tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/07/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Kollektion 4

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Kollektion 4

MusicCD
Electronics

[75/100]   

Bureau B
17/07/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Germany's Bureau B continues its exploration of the acclaimed but often-overlooked Sky label's catalogue with this exemplary double CD. Curated by Death In Vegas lynchpin Richard Fearless, Kollektion 4 maintains the high standard already set by previous compilers such as Lloyd Cole and Tim Gane but adopts a more widescreen approach, covering pretty much most of the big names in progressive electronic rock.

Some of the names might be retro but the music is shamelessly contemporary with key pieces by Faust, Moebius and Qluster providing organic Krautrock explorations alongside more pastoral pieces by the sadly-departed Wolfgang Reichmann (Abendlicht is as beautiful as it is simple), elegiac Asmus Tietchens and cyclical You with Deep Range, a celestial track reminiscent of Eno and Cluster (and Jean-Michel Jarre, truth be told).

For those who require a bit more in the way of classic motorik rock, head to the fantastic Gunter Schickert who turns up with the hypnotic firework-laden Suleika, the uptempo Solyst contribution The Swell and the full-on Thomas Dinger who fills an enjoyable nine minutes of our lives with the sprightly Fur Dich. Of course for an eerie unsettling dubbed-up epic - and I do mean 'epic' - head to Doppelschnitt by Moebius and Beerbohm in all its 20 minute glory.

Fans of Death In Vegas will no doubt be ticking off the band's sources of inspiration as the minutes tick by - this is a hearty compilation.

A volume 5 featuring Conrad Schnitzler and curated by Thomas Fehlmann is also due out in the summer.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Review

Paul PLEDGER
17/07/2015


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline