tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/12/2014 : CALFSKIN - Historyrepeating

CALFSKIN

Historyrepeating

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   
18/12/2014, Peter HESELMANS

A few weeks after reviewing the new Calfskin-single, we already have the full album called Historyrepeating. Konstantin De Winter, the Belgian producer, vocalist and songwriter brings us 10 fresh synth pop tracks.

This guy already surprised me with his single The Cross: a soft mellow synth song with lots of 80’s influences, and he continues with the same ingredients on this album. Konstantin kicks off with Got To Move in which a ticking clock launches the track into a strong synthpop song, an up-tempo chorus will directly bring you into a soft happy electronic poppy mood. On Leave Me Alone you hear that Calfskin is heavily influenced by early Depeche Mode tunes, although he still manages to give it his own modern touch.

Never Gonna Walk Alone carries you away into a gloomy synth ballad, while Look At Me continues with more emotional driven electro pop. Konstantin brings us very nice catchy songs, with tunes and rhythms that stick in your head.

My personal favorite on this album is Free: slowly build up, soft piano tunes that change into a fantastic catchy futurepop song. This CD really has some potential, mellow tracks, up-tempo songs, beautiful rhythmic tunes and even nice danceable synth loops.

Sometimes I hear some big influences of a band like Wolfsheim, or early OMD, and lots of synths sounds of the 80’s, but this stays really good electro pop from Belgium, and hopefully Konstantin can get the attention he deserves with this album.

 

Peter HESELMANS
18/12/2014


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL