tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

20/12/2014 : PSYCHEDELIC FURS - Midnight To Midnight

PSYCHEDELIC FURS

Midnight To Midnight

MusicAlbum Classics
Dark Pop

[99/100]   

CBS
20/12/2014, Didier BECU

Sorry if you’re getting jealous, but I was one of those few Europeans who had the luck to see the best American FM-rockgothband ever (what a name, not?) in concert. An experience to never forget! Of course I’m referring to Psychedelic Furs, a band that managed to melt melancholy with rock.

Midnight To Midnight was their fifth album, and according to real rockjournos surely not their best, but for me it is. Maybe it has something to do with my twisted mind, but those ten tracks (the original album has only nine!) always give me the irresistible feel to grab the car keys and go driving on some highway pretending that I’m Don Johnson. It’s not without coincidence that I mention the Miami Vice star as Psychedelic Furs have a very eighties sound, but in the good sense, a bit like Gene Loves Jezebel did.

Just take a look at the cover! Singer Richard Butler (according to those same serious rockjournos an impossible man to deal with) is exposing himself and offering you his inner (troubled) soul, all wrapped up in nine melancholic songs. The album features one single only (Heartbreak Beat), but all the tracks were played to death! Angels Don’t Cry is probably the best song they have ever written, Shock is made to play loud (in that car yes!) and Shadow In My Heart is the ultimate song to perform some air guitar. And of course there is that extra track that has been included on the CD-version: Pretty In Pink.

Some will say that Midnight To Midnight was a weak follow-up for Mirror Moves (the album that made them famous). Never believe those words, play this CD at the loudest volume you can think of, dream away and just think you’re Sonny Crockett for 35 minutes! They were definitely touched by the hand of God!

Tracks :

 Heartbreak Beat
Shock
Shadow In My Heart
Angels Don't Cry
Midnight To Midnight
One More Word
All Of The Law
Torture
No Release
Pretty in Pink (86 version)

Didier BECU
20/12/2014


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem