tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius

KIM KI-DUK

Moebius

Movie
Drama

[85/100]   

Contact Film
21/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

The world of cinema never stood still. That's good, because art just diesif it does. However, you can’t deny the fact that there is a lack of directors who want to cross the line. From Pier Paolo Pasolini to Bertrand Blier, there have always been film makers in the 60’s and 70’s (even 80’s) who dared to go very far. It is a species that slowly disappears. Fortunately there is still the South Korean Kim Ki- duk, who since 1996 comes up with controversial movies, almost on an annual basis.

Last year he directed the fierce crime drama Pieta, and now there's Moebius, banned in his own country. The reason is castration. When a married woman notices that her husband betrays her with a shopkeeper, she wants to castrate him. The mother does not succeed, so she cut off the penis of her teen son. There is no chance to sew it on afterwards as the mother nibbles the thing. The father is left with such great guilt that he donates his own genitals. The son begins a relationship with the mistress of his father.

An ideal script to shock. Kim Ki- duk also uses explicit images, and even makes of Moebius ​​a film without dialogue. The only thing you hear is moaning. The scenario is ideal for a torture porn movie, but that's not what Moebius is. How far can a man go in his sexual pleasure ? Is self-mutilation permissible or not? And indirectly the film refers to incest.

Moebius is certainly not an easy one. Voyeurs can perhaps watch it for the violence and eroticism, but the demand and the message that Kim Ki- duk has for the viewer is not easy to erase.

This film is a must see, and so again one of the highlights of Kim Ki- duks remarkable filmography, out now on DVD on Contact Film.

Didier BECU
21/12/2014


NL

De wereld van de cinema heeft nooit stilgestaan. Dat is goed, want kunst die niet vooruitgaat sterft gewoon. Wel kun je er niet omheen dat er een grondig gebrek is aan regisseurs die over de schreef willen gaan. Van Pier Paolo Pasolini tot Bertrand Blier, altijd had je in de jaren 60 en 70 (zelfs 80) cineasten die het aandurfden om tegen heilige huisjes te schoppen. Het is een soort die langzaam aan verdwijnt, gelukkig is er nog de Zuid-Koreaanse Kim Ki-duk, die sinds 1996 op bijna jaarlijkse basis een film maakt die heel wat tongen losmaakt.

Vorig jaar verscheen van hem het bikkelharde misdaaddrama Pieta, en nu is er Moebius dat in zijn eigen land gewoonweg is verbannen. De reden is castratie. Als een getrouwde vrouw bemerkt dat haar man met een winkelierster aan het flikflooien is, wil ze hem castreren. Het lukt de moeder niet en daarom snijdt ze maar de penis van haar zoon af. Er is geen kans om die er achteraf weer aan te naaien, want moederlief peuzelt het ding lekker op. De vader zit met zo’n groot schuldgevoel dat hij zijn eigen geslachtsorgaan doneert. De zoon begint een relatie met de maîtresse van zijn vader.

Een ideaal script dus om tere zieltjes te choqueren. Kim Ki-duk schuwt ook de expliciete beelden niet en jij maakt van Moebius zelfs een film zonder dialogen. Het enige wat je hoort is gekreun en gehijg. Het scenario zou ideaal zijn voor één of andere martelpornofilm, maar dat is Moebius zeker niet. Hoe ver kan een mens gaan in zijn seksueel genot? Is zelfverminking toelaatbaar of niet? En onrechtstreeks gaat de film natuurlijk over incest.

Moebius is zeker geen gemakkelijke kluif. Voyeurs kunnen hem misschien louter om zijn expliciet geweld en erotiek bekijken, maar de vraag en de boodschap waarmee Kim Ki-duk de kijker opzadelt mag je zeker niet wissen, en blijft loodzwaar.

Deze cinematografische must, alweer één van de hoogtepunten uit Kim Ki-duks merkwaardige filmografie, is nu uitgebracht op dvd door Contact Film.

Didier BECU
21/12/2014


21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius 21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius 21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius 21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius 21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius 21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius 21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius 21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius 21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius 21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius 21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius 21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius 21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius 21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius 21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius 21/12/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Moebius

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation