tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/07/2015 : TRANSMIT - Radiation

TRANSMIT

Radiation

MusicCD
Alternative RockExperimentalPsychedelic

[80/100]   

Monotype records
13/07/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

‘Radiation’ is mainly an instrumental album with the accent on drums, percussion and rhythm section. You hear six tracks between six and eleven minutes, instrumental and sometimes with vocals. The band exists of Tony Buck (songwriting, drums and guitars), Magda Mayas (organ and piano), James Welburn (bass) and Brendan Doughety (drums).

The first song 'Vinyl' starts with an intro of drums and the rest follows after two minutes: guitar and bass. No vocals, but an excellent instrumental. These are fine musicians.

‘Drive’ is a cover of the well-known track by The Cars. The dreamy popsong gets a ‘Transmit’ treatment and transforms the composition into a shoegaze/experimental track.

‘Swimming Alone’ starts as an etherical/psychedelic song (bowls and bells included) and cannot convince me at first. Halfway, the song gets a more rock approach and that is a good choice. For the rest a faultless course of a talented band.

The tracks are provocative and not always obvious. A must for lovers of drum and percussion.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/07/2015


NL

'Radiation' is grotendeels een instrumentaal album waarop de nadruk ligt op de drums, percussie en ritmesectie. Je hoort zes tracks van zes tot elf minuten, instrumentaal en gezongen. De band bestaat uit Tony Buck (tekstschrijver, drum en gitaar), Magda Mayas (orgel en piano), James Welburn (bas) en Brendan Doughety (drums).

Het eerste nummer 'Vinyl' begint met een intro bestaande uit slagwerk, waarbij je enkel malen denkt dat de rest van de band zal invallen, maar die doet dat pas na anderhalve minuut met bas en gitaar. Geen gezang, maar een uitstekende instrumentale song. Je hoort meteen dat je hier met ferme muzikanten te maken hebt.

‘Drive’ is een cover van een compositie van The Cars. De dromerige popsong krijgt hier een ’Transmit’-behandeling waardoor hij verandert in een shoegaze/experimentele track.

‘Swimming Alone’ begint als een etherische/psychedelische song (klankschalen en bellen incluis) en kan mij niet meteen overtuigen. Halfweg is er sprake van een rockaanpak en bloeit de melodie open. De tweede helft redt de song. Voor de rest een foutloos parcours van een talentvolle band.

De songs zijn uitdagend en niet altijd voor de hand liggend en een must voor liefhebbers van drum en percussie. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/07/2015


 

Next reviews
• THE 100 SEASON 1
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
NEILL BLOMKAMP • Chappie
WILLY DIRKX (DE BRASSERS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRIAN LYNCH • MINIONS
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
TV SMITH • Gary Gilmore Eyes (ep)
WILLIAM D DRAKE • Revere Reach
• PERSON OF INTERST SEASON 3
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
PAUL MCCANN • Here Comes The Rapture
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND • White Light/White Heat
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid