tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/07/2015 : TRANSMIT - Radiation

TRANSMIT

Radiation

MusicCD
Alternative RockExperimentalPsychedelic

[80/100]   

Monotype records
13/07/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

‘Radiation’ is mainly an instrumental album with the accent on drums, percussion and rhythm section. You hear six tracks between six and eleven minutes, instrumental and sometimes with vocals. The band exists of Tony Buck (songwriting, drums and guitars), Magda Mayas (organ and piano), James Welburn (bass) and Brendan Doughety (drums).

The first song 'Vinyl' starts with an intro of drums and the rest follows after two minutes: guitar and bass. No vocals, but an excellent instrumental. These are fine musicians.

‘Drive’ is a cover of the well-known track by The Cars. The dreamy popsong gets a ‘Transmit’ treatment and transforms the composition into a shoegaze/experimental track.

‘Swimming Alone’ starts as an etherical/psychedelic song (bowls and bells included) and cannot convince me at first. Halfway, the song gets a more rock approach and that is a good choice. For the rest a faultless course of a talented band.

The tracks are provocative and not always obvious. A must for lovers of drum and percussion.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/07/2015


NL

'Radiation' is grotendeels een instrumentaal album waarop de nadruk ligt op de drums, percussie en ritmesectie. Je hoort zes tracks van zes tot elf minuten, instrumentaal en gezongen. De band bestaat uit Tony Buck (tekstschrijver, drum en gitaar), Magda Mayas (orgel en piano), James Welburn (bas) en Brendan Doughety (drums).

Het eerste nummer 'Vinyl' begint met een intro bestaande uit slagwerk, waarbij je enkel malen denkt dat de rest van de band zal invallen, maar die doet dat pas na anderhalve minuut met bas en gitaar. Geen gezang, maar een uitstekende instrumentale song. Je hoort meteen dat je hier met ferme muzikanten te maken hebt.

‘Drive’ is een cover van een compositie van The Cars. De dromerige popsong krijgt hier een ’Transmit’-behandeling waardoor hij verandert in een shoegaze/experimentele track.

‘Swimming Alone’ begint als een etherische/psychedelische song (klankschalen en bellen incluis) en kan mij niet meteen overtuigen. Halfweg is er sprake van een rockaanpak en bloeit de melodie open. De tweede helft redt de song. Voor de rest een foutloos parcours van een talentvolle band.

De songs zijn uitdagend en niet altijd voor de hand liggend en een must voor liefhebbers van drum en percussie. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/07/2015


 

Next reviews
• THE 100 SEASON 1
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
NEILL BLOMKAMP • Chappie
WILLY DIRKX (DE BRASSERS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRIAN LYNCH • MINIONS
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
TV SMITH • Gary Gilmore Eyes (ep)
WILLIAM D DRAKE • Revere Reach
• PERSON OF INTERST SEASON 3
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia