tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors

GABE TURNER

The Guvnors

Movie
Drama

[63/100]   

Metrodome
21/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Once there was a time when England was automatically associated with hooligans. In the 80's Mitch (Doug Allen) was a fighter with his gang The Guvnors, the fear of the town. Twenty years later, much has changed. He is a respected businessman, has a beautiful wife, wants his son to be the example and as a catharsis he wrote a book about his past misdeeds. For Mitch the violence is nothing more than a youth sin. That will change when their former leader (now a pub owner) Mickey (David Essex) is beaten to death by a new gang (This is my square !).

You definitely have seen a film like The Guvnors (and perhaps even better), but this British production rises nonetheless above mediocrity because of the excellent performances. Doug Allen convincingly plays the role of the ex-hooligan who is now a yuppie in fashionable London, while Harley Sylvester (the figure head of the rap group Rizzle Kicks ) is one of the most terrifying baddies that you recently saw in a British crime film. A piece of dangerous scum that aimlessly walks around in the streets, armed with a simple box cutter. The Guvnors is violent, but debuting director Gabe Turner knows how to control it by balancing drama with brutal violence.

The Guvnors is certainly not an original film, but one that gives you viewing pleasure (although the Shakespearean finale was not really necessary) and is now available on DVD through Metrodome.

Didier BECU
21/12/2014


NL

Ooit was er een tijd waarin Engeland werd geassocieerd met hooligans. In de jaren 80 was Mitch (Doug Allen) ook zo’n vechtersbaas die samen met zijn groepje The Guvnors rivaliserende supporters met plezier een klap op hun bek verkocht. Twintig jaar later is er veel veranderd. Hij is een alom gerespecteerde zakenman, heeft een knappe vrouw, wil dat zijn zoon het voorbeeld geeft en als catharsis heeft hij zelfs een boek over zijn vroegere wandaden geschreven. Voor Mitch is het geweld van toen niet meer dan een jeugdzonde. Daar komt verandering in als hun gewezen leider (nu cafébaas) Mickey (David Essex) dood wordt geslagen door een jeugdbende die baas speelt over de Londense buitenwijken (This is my square!).

Een film als The Guvnors heb je zeker al eerder gezien (en wellicht zelfs beter), toch stijgt deze Britse productie boven de middelmaat uit dankzij de excellente vertolkingen. Doug Allen speelt overtuigend de rol van een ex-hooligan die nu de plak zwaait in het mondaine Londen, terwijl Harley Sylvester (boegbeeld van de rapgroep Rizzle Kicks) één van de meest schrikwekkende baddies is die je in een recente Britse misdaadfilm zag. Een stuk tuig dat doelloos in de straten rondloopt en met een eenvoudig stanleymes de schrik van de buurt wordt. The Guvnors is wel gewelddadig, maar debuterend regisseur Gabe Turner weet zich te beheersen door drama met geweld mooi in evenwicht te brengen.

The Guvnors is zeker geen originele film, wel eentje die je met plezier uitkijkt (ofschoon het Shakespeariaanse slot niet echt nodig was) en is nu verkrijgbaar op dvd via het Britse Metrodome.

Didier BECU
21/12/2014


21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors 21/12/2014 : GABE TURNER - The Guvnors

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom