tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

20/12/2014 : PSYCHEDELIC FURS - Midnight To Midnight

PSYCHEDELIC FURS

Midnight To Midnight

MusicAlbum Classics
Dark Pop

[99/100]   

CBS
20/12/2014, Didier BECU

Sorry if you’re getting jealous, but I was one of those few Europeans who had the luck to see the best American FM-rockgothband ever (what a name, not?) in concert. An experience to never forget! Of course I’m referring to Psychedelic Furs, a band that managed to melt melancholy with rock.

Midnight To Midnight was their fifth album, and according to real rockjournos surely not their best, but for me it is. Maybe it has something to do with my twisted mind, but those ten tracks (the original album has only nine!) always give me the irresistible feel to grab the car keys and go driving on some highway pretending that I’m Don Johnson. It’s not without coincidence that I mention the Miami Vice star as Psychedelic Furs have a very eighties sound, but in the good sense, a bit like Gene Loves Jezebel did.

Just take a look at the cover! Singer Richard Butler (according to those same serious rockjournos an impossible man to deal with) is exposing himself and offering you his inner (troubled) soul, all wrapped up in nine melancholic songs. The album features one single only (Heartbreak Beat), but all the tracks were played to death! Angels Don’t Cry is probably the best song they have ever written, Shock is made to play loud (in that car yes!) and Shadow In My Heart is the ultimate song to perform some air guitar. And of course there is that extra track that has been included on the CD-version: Pretty In Pink.

Some will say that Midnight To Midnight was a weak follow-up for Mirror Moves (the album that made them famous). Never believe those words, play this CD at the loudest volume you can think of, dream away and just think you’re Sonny Crockett for 35 minutes! They were definitely touched by the hand of God!

Tracks :

 Heartbreak Beat
Shock
Shadow In My Heart
Angels Don't Cry
Midnight To Midnight
One More Word
All Of The Law
Torture
No Release
Pretty in Pink (86 version)

Didier BECU
20/12/2014


Music reviews

15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!
24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery