tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

20/12/2014 : PSYCHEDELIC FURS - Midnight To Midnight

PSYCHEDELIC FURS

Midnight To Midnight

MusicAlbum Classics
Dark Pop

[99/100]   

CBS
20/12/2014, Didier BECU

Sorry if you’re getting jealous, but I was one of those few Europeans who had the luck to see the best American FM-rockgothband ever (what a name, not?) in concert. An experience to never forget! Of course I’m referring to Psychedelic Furs, a band that managed to melt melancholy with rock.

Midnight To Midnight was their fifth album, and according to real rockjournos surely not their best, but for me it is. Maybe it has something to do with my twisted mind, but those ten tracks (the original album has only nine!) always give me the irresistible feel to grab the car keys and go driving on some highway pretending that I’m Don Johnson. It’s not without coincidence that I mention the Miami Vice star as Psychedelic Furs have a very eighties sound, but in the good sense, a bit like Gene Loves Jezebel did.

Just take a look at the cover! Singer Richard Butler (according to those same serious rockjournos an impossible man to deal with) is exposing himself and offering you his inner (troubled) soul, all wrapped up in nine melancholic songs. The album features one single only (Heartbreak Beat), but all the tracks were played to death! Angels Don’t Cry is probably the best song they have ever written, Shock is made to play loud (in that car yes!) and Shadow In My Heart is the ultimate song to perform some air guitar. And of course there is that extra track that has been included on the CD-version: Pretty In Pink.

Some will say that Midnight To Midnight was a weak follow-up for Mirror Moves (the album that made them famous). Never believe those words, play this CD at the loudest volume you can think of, dream away and just think you’re Sonny Crockett for 35 minutes! They were definitely touched by the hand of God!

Tracks :

 Heartbreak Beat
Shock
Shadow In My Heart
Angels Don't Cry
Midnight To Midnight
One More Word
All Of The Law
Torture
No Release
Pretty in Pink (86 version)

Didier BECU
20/12/2014


Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me