tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

20/12/2014 : PSYCHEDELIC FURS - Midnight To Midnight

PSYCHEDELIC FURS

Midnight To Midnight

MusicAlbum Classics
Dark Pop

[99/100]   

CBS
20/12/2014, Didier BECU

Sorry if you’re getting jealous, but I was one of those few Europeans who had the luck to see the best American FM-rockgothband ever (what a name, not?) in concert. An experience to never forget! Of course I’m referring to Psychedelic Furs, a band that managed to melt melancholy with rock.

Midnight To Midnight was their fifth album, and according to real rockjournos surely not their best, but for me it is. Maybe it has something to do with my twisted mind, but those ten tracks (the original album has only nine!) always give me the irresistible feel to grab the car keys and go driving on some highway pretending that I’m Don Johnson. It’s not without coincidence that I mention the Miami Vice star as Psychedelic Furs have a very eighties sound, but in the good sense, a bit like Gene Loves Jezebel did.

Just take a look at the cover! Singer Richard Butler (according to those same serious rockjournos an impossible man to deal with) is exposing himself and offering you his inner (troubled) soul, all wrapped up in nine melancholic songs. The album features one single only (Heartbreak Beat), but all the tracks were played to death! Angels Don’t Cry is probably the best song they have ever written, Shock is made to play loud (in that car yes!) and Shadow In My Heart is the ultimate song to perform some air guitar. And of course there is that extra track that has been included on the CD-version: Pretty In Pink.

Some will say that Midnight To Midnight was a weak follow-up for Mirror Moves (the album that made them famous). Never believe those words, play this CD at the loudest volume you can think of, dream away and just think you’re Sonny Crockett for 35 minutes! They were definitely touched by the hand of God!

Tracks :

 Heartbreak Beat
Shock
Shadow In My Heart
Angels Don't Cry
Midnight To Midnight
One More Word
All Of The Law
Torture
No Release
Pretty in Pink (86 version)

Didier BECU
20/12/2014


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination