tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/12/2014 : CALFSKIN - Historyrepeating

CALFSKIN

Historyrepeating

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   
18/12/2014, Peter HESELMANS

A few weeks after reviewing the new Calfskin-single, we already have the full album called Historyrepeating. Konstantin De Winter, the Belgian producer, vocalist and songwriter brings us 10 fresh synth pop tracks.

This guy already surprised me with his single The Cross: a soft mellow synth song with lots of 80’s influences, and he continues with the same ingredients on this album. Konstantin kicks off with Got To Move in which a ticking clock launches the track into a strong synthpop song, an up-tempo chorus will directly bring you into a soft happy electronic poppy mood. On Leave Me Alone you hear that Calfskin is heavily influenced by early Depeche Mode tunes, although he still manages to give it his own modern touch.

Never Gonna Walk Alone carries you away into a gloomy synth ballad, while Look At Me continues with more emotional driven electro pop. Konstantin brings us very nice catchy songs, with tunes and rhythms that stick in your head.

My personal favorite on this album is Free: slowly build up, soft piano tunes that change into a fantastic catchy futurepop song. This CD really has some potential, mellow tracks, up-tempo songs, beautiful rhythmic tunes and even nice danceable synth loops.

Sometimes I hear some big influences of a band like Wolfsheim, or early OMD, and lots of synths sounds of the 80’s, but this stays really good electro pop from Belgium, and hopefully Konstantin can get the attention he deserves with this album.

 

Peter HESELMANS
18/12/2014


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil