tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
Electro 01/08/2015, Britta Tabrit

HARDWIRE is a US Industrial band and the 4 guys decided to be part of Peek-A-Boo’s latest column “Ten albums that changed my life”. Read what Mike Marsh (guitar and vocals) wants you to know:

Here is my list of top 10 albums that changed my life. I tried to select albums that legitimately affected me in some way, not just favorites. They are in no specific order.

1. Megadeth: Countdown to Extinction
This was the album that introduced me to Megadeth and was my gateway drug into the heavier darker side of metal. From here I found bands like Slayer, Venom, Decide, and Morbid Angel. It’s also a massive influence on my playing style.

2. Devo: Pioneers Who Got Scalped: The Anthology
The funny thing is I liked Devo before I really started to know who they were. I already loved the opening song to the Dan Aykroyd movie “Doctor Detroit” and Weird Al’s “Dare to be Stupid”. Granted, the Weird Al track wasn’t a true Devo song, but could have easily been one. I also thought that that a friend of mine, Dave Strand of “The Strand”, looked like a younger version of Mark Mothersbaugh. The entire Devo catalogue is fantastic – even the new stuff!

3. Kraftwerk: The Mix
This was a “best of” album for which they re-recorded some of their classic tracks. It introduced me to their ultra-cold sound. It’s hard to comprehend sometimes how ahead of their time they were. The climax of Autobahn still gives me the chills!

4. Slayer: Seasons in the Abyss
Here is another massive influence on my playing style. It’s an epic Slayer classic. It also didn’t hurt that Kerry King was my neighbour when I was in high school.

5. KMFDM: Symbols
This is the one that introduced me to their music and others like them. It’s also where I first heard En Esch’s exceptional German voice (his spoken word part in Megalomaniac). It’s a great album, but my favorite still goes to “Nihil”.

6. “Weird Al” Yankovic: Dare to be Stupid
Yes! I like Weird Al – his music was a huge part of my childhood. Who doesn’t like him?

7. Die Krupps: III – Odyssey of the Mind
When Ryan and I started Hardwire we didn’t know of many bands that had a sound similar to ours. Luckily for us, Die Krupps was one of them. They are the perfect bridge between electronic and metal. They were and still are a heavy influence on our sound.

8. Megadeth: Hangar 18
Yes - more Megadeth and one of the greatest thrash albums ever written. Don’t believe me? Listen to it…

9. Beethoven: Symphony No. 9
This is the greatest piece of music ever written. Please give the whole symphony a listen – not just the 4th movement.

10. Rossini: The Barber of Seville
This is a classic and the one that introduced me to opera. It’s almost 200 years old and still amazing. Even if you think you don’t know it – you do. Check out 'Largo al factotum' and you’ll know what I mean.

Hardwire on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/hardwirehardcore?fref=ts
Homepage: http://hardwirecentral.com/

Britta Tabrit
01/08/2015


01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 01/08/2015 : MIKE MARSH (HARDWIRE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS