tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/12/2014 : [:SITD:] - Dunkelziffer

[:SITD:]

Dunkelziffer

MusicCD
EBMElectronicsFuturepop

[82/100]   

Dark Dimensions
21/12/2014, Benny CALUWE

The album starts with a nice intro. Dark synths topped with a sample of Gregorian singing are building up the atmosphere. Then you hear Samuel L. Jackson screaming: “And you will know my name is the lord”, seamlessly followed by the wicked opening sequence of Dunkelziffer, which is truly an uplifting dark electro hymn, while the Gregorian voices of the intro return. It’s an impressive track about child abuse in the church that combines aggression with atmosphere. One of the best tracks I heard this year in this genre or maybe even in general. There is an extended version included on this album.

Purgatory is another hammer with some hard hitting percussion. Auto-aggression is made of the same typical [:SITD:]-elements,while the piano brings a melodic touch. Everlasting is a slow song with floating synths. In this one you don’t hear Carsten Jacek’s distorted vocals, instead you hear Tom Lesczenski who makes this track really melancholic with his clean vocals.

Revolution is crafted with heavy rhythms and is criticizing the trade in German weapons. The next track is called Santa Muerte. A minus point is the use of robotic voices in some verses. I can’t see the added value. But apart from that, the song has everything to tempt me: dark atmospheric keys, fantastic percussion and a catchy melody. Journey’s end is an instrumental with an important part for the piano.

Memorandum is more upbeat and more future pop orientated. The song is reminiscent of their Stronghold debut album. After the slow and harsh Vendetta, a mysterious outro ends the album. An album that sounds familiarly [:SITD:].

Benny CALUWE
21/12/2014


 

Next reviews
KIM KI-DUK • Moebius
FABLE DUST • The man who came out of the storm
RIDLEY SCOTT • Exodus: Gods And Kings
HERSCHELL GORDON LEWIS • Blood Feast
PSYCHEDELIC FURS • Midnight To Midnight
VARIOUS ARISTS • A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure
ANNTI JOKINEN • The Resident
RAINER WERNER FASSBINDER • Despair, Eine Reise ins Licht/Despair, A Voyage into the Light
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
• THE VAMPIRE DIARIES SEASON 5

 

Same genre: EBM
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same genre: FUTUREPOP
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LAS AVES • Die in Shangai
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MR.KITTY • Fragments
ANGELS & AGONY • Monument
ADVANCE • Deus Ex Machina

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap