tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart

LUKAS MOODYSSON

A Hole In My Heart

MovieCult movies
ArthouseExperimental

[74/100]   

Filmfreaks
23/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe Lukas Moodysson went just a little too far for the average reader with his fourth film A Hole In My Heart. With titles like Fucking Amal, Tillsammans or the highly underrated Lilja 4-ever, the Swede was a real prodigy, but since he released A Hole In My Heart, there is hardly anyone around who speaks about him. Shame, because A Hole In My Heart is probably his most controversial and most difficult, but certainly his best one too.

The film was shot in secret with a minimal budget and a film crew consisting of six people. The half hour film is set in a tiny little flat, which creates a nearly untenable claustrophobic feeling. Rickard (Thorsten Flinck) and Geko (Goran Marjanovic) are two idlers who wants to make a porn movie with the riotous Tess (Sanna Brading). While the trio indulges its lust, s the unworldly son Eric (Björn Almroth) is sitting in the room next to them.

This contemporary arthouse drama was heavily criticized because of the very explicit pornographic images, but anyone who does that has not understood the purpose. Moodysson did not want to create something beautiful, the realistic images have a high Big Brother-content and are perhaps shocking, but at the same time the movie is also an indictment to nihilism that is typical for today’s society. The dialogues make no sense, just because the characters have nothing to say, even if they are the kind of people who are ruling our world. When one of the adult males vomits in the girl's mouth, you know Moodysson feels no affection for the protagonists. The style of this film is very unusual and is reminiscent to the current works of Godard: a collage of brief images that are constantly interrupted, with industrial noise sounds dded.

A Hole In My Heart is not exactly the movie to put on when your mother-in-law comes to teat (we know, but we simply could not find a better cliché!), that is however no reason not to watch it. In the Benelux the film is out on Filmfreaks, on DVD only.

Didier BECU
23/12/2014


NL

Misschien ging Lukas Moodysson met zijn vierde film A Hole In My Heart voor de doorsnee filmkijker net iets te ver. Met titels als Fucking Åmål, Tillsammans of het sterk onderschatte Lilja 4-ever was de Zweed een wonderkind, maar sinds het draaien van A Hole In My Heart is er nauwelijks nog iemand die over hem spreekt. Ten onrechte, want A Hole In My Heart is misschien wel zijn meest controversiële en moeilijkste, zeker ook zijn beste.

De film is in het geheim opgenomen en dat met een minimaal budget en een filmploeg die uit welgeteld zes mensen bestaat. De anderhalf uur durende productie speelt zich in een piepklein flatje af waardoor er een bijna onhoudbaar claustrofobisch gevoel ontstaat. Rickard (Thorsten Flinck) en Geko (Goran Marjanovic) zijn twee nietsnutten die met de losbandige Tess (Sanna Bråding) een pornofilm willen draaien. Terwijl het trio z'n lusten botviert, zit in het kamertje ernaast de wereldvreemde zoon Eric (Björn Almroth).

Dit eigentijdse arthousedrama werd zwaar bekritiseerd door de zeer expliciete pornografische beelden, maar wie dat doet heeft er natuurlijk alweer niets van begrepen. Moodysson wilde helemaal geen mooie cinema maken, de realistische beeldfragmenten (die een hoog Big Brother-gehalte hebben) choqueren misschien wel, maar zijn tegelijkertijd ook een aanklacht tegen het nihilisme waarvan onze huidige maatschappij meer en meer het slachtoffer is. De dialogen slaan op niets, gewoon omdat de personages niets te zeggen hebben, maar het zijn wel het soort mensen dat tegenwoordig de plak zwaait. Als één van de volwassen mannen in de mond van het meisje braakt, weet je dat Moodysson maar weinig affectie voelt voor de door hem opgevoerde protagonisten. Ook de stijl van deze film is zeer apart en doet denken aan de huidige werken van Godard: een collage van korte beelden die om de haverklap worden onderbroken door industriële noisegeluiden.

A Hole In My Heart is niet meteen de film die je bekijkt als je schoonmoeder op theevisite komt (we weten het, maar we konden nu eenmaal geen beter cliché vinden!), dat is evenwel geen reden om hem niet te bekijken. In de Benelux is deze film uit op Filmfreaks, alleen op dvd.

Didier BECU
23/12/2014


23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 38 today!
08
10
'Deathgaze' Band VAZUM Unleashes Halloween-Themed Album, 'Rated V'
07
10
20 years of Mindstrip by Suicide Commando!
06
10
New MOTOR!K album MOTOR!K - 2 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
LISA GERRARD(DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!
16
10
AKALOTZ
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... AKALOTZ!
26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
17
10
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
16
10
PIETER VERMEYEN
Deep Into The Woods
15
10
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
Gold (Live at WGT 2014)
14
10
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)