tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart

LUKAS MOODYSSON

A Hole In My Heart

MovieCult movies
ArthouseExperimental

[74/100]   

Filmfreaks
23/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe Lukas Moodysson went just a little too far for the average reader with his fourth film A Hole In My Heart. With titles like Fucking Amal, Tillsammans or the highly underrated Lilja 4-ever, the Swede was a real prodigy, but since he released A Hole In My Heart, there is hardly anyone around who speaks about him. Shame, because A Hole In My Heart is probably his most controversial and most difficult, but certainly his best one too.

The film was shot in secret with a minimal budget and a film crew consisting of six people. The half hour film is set in a tiny little flat, which creates a nearly untenable claustrophobic feeling. Rickard (Thorsten Flinck) and Geko (Goran Marjanovic) are two idlers who wants to make a porn movie with the riotous Tess (Sanna Brading). While the trio indulges its lust, s the unworldly son Eric (Björn Almroth) is sitting in the room next to them.

This contemporary arthouse drama was heavily criticized because of the very explicit pornographic images, but anyone who does that has not understood the purpose. Moodysson did not want to create something beautiful, the realistic images have a high Big Brother-content and are perhaps shocking, but at the same time the movie is also an indictment to nihilism that is typical for today’s society. The dialogues make no sense, just because the characters have nothing to say, even if they are the kind of people who are ruling our world. When one of the adult males vomits in the girl's mouth, you know Moodysson feels no affection for the protagonists. The style of this film is very unusual and is reminiscent to the current works of Godard: a collage of brief images that are constantly interrupted, with industrial noise sounds dded.

A Hole In My Heart is not exactly the movie to put on when your mother-in-law comes to teat (we know, but we simply could not find a better cliché!), that is however no reason not to watch it. In the Benelux the film is out on Filmfreaks, on DVD only.

Didier BECU
23/12/2014


NL

Misschien ging Lukas Moodysson met zijn vierde film A Hole In My Heart voor de doorsnee filmkijker net iets te ver. Met titels als Fucking Åmål, Tillsammans of het sterk onderschatte Lilja 4-ever was de Zweed een wonderkind, maar sinds het draaien van A Hole In My Heart is er nauwelijks nog iemand die over hem spreekt. Ten onrechte, want A Hole In My Heart is misschien wel zijn meest controversiële en moeilijkste, zeker ook zijn beste.

De film is in het geheim opgenomen en dat met een minimaal budget en een filmploeg die uit welgeteld zes mensen bestaat. De anderhalf uur durende productie speelt zich in een piepklein flatje af waardoor er een bijna onhoudbaar claustrofobisch gevoel ontstaat. Rickard (Thorsten Flinck) en Geko (Goran Marjanovic) zijn twee nietsnutten die met de losbandige Tess (Sanna Bråding) een pornofilm willen draaien. Terwijl het trio z'n lusten botviert, zit in het kamertje ernaast de wereldvreemde zoon Eric (Björn Almroth).

Dit eigentijdse arthousedrama werd zwaar bekritiseerd door de zeer expliciete pornografische beelden, maar wie dat doet heeft er natuurlijk alweer niets van begrepen. Moodysson wilde helemaal geen mooie cinema maken, de realistische beeldfragmenten (die een hoog Big Brother-gehalte hebben) choqueren misschien wel, maar zijn tegelijkertijd ook een aanklacht tegen het nihilisme waarvan onze huidige maatschappij meer en meer het slachtoffer is. De dialogen slaan op niets, gewoon omdat de personages niets te zeggen hebben, maar het zijn wel het soort mensen dat tegenwoordig de plak zwaait. Als één van de volwassen mannen in de mond van het meisje braakt, weet je dat Moodysson maar weinig affectie voelt voor de door hem opgevoerde protagonisten. Ook de stijl van deze film is zeer apart en doet denken aan de huidige werken van Godard: een collage van korte beelden die om de haverklap worden onderbroken door industriële noisegeluiden.

A Hole In My Heart is niet meteen de film die je bekijkt als je schoonmoeder op theevisite komt (we weten het, maar we konden nu eenmaal geen beter cliché vinden!), dat is evenwel geen reden om hem niet te bekijken. In de Benelux is deze film uit op Filmfreaks, alleen op dvd.

Didier BECU
23/12/2014


23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart 23/12/2014 : LUKAS MOODYSSON - A Hole In My Heart

 

Next reviews
VODZ • Into the Woodz
JOHN TURTURRO • Fading Gigolo
NEONSOL • Ecliptic
• BIMFEST 2014 DAY 2 FT SERPENTS, COCKSURE AND DIE FORM
TUXEDOMOON (+ SUPPORT GEORGIO VALENTINO) • Hasselt, KC België (19/12/2014)
LONELADY • Groove It Out
GABE TURNER • The Guvnors
[:SITD:] • Dunkelziffer
KIM KI-DUK • Moebius
FABLE DUST • The man who came out of the storm

 

Other reviews from LUKAS MOODYSSON
LUKAS MOODYSSON • We Are The Best

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + EXPERIMENTAL
YORGOS LANTHIMOS • Kinetta
JEAN-LUC GODARD • Adieu Au Langage 3D (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
LISANDRO ALONSO • Jauja (Filmfest Ghent 2014)

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden