tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
Electro 01/08/2015, Britta Tabrit

HARDWIRE is a US Industrial band and the 4 guys decided to be part of Peek-A-Boo’s latest column “Ten albums that changed my life”. Read what Mike Marsh (guitar and vocals) wants you to know:

Here is my list of top 10 albums that changed my life. I tried to select albums that legitimately affected me in some way, not just favorites. They are in no specific order.

1. Megadeth: Countdown to Extinction
This was the album that introduced me to Megadeth and was my gateway drug into the heavier darker side of metal. From here I found bands like Slayer, Venom, Decide, and Morbid Angel. It’s also a massive influence on my playing style.

2. Devo: Pioneers Who Got Scalped: The Anthology
The funny thing is I liked Devo before I really started to know who they were. I already loved the opening song to the Dan Aykroyd movie “Doctor Detroit” and Weird Al’s “Dare to be Stupid”. Granted, the Weird Al track wasn’t a true Devo song, but could have easily been one. I also thought that that a friend of mine, Dave Strand of “The Strand”, looked like a younger version of Mark Mothersbaugh. The entire Devo catalogue is fantastic – even the new stuff!

3. Kraftwerk: The Mix
This was a “best of” album for which they re-recorded some of their classic tracks. It introduced me to their ultra-cold sound. It’s hard to comprehend sometimes how ahead of their time they were. The climax of Autobahn still gives me the chills!

4. Slayer: Seasons in the Abyss
Here is another massive influence on my playing style. It’s an epic Slayer classic. It also didn’t hurt that Kerry King was my neighbour when I was in high school.

5. KMFDM: Symbols
This is the one that introduced me to their music and others like them. It’s also where I first heard En Esch’s exceptional German voice (his spoken word part in Megalomaniac). It’s a great album, but my favorite still goes to “Nihil”.

6. “Weird Al” Yankovic: Dare to be Stupid
Yes! I like Weird Al – his music was a huge part of my childhood. Who doesn’t like him?

7. Die Krupps: III – Odyssey of the Mind
When Ryan and I started Hardwire we didn’t know of many bands that had a sound similar to ours. Luckily for us, Die Krupps was one of them. They are the perfect bridge between electronic and metal. They were and still are a heavy influence on our sound.

8. Megadeth: Hangar 18
Yes - more Megadeth and one of the greatest thrash albums ever written. Don’t believe me? Listen to it…

9. Beethoven: Symphony No. 9
This is the greatest piece of music ever written. Please give the whole symphony a listen – not just the 4th movement.

10. Rossini: The Barber of Seville
This is a classic and the one that introduced me to opera. It’s almost 200 years old and still amazing. Even if you think you don’t know it – you do. Check out 'Largo al factotum' and you’ll know what I mean.

Hardwire on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/hardwirehardcore?fref=ts
Homepage: http://hardwirecentral.com/

Britta Tabrit
01/08/2015


01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses