tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat

MICHAEL MANN

Blackhat

Movie
Crime

[88/100]   

Universal Pictures
17/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The worst thing that can happen to an artist is that he does not get the chance to show his work. It is twice as worse when the artist is Michael Mann, a man who I unhesitatingly consider, along with Martin Scorsese, as the best American filmmaker of the last thirty years. The box office numbers for Blackhat were in the US so low that Universal decided to release the film over here directly to DVD, even the name of Chris Hemsworth couldn”t change that. Is it that bad? These are naturally the words of a fan, but I just fear that the current cinema audience has a very bad taste...

A blackhat is slang for a malicious hacker. Nick Hathaway (Hemsworth) is such a cybercriminal. He's not the typical nerd (what do you expect from Thor?), but more a bully with the brain of Einstein. The young guy was sentenced to fifteen years to prison, but he is freed when he catches a hacker with much worse intentions (blowing up a Chinese nuclear power plant). Hathaway is working with the Chinese officer Dawai Chen (Wang Leehom), and that is no coincidence, because the agent was his roommate with whom he developed a code.

A film about cybercrime might seem like a boring affair, but apart from the opening credits that look a bit like Tron, you won’t see Hathaway rarely behind his computer. You don't even have to know anything about informatics to be able to enjoy the movie, because Mann made (as always) a rousing action film. It is perhaps implausible to see a hacker suddenly become a sort of Charles Bronson who exterminates his opponentswith screwdrivers (yes!), but that can’t spoil the fun. The story itself is exaggerated, but it enables Manny to come up with his typical wide shots that are directed anywhere in the world. Mann is a master in discovering places like no other director (just remember what he did with L.A. in Heat), and this time the eyes of the director have fallen on the most bizarre locations in Chicago, Los Angeles, Hong Kong and Jakarta. The only thing you can blame the director for is that he repeats himself, the firefights look indeed almost like a copy from Heat. But do we have to whine about that? It is his style, and with this approach the cinematographer has created numerous masterpieces. Blackhat is definitely not his best picture, but it remains much better than all those other movies that weekly fill our cinema halls. You can think of it what you want, but Blackhat is in my top 20 of 2015, and even considerably high up!

 Blackhat is now out on DVD and Blu-ray via Universal.

Didier BECU
17/06/2015


NL

Het ergste wat een kunstenaar kan overkomen is dat hij de kans niet krijgt om zijn werk te tonen. Het wordt dubbel zo erg als de man in kwestie Michael Mann is, een man die ik zonder aarzelen samen met Martin Scorsese tot de beste Amerikaanse cineast van de laatste dertig jaar behoort. De bezoekcijfers voor Blackhat waren in de VS zo laag dat Universal besliste om de film bij ons rechtstreeks op dvd uit te brengen, zelfs de naam van Chris Hemsworth die als Thor graag met een bijltje staat te zwaaien, kon daar niets aan veranderen. Is de laatste van Mann dan zo slecht? Het zijn natuurlijk woorden van een fan, maar ik vrees gewoon dat het huidige bioscooppubliek gewoon een zeer slechte smaak heeft…

Zelf wisten het niet meteen, maar een blackhat is jargon voor een hacker met slechte bedoelingen. Nick Hathaway (Hemsworth) is zo’n cybercrimineel. Hij is niet de doorsnee nerd (wat verwacht je anders van Thor?), maar eerder een zware jongen met het brein van Einstein. De jonge kerel wordt tot vijftien jaar cel veroordeeld, maar kan vrijkomen als hij een andere hacker met nog veel slechtere bedoelingen (het opblazen van een Chinese kerncentrale) kan opsporen. Hathaway werkt samen met de Chinese officier Dawai Chen (Leehom Wang), en ook dat is niet toevallig want de agent was zijn kamergenoot met wie hij een code ontwikkelde.

Een film over cybercriminaliteit lijkt misschien een saaie bedoening, maar behalve de begingeneriek die wat op Tron lijkt, zit Hathaway zelden aan zijn computer gekluisterd. Je moet zelfs niet eens iets over informatica weten om ervan te kunnen genieten omdat Mann er (zoals steeds) een spetterende actiefilm van maakt. Het is misschien ongeloofwaardig om plotseling een hacker te zien uitgroeien tot een soort van Charles Bronson die gewapend met schroevendraaiers (jawel!) zijn tegenstanders uitschakelt, maar ook dat kan de pret niet drukken. Ook het verhaal zelf is op zijn zachtst uitgedrukt lichtjes overdreven, maar het geeft Mann de mogelijkheid om uit te pakken met zijn typische brede shots die zowat overal ter wereld zijn opgenomen. Mann is een meester in het ontdekken van plekjes die geen ander kent (herinner je bijv. hoe hij er L.A. in Heat liet uitzien), en ook deze keer zijn de ogen van de regisseur op de meest bizarre locaties van Chicago, Los Angeles, Hong Kong en Jakarta gericht. Het enige wat je de regisseur kwalijk kan nemen is dat hij wat in herhaling valt, de vuurgevechten lijken inderdaad bijna op een kopie van die uit Heat. Maar waarom moeten we daarover zitten janken? Het is zijn stijl en met die aanpak heeft de cineast voor talrijke meesterwerken gezorgd. Blackhat is zeker niet zijn sterkste prent, maar ze blijft wel stukken beter dan de andere films die wekelijks onze cinemazalen vullen. Je kunt ervan denken wat je wil, maar Blackhat staat in mijn top 20 van 2015, en zelfs flink bovenaan!

 Blackhat is vanaf nu op dvd en Blu-ray verkrijgbaar via Universal.

Didier BECU
17/06/2015


17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat 17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat 17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat 17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat 17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat 17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat 17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat 17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat 17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat 17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat 17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat 17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat 17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat 17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat 17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat 17/06/2015 : MICHAEL MANN - Blackhat

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia
09
09
ROSA CRVX
Omnes