tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/07/2015 : ARTHUR RUSSELL - Corn

ARTHUR RUSSELL

Corn

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimental

[75/100]   
19/07/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Comprised of unreleased early '80s recordings, Corn serves as an interesting timemap of Russell's recording life betwixt his Tommy Boy club hits and minor label releases such as World Of Echo. The relentlessness of Lucky Cloud sets the scene, a mixture of John Martyn-esque vocal-reflection and brittle Russell cello scraping that sets the scene for an album that is a cut above the usual Arthur Russell rubber-necking. Keeping Up continues the sub-folkisms of the first few tracks before the NYC throb of Let's Go Swimming permeates the album's version of said club classic. Overall, this is as good an intro to the sound magician's key period as you could wish to have.

 

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
19/07/2015


 

Next reviews
JOE LYNCH • Everly
JULIEN KIDAM (CHEMICAL SWEET KID) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMON CURTIS • Woman In Gold
PEYTON REED • Ant-Man
LEIGH WHANNELL • Insidious: Chapter 3
SMASH HIT COMBO • Playmore
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Kollektion 4
THE GORGEOUS CHANS • Marina and I / By The Highway
DEAD CAN DANCE • Anastasis
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation