tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

14/01/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Pieta

KIM KI-DUK

Pieta

Movie
Crime

[84/100]   

Contact Film
14/01/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Not every film critic was amused by the fact Kim Ki-Duk won in Venice the Golden Lion with his 18th movie. They never had doubts about his skills as a director. After all his movies Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter...and Spring and Bin-jip  were in their previously top10-lists. No, the problem was the violence. So yes, some reviewers who claim to know it all are closing their eyes for reality. As that's what it is. Some clever guys adverted Pieta as a horrormovie and even if there are some brutal scenes included, this movie has nothing to do with this genre. The latest movie from Kim Di-Duk is a charge against today’s society. It's a pity to notice that some critics shut their eyes for that, luckily enough the South-Korean filmmaker makes sure they are kept open!

The story is set in the slums of Seoul where Kang-do (Lee Jung-jin) lives. This crook is sent by the mob to small traders who want to lend some money. Everybody knows that they are never able to pay their debts, but the mob has found a perfect solution for this: the insurance! If someone can't pay back the money, they just send Kang-do who smashes the bones from the poor sods and with the money they get from the insurance, they pay their debts!. Kang-do never feels guilty about his actions as he's just doing his job. Everything changes when out of the blue a middle aged woman (Jo Min-su) turns up who claims to be his mother. The woman shows her son that he is nothing but the devil's servant. He agrees, but it's too late to change that. 
 
You can find lots of reviews that are written about this movie. It's clear that you can judge this movie in two ways. Or you isolate some scenes and see it as pure gore, but if you want to give this movie the justice it deserves then you're putting all the parts in one whole and see Pieta as an other sad report about this mess the world has become. We're sure that Kim Ki-Duk had that in mind...

Didier BECU
14/01/2014


NL

Niet iedere filmcriticus was in zijn nopjes toen de achttiende film van arthouseregisseur Kim Ki-Duk in Venetië met de Gouden Leeuw aan de haal ging. Met de filmstijl van de Zuid-Koreaan hadden de "filmkenners" geen probleem, jaren geleden stonden immers zijn pareltjes als Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter...and Spring en Bin-jip hoog in hun eindejaarslijstjes genoteerd. Wel vond met het geweld veel te expliciet. Sommige slimme jongens (ofschoon de film nooit de Belgische bioscoopzalen haalde) bestempelden de prent gewoon als een horrorfestijn. Maar daarmee heeft Pieta niets te maken. De echte duivel is (zoals één van de hoofdpersonages zelf zegt) gewoon het geld. Een mens is tot alles in staat, zeker als hij honger heeft. Het blijft moeilijk om uit te maken of de maatschappij daar voor verantwoordelijk is of niet. Feit is, dat geweld wel degelijk bestaat Als "serieuze" filmcritici daar hun ogen willen voor sluiten dan is dat hun zaak, regisseurs als Kim Di-Duk zorgen er in ieder geval voor dat ze open blijven.

In de krottenwijken van Seoul leeft Kang-do (Lee Jung-jin). De maffiabazen sturen deze gespierde knaap naar kleine handelaartjes die met moeite de eindjes aan elkaar kunnen knopen. De kunst bestaat erin om deze arme sukkels te overhalen om een lening aan te gaan. Iedereen weet dat geen van hun ooit deze woekerprijzen kan terugbetalen, maar daar heeft de maffia een goede oplossing voor gevonden: de verzekering. Kan je je schulden niet aflossen, dan komt Kang-do gewoon je botten verbrijzelen. Met het geld dat je nadien van de verzekering krijgt kan je dan netjes je lening afbetalen. Kang-do wordt door de hele wijk gevreesd, maar dat laat hem koud. Hij oefent alleen maar zijn job uit. Alles verandert wanneer een oudere vrouw ( (Jo Min-su) in zijn leven verschijnt. De dame beweert dat zij zijn moeder is. Plotseling ziet Kang-do de wreedheid van zijn daden in, alleen is er geen weg meer terug.

Over Pieta zijn er heel wat schrijfsels de wereld ingestuurd. Alles hangt er natuurlijk van af hoe je het bekijkt. Je kan zoals sommige moraalridders enkele scènes isoleren (bijv. die over incest), maar je kan de film natuurlijk ook als een regelrechte aanklacht tegen de huidige samenleving zien. Iedereen met wat gezond verstand weet beslist wat Kim Ki-Duk precies bedoelt...

Didier BECU
14/01/2014


14/01/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Pieta 14/01/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Pieta 14/01/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Pieta 14/01/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Pieta 14/01/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Pieta 14/01/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Pieta 14/01/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Pieta 14/01/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Pieta 14/01/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Pieta 14/01/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Pieta 14/01/2014 : KIM KI-DUK - Pieta

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline