tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/07/2015 : TRANSMIT - Radiation

TRANSMIT

Radiation

MusicCD
Alternative RockExperimentalPsychedelic

[80/100]   

Monotype records
13/07/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

‘Radiation’ is mainly an instrumental album with the accent on drums, percussion and rhythm section. You hear six tracks between six and eleven minutes, instrumental and sometimes with vocals. The band exists of Tony Buck (songwriting, drums and guitars), Magda Mayas (organ and piano), James Welburn (bass) and Brendan Doughety (drums).

The first song 'Vinyl' starts with an intro of drums and the rest follows after two minutes: guitar and bass. No vocals, but an excellent instrumental. These are fine musicians.

‘Drive’ is a cover of the well-known track by The Cars. The dreamy popsong gets a ‘Transmit’ treatment and transforms the composition into a shoegaze/experimental track.

‘Swimming Alone’ starts as an etherical/psychedelic song (bowls and bells included) and cannot convince me at first. Halfway, the song gets a more rock approach and that is a good choice. For the rest a faultless course of a talented band.

The tracks are provocative and not always obvious. A must for lovers of drum and percussion.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/07/2015


NL

'Radiation' is grotendeels een instrumentaal album waarop de nadruk ligt op de drums, percussie en ritmesectie. Je hoort zes tracks van zes tot elf minuten, instrumentaal en gezongen. De band bestaat uit Tony Buck (tekstschrijver, drum en gitaar), Magda Mayas (orgel en piano), James Welburn (bas) en Brendan Doughety (drums).

Het eerste nummer 'Vinyl' begint met een intro bestaande uit slagwerk, waarbij je enkel malen denkt dat de rest van de band zal invallen, maar die doet dat pas na anderhalve minuut met bas en gitaar. Geen gezang, maar een uitstekende instrumentale song. Je hoort meteen dat je hier met ferme muzikanten te maken hebt.

‘Drive’ is een cover van een compositie van The Cars. De dromerige popsong krijgt hier een ’Transmit’-behandeling waardoor hij verandert in een shoegaze/experimentele track.

‘Swimming Alone’ begint als een etherische/psychedelische song (klankschalen en bellen incluis) en kan mij niet meteen overtuigen. Halfweg is er sprake van een rockaanpak en bloeit de melodie open. De tweede helft redt de song. Voor de rest een foutloos parcours van een talentvolle band.

De songs zijn uitdagend en niet altijd voor de hand liggend en een must voor liefhebbers van drum en percussie. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/07/2015


 

Next reviews
• THE 100 SEASON 1
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
NEILL BLOMKAMP • Chappie
WILLY DIRKX (DE BRASSERS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRIAN LYNCH • MINIONS
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
TV SMITH • Gary Gilmore Eyes (ep)
WILLIAM D DRAKE • Revere Reach
• PERSON OF INTERST SEASON 3
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet