tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors

GABE TURNER

The Guvnors

Movie
Drama

[63/100]   

Metrodome
21/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Once there was a time when England was automatically associated with hooligans. In the 80's Mitch (Doug Allen) was a fighter with his gang The Guvnors, the fear of the town. Twenty years later, much has changed. He is a respected businessman, has a beautiful wife, wants his son to be the example and as a catharsis he wrote a book about his past misdeeds. For Mitch the violence is nothing more than a youth sin. That will change when their former leader (now a pub owner) Mickey (David Essex) is beaten to death by a new gang (This is my square !).

You definitely have seen a film like The Guvnors (and perhaps even better), but this British production rises nonetheless above mediocrity because of the excellent performances. Doug Allen convincingly plays the role of the ex-hooligan who is now a yuppie in fashionable London, while Harley Sylvester (the figure head of the rap group Rizzle Kicks ) is one of the most terrifying baddies that you recently saw in a British crime film. A piece of dangerous scum that aimlessly walks around in the streets, armed with a simple box cutter. The Guvnors is violent, but debuting director Gabe Turner knows how to control it by balancing drama with brutal violence.

The Guvnors is certainly not an original film, but one that gives you viewing pleasure (although the Shakespearean finale was not really necessary) and is now available on DVD through Metrodome.

Didier BECU
21/12/2014


NL

Ooit was er een tijd waarin Engeland werd geassocieerd met hooligans. In de jaren 80 was Mitch (Doug Allen) ook zo’n vechtersbaas die samen met zijn groepje The Guvnors rivaliserende supporters met plezier een klap op hun bek verkocht. Twintig jaar later is er veel veranderd. Hij is een alom gerespecteerde zakenman, heeft een knappe vrouw, wil dat zijn zoon het voorbeeld geeft en als catharsis heeft hij zelfs een boek over zijn vroegere wandaden geschreven. Voor Mitch is het geweld van toen niet meer dan een jeugdzonde. Daar komt verandering in als hun gewezen leider (nu cafébaas) Mickey (David Essex) dood wordt geslagen door een jeugdbende die baas speelt over de Londense buitenwijken (This is my square!).

Een film als The Guvnors heb je zeker al eerder gezien (en wellicht zelfs beter), toch stijgt deze Britse productie boven de middelmaat uit dankzij de excellente vertolkingen. Doug Allen speelt overtuigend de rol van een ex-hooligan die nu de plak zwaait in het mondaine Londen, terwijl Harley Sylvester (boegbeeld van de rapgroep Rizzle Kicks) één van de meest schrikwekkende baddies is die je in een recente Britse misdaadfilm zag. Een stuk tuig dat doelloos in de straten rondloopt en met een eenvoudig stanleymes de schrik van de buurt wordt. The Guvnors is wel gewelddadig, maar debuterend regisseur Gabe Turner weet zich te beheersen door drama met geweld mooi in evenwicht te brengen.

The Guvnors is zeker geen originele film, wel eentje die je met plezier uitkijkt (ofschoon het Shakespeariaanse slot niet echt nodig was) en is nu verkrijgbaar op dvd via het Britse Metrodome.

Didier BECU
21/12/2014


21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation