, met name de songs In Every Dream Home een Heartache and The Bogus Man. Na de release van dat album verliet Eno verliet de band en verdween mijn interesse in Roxy Music langzaam.

2. Fripp/Eno - No Pussyfooting (1973)
Swastika Girl was mijn eerste stap in de ambiente muziek, tussen droom en werkelijkheid. Toch vind ik het nog steeds heel erg goed. Begeleidt me meestal door error-land.

3. Pere Ubu - The Modern Dance (1978)
Ik heb The Modern Dance genomineerd omdat het nog steeds een goed album is, maar ik ga voor de single Final Solution (niet op het album), omdat dat momenteel de enige cover is in de livesetlist van Struggler. Cheers!

4. Magazine - Real Life (1978)
De naam van het liedje Shot By Both Sides komt uit een politieke discussie tussen Devoto en zijn vriendin, die tegen hem zei: "Oh, you’ll end up shot by both sides" En geldt dat niet voor ons allemaal? Ik ben ook dol op de gitaarriffs van John McGeoch. Als we spreken over teksten, dan behoort Devoto tot de meesters.

5. Chrome - Half Machine Lip Moves (1979)
Het Britse tijdschrift The Wire zette Half Machine Lip Moves op de lijst van “100 (130) Records that set the World on Fire". Ondanks de vele personeelswisselingen, blijft Chrome een geweldige band. Zijn zij niet de kruisvaarders van Industrial?

6. Killing Joke - Killing Joke (1980)Als er diep moet worden gesneden met een krachtige sound, verlang ik naar
War Dance uit Killing Joke's titelloze debuutstudioalbum. Ze zaten nog dagenlang in mijn hoofd na hun optreden op Eurorock dit jaar, dus ondanks alle geruchten, dank u wel Eurorock!

7. Rema-Rema - Wheel in the Roses (1980)
Als ik luister naar Rema-Rema, voel ik me geluk. De band ging uiteen kort na de release van de ep in april 1980. Pirroni ging later naar Adam and the Ants. Asquith, Allen en Cox vormden kortstondige de band Mass. Asquith stapte vervolgens over naar Renegade Soundwave, terwijl Cox en Allen bij 4AD bleven als leden van The Wolfgang Press. Drummer Max richtte El Trains op, werkte samen met Genesis P. Orridge en als soloartieste onder haar echte naam (Dorothy) met Industrial Records. Later trad ze toe tot Psychic TV. Behoeft dat meer uitleg!

8. Phew - Phew (1981)Het liedje
Signal heeft een mooie sequentiële loop die me naar de wereld van de elektro en EBM leidt. Ik hou van deze Japanse zangeres, werkzaam op het gebied van rock en avant-garde jazz. In 1981 maakte ze het album Phew met de leden van Can.

9. The Birthday Party - Prayers on Fire (1981)
Yard is de zachtste track op het album, maar met een sfeer die je doet huiveren. Maar dat was niet wat we kregen tijdens de show in Kuringen-Hasselt in de vroege jaren 80: een rauwe, vlees-achtige en overweldigende killdozer, met een verbluffende bas en een veel zuipende Tracy Pew. Onze bassist Yvo Hendrikx vond het geweldig.

10. Cabaret Voltaire - 2x 45" (1982)
Yashar was de bevestiging van mijn voorkeur voor Nag, Nag, Nag en No Escape, zeer overtuigende nummers met een ringmodulator op de stem, die mijn hoofd een paar jaar eerdere lieten ontploffen.
 
Wens jullie nog een leuke tijd allemaal. Zorg ervoor dat je intenties zuiver blijven.

William LIÉNARD
19/08/2015


19/08/2015 : RENÉ HULSBOSCH (STRUGGLER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 19/08/2015 : RENÉ HULSBOSCH (STRUGGLER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 19/08/2015 : RENÉ HULSBOSCH (STRUGGLER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 19/08/2015 : RENÉ HULSBOSCH (STRUGGLER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 19/08/2015 : RENÉ HULSBOSCH (STRUGGLER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 19/08/2015 : RENÉ HULSBOSCH (STRUGGLER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 19/08/2015 : RENÉ HULSBOSCH (STRUGGLER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 19/08/2015 : RENÉ HULSBOSCH (STRUGGLER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 19/08/2015 : RENÉ HULSBOSCH (STRUGGLER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 19/08/2015 : RENÉ HULSBOSCH (STRUGGLER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 19/08/2015 : RENÉ HULSBOSCH (STRUGGLER) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures