tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/07/2015 : TRANSMIT - Radiation

TRANSMIT

Radiation

MusicCD
Alternative RockExperimentalPsychedelic

[80/100]   

Monotype records
13/07/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

‘Radiation’ is mainly an instrumental album with the accent on drums, percussion and rhythm section. You hear six tracks between six and eleven minutes, instrumental and sometimes with vocals. The band exists of Tony Buck (songwriting, drums and guitars), Magda Mayas (organ and piano), James Welburn (bass) and Brendan Doughety (drums).

The first song 'Vinyl' starts with an intro of drums and the rest follows after two minutes: guitar and bass. No vocals, but an excellent instrumental. These are fine musicians.

‘Drive’ is a cover of the well-known track by The Cars. The dreamy popsong gets a ‘Transmit’ treatment and transforms the composition into a shoegaze/experimental track.

‘Swimming Alone’ starts as an etherical/psychedelic song (bowls and bells included) and cannot convince me at first. Halfway, the song gets a more rock approach and that is a good choice. For the rest a faultless course of a talented band.

The tracks are provocative and not always obvious. A must for lovers of drum and percussion.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/07/2015


NL

'Radiation' is grotendeels een instrumentaal album waarop de nadruk ligt op de drums, percussie en ritmesectie. Je hoort zes tracks van zes tot elf minuten, instrumentaal en gezongen. De band bestaat uit Tony Buck (tekstschrijver, drum en gitaar), Magda Mayas (orgel en piano), James Welburn (bas) en Brendan Doughety (drums).

Het eerste nummer 'Vinyl' begint met een intro bestaande uit slagwerk, waarbij je enkel malen denkt dat de rest van de band zal invallen, maar die doet dat pas na anderhalve minuut met bas en gitaar. Geen gezang, maar een uitstekende instrumentale song. Je hoort meteen dat je hier met ferme muzikanten te maken hebt.

‘Drive’ is een cover van een compositie van The Cars. De dromerige popsong krijgt hier een ’Transmit’-behandeling waardoor hij verandert in een shoegaze/experimentele track.

‘Swimming Alone’ begint als een etherische/psychedelische song (klankschalen en bellen incluis) en kan mij niet meteen overtuigen. Halfweg is er sprake van een rockaanpak en bloeit de melodie open. De tweede helft redt de song. Voor de rest een foutloos parcours van een talentvolle band.

De songs zijn uitdagend en niet altijd voor de hand liggend en een must voor liefhebbers van drum en percussie. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/07/2015


 

Next reviews
• THE 100 SEASON 1
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
NEILL BLOMKAMP • Chappie
WILLY DIRKX (DE BRASSERS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRIAN LYNCH • MINIONS
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
TV SMITH • Gary Gilmore Eyes (ep)
WILLIAM D DRAKE • Revere Reach
• PERSON OF INTERST SEASON 3
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
RIDE • This Is Not a Safe Place
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis