tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

20/12/2014 : PSYCHEDELIC FURS - Midnight To Midnight

PSYCHEDELIC FURS

Midnight To Midnight

MusicAlbum Classics
Dark Pop

[99/100]   

CBS
20/12/2014, Didier BECU

Sorry if you’re getting jealous, but I was one of those few Europeans who had the luck to see the best American FM-rockgothband ever (what a name, not?) in concert. An experience to never forget! Of course I’m referring to Psychedelic Furs, a band that managed to melt melancholy with rock.

Midnight To Midnight was their fifth album, and according to real rockjournos surely not their best, but for me it is. Maybe it has something to do with my twisted mind, but those ten tracks (the original album has only nine!) always give me the irresistible feel to grab the car keys and go driving on some highway pretending that I’m Don Johnson. It’s not without coincidence that I mention the Miami Vice star as Psychedelic Furs have a very eighties sound, but in the good sense, a bit like Gene Loves Jezebel did.

Just take a look at the cover! Singer Richard Butler (according to those same serious rockjournos an impossible man to deal with) is exposing himself and offering you his inner (troubled) soul, all wrapped up in nine melancholic songs. The album features one single only (Heartbreak Beat), but all the tracks were played to death! Angels Don’t Cry is probably the best song they have ever written, Shock is made to play loud (in that car yes!) and Shadow In My Heart is the ultimate song to perform some air guitar. And of course there is that extra track that has been included on the CD-version: Pretty In Pink.

Some will say that Midnight To Midnight was a weak follow-up for Mirror Moves (the album that made them famous). Never believe those words, play this CD at the loudest volume you can think of, dream away and just think you’re Sonny Crockett for 35 minutes! They were definitely touched by the hand of God!

Tracks :

 Heartbreak Beat
Shock
Shadow In My Heart
Angels Don't Cry
Midnight To Midnight
One More Word
All Of The Law
Torture
No Release
Pretty in Pink (86 version)

Didier BECU
20/12/2014


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above