tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night

JOHN LANDIS

Into the Night

MovieMovie classics
ActionComedy

[80/100]   

Universal Pictures
20/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

I could fool you and tell you that I choose Into The Night because of David Bowie, as he plays a small (funny) role in it, but the real reason is blonde, sexy and one of the most beautiful women in the world. No, for once I am not talking about Sharon Stone, but that other diva from the 80s: Michelle Pfeiffer. If you do not count the flopped sequel of Grease, then this comedy is her second major role (Scarface was of course the first one) in her career. Even though this film has an enormous cast (especially in the supporting roles), you can say that Into The Night was simply created for her. A nerd who is deceived by his wife and falls for the wrong kind of lady. Ed Okin (Jeff Goldblum) is so tired of his wife that at night he’s unable to sleep. After another blunder at work, his colleague Herb (Dan Akroyd) advises him to go home and get some sleep. Once he's there, he discovers that his wife likes to share the bed with someone else. Completely out of mind, he goes to downtown Los Angeles. He does not know what happens with him when suddenly a beautiful woman (Pfeiffer) jumps into his car. The beauty not only looks like Princess Diana, she has also the same name. Ed is obviously clever enough to realize that this can’t be accidental. Diana is on the run for four Iranians. Ed discovers that Diana smuggled some emerald stones to the US that belong to the Shah of Iran. The two are not only pursued by four hilarious (but extremely dangerous) Iranians, there is also a British hitman (David Bowie) involved in the game.

Apart from An American Werewolf In London, you can crown John Landis as one of the masters of the 80s comedies, that’s also how you have to regard Into the Night. Today making a film like that would be impossible, as both the audience and the critics would nail the director to the cross, but in 1985 it worked! There will undoubtedly be people around who think that the result is rather silly, as for instance the baddies don’t seem dangerous at all, but rather ridiculous, actually, and that is also a typical feature of the 80s cinema. The chases are never really exciting, but more a tribute to the slapstick comedy of the Keystone Cops. Into The Night was also an ideal way for Michelle Pfeiffer to show that she was more than just Scarface’s darling. She did it, and perhaps without fully realizing it, she became one of the most popular sex symbols of the 80s. Also fantastic are the numerous cameos that you can spot in the film. The list is too long to mention but watch out for the cult directors Roger Vadim and Jack Arnold, David Cronenberg, Jonathan Demme, Muppet-father Jim Henson and rock 'n roll legend Carl Perkins.

Didier BECU
20/07/2015


NL

Ik zou flauw kunnen doen en schrijven dat ik het over Into The Night wil hebben omdat David Bowie er een kleine (grappige) rol in vertolkt, maar de echte reden is blond, sexy en één van de mooiste vrouwen ter wereld. Neen, ik heb het voor één keer niet over Sharon Stone, wel over die andere diva uit de jaren 80: Michelle Pfeiffer. Als je de geflopte sequel van Grease niet meerekent, dan is deze komedie haar tweede grote rol (Scarface was natuurlijk de eerste) uit haar carrière. Ook al heeft deze film een cast (vooral wat de bijrollen betreft) om van achterover te vallen, kun je gerust stellen dat Into The Night gemaakt was voor de knappe actrice. Een sul die bedrogen wordt door zijn vrouw en als een blinde mol in de val loopt van een knappe dame. De onbeholpen kerel is Ed Okin (Jeff Goldblum). Hij is het gezeur van zijn vrouw zo beu dat hij er ’s nachts niet meer van kan slapen. Nadat hij tijdens de vergadering is ingedommeld, raadt zijn collega Herb (Dan Akroyd) hem aan om naar huis te gaan om wat te slapen. Eens thuisgekomen ontdekt hij dat zijn vrouw liever het bed met een ander deelt. Compleet van de kaart gaat hij naar het centrum van Los Angeles. Hij weet niet wat er gebeurt als een prachtvrouw (Pfeiffer) in zijn auto springt.Ze ziet er niet alleen als Lady Diana uit, ze heet ook zo. Ed is natuurlijk snugger genoeg om te beseffen dat dit geen toeval kan zijn. Diana is geen doetje en is op de vlucht is voor vier Iraniërs. Ed ontdekt dat Diana emeraldstenen naar de VS heeft gesmokkeld die eigendom zijn van de Shah van Iran. De twee worden niet alleen nagezeten door vier dolkomische (maar uiterst gevaarlijke) Iraniërs, er is ook een Britse huurmoordenaar (David Bowie) in het spel betrokken.

Als je An American Werewolf In London niet meerekent, kan je John Landis gerust kronen tot één van de meesters van de jaren-80-komedie, Into the Night moet je dan ook zo bekijken. Wie vandaag zo’n film zou maken, valt zonder medelijden door de mand om nadien door de critici aan het kruis te worden genageld, maar in 1985 kon zoiets wel en het werkte! Er zullen ongetwijfeld mensen zijn die denken dat het resultaat eerder sullig is, zo zien bijv. de zware jongens er helemaal niet gevaarlijk uit, bijna eerder ridicuul, maar ook dat is een typisch element van de jaren-80-cinema, net als de achtervolgingen die nooit echt spannend zijn, maar eerder op een ode aan de slapstick van de Keystone Cops lijken. Into The Night was ook een ideale manier voor Michelle Pfeiffer om te tonen dat ze meer kon dan alleen maar als het liefje van Scarface coke snuiven. Ze deed dat, en zonder het wellicht helemaal te beseffen werd ze daarmee een van de populairste sekssymbolen van de jaren 80. Ten slotte heb je ook nog de talrijke cameo’s die de film extra flair bezorgen. De lijst is te lang om op te noemen, maar kijk vooral uit naar die van de cultregisseurs Roger Vadim en Jack Arnold, David Cronenberg, Jonathan Demme, Muppet-vader Jim Henson en rock ’n roll-legende Carl Perkins.

Didier BECU
20/07/2015


20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night 20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night 20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night 20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night 20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night 20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night 20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night 20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night 20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night 20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night 20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night 20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night 20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night 20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night 20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night 20/07/2015 : JOHN LANDIS - Into the Night

Music reviews

19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever