tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
Electro 01/08/2015, Britta Tabrit

HARDWIRE is a US Industrial band and the 4 guys decided to be part of Peek-A-Boo’s latest column “Ten albums that changed my life”. Read what Mike Marsh (guitar and vocals) wants you to know:

Here is my list of top 10 albums that changed my life. I tried to select albums that legitimately affected me in some way, not just favorites. They are in no specific order.

1. Megadeth: Countdown to Extinction
This was the album that introduced me to Megadeth and was my gateway drug into the heavier darker side of metal. From here I found bands like Slayer, Venom, Decide, and Morbid Angel. It’s also a massive influence on my playing style.

2. Devo: Pioneers Who Got Scalped: The Anthology
The funny thing is I liked Devo before I really started to know who they were. I already loved the opening song to the Dan Aykroyd movie “Doctor Detroit” and Weird Al’s “Dare to be Stupid”. Granted, the Weird Al track wasn’t a true Devo song, but could have easily been one. I also thought that that a friend of mine, Dave Strand of “The Strand”, looked like a younger version of Mark Mothersbaugh. The entire Devo catalogue is fantastic – even the new stuff!

3. Kraftwerk: The Mix
This was a “best of” album for which they re-recorded some of their classic tracks. It introduced me to their ultra-cold sound. It’s hard to comprehend sometimes how ahead of their time they were. The climax of Autobahn still gives me the chills!

4. Slayer: Seasons in the Abyss
Here is another massive influence on my playing style. It’s an epic Slayer classic. It also didn’t hurt that Kerry King was my neighbour when I was in high school.

5. KMFDM: Symbols
This is the one that introduced me to their music and others like them. It’s also where I first heard En Esch’s exceptional German voice (his spoken word part in Megalomaniac). It’s a great album, but my favorite still goes to “Nihil”.

6. “Weird Al” Yankovic: Dare to be Stupid
Yes! I like Weird Al – his music was a huge part of my childhood. Who doesn’t like him?

7. Die Krupps: III – Odyssey of the Mind
When Ryan and I started Hardwire we didn’t know of many bands that had a sound similar to ours. Luckily for us, Die Krupps was one of them. They are the perfect bridge between electronic and metal. They were and still are a heavy influence on our sound.

8. Megadeth: Hangar 18
Yes - more Megadeth and one of the greatest thrash albums ever written. Don’t believe me? Listen to it…

9. Beethoven: Symphony No. 9
This is the greatest piece of music ever written. Please give the whole symphony a listen – not just the 4th movement.

10. Rossini: The Barber of Seville
This is a classic and the one that introduced me to opera. It’s almost 200 years old and still amazing. Even if you think you don’t know it – you do. Check out 'Largo al factotum' and you’ll know what I mean.

Hardwire on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/hardwirehardcore?fref=ts
Homepage: http://hardwirecentral.com/

Britta Tabrit
01/08/2015


01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)