tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/07/2015 : TRANSMIT - Radiation

TRANSMIT

Radiation

MusicCD
Alternative RockExperimentalPsychedelic

[80/100]   

Monotype records
13/07/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

‘Radiation’ is mainly an instrumental album with the accent on drums, percussion and rhythm section. You hear six tracks between six and eleven minutes, instrumental and sometimes with vocals. The band exists of Tony Buck (songwriting, drums and guitars), Magda Mayas (organ and piano), James Welburn (bass) and Brendan Doughety (drums).

The first song 'Vinyl' starts with an intro of drums and the rest follows after two minutes: guitar and bass. No vocals, but an excellent instrumental. These are fine musicians.

‘Drive’ is a cover of the well-known track by The Cars. The dreamy popsong gets a ‘Transmit’ treatment and transforms the composition into a shoegaze/experimental track.

‘Swimming Alone’ starts as an etherical/psychedelic song (bowls and bells included) and cannot convince me at first. Halfway, the song gets a more rock approach and that is a good choice. For the rest a faultless course of a talented band.

The tracks are provocative and not always obvious. A must for lovers of drum and percussion.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/07/2015


NL

'Radiation' is grotendeels een instrumentaal album waarop de nadruk ligt op de drums, percussie en ritmesectie. Je hoort zes tracks van zes tot elf minuten, instrumentaal en gezongen. De band bestaat uit Tony Buck (tekstschrijver, drum en gitaar), Magda Mayas (orgel en piano), James Welburn (bas) en Brendan Doughety (drums).

Het eerste nummer 'Vinyl' begint met een intro bestaande uit slagwerk, waarbij je enkel malen denkt dat de rest van de band zal invallen, maar die doet dat pas na anderhalve minuut met bas en gitaar. Geen gezang, maar een uitstekende instrumentale song. Je hoort meteen dat je hier met ferme muzikanten te maken hebt.

‘Drive’ is een cover van een compositie van The Cars. De dromerige popsong krijgt hier een ’Transmit’-behandeling waardoor hij verandert in een shoegaze/experimentele track.

‘Swimming Alone’ begint als een etherische/psychedelische song (klankschalen en bellen incluis) en kan mij niet meteen overtuigen. Halfweg is er sprake van een rockaanpak en bloeit de melodie open. De tweede helft redt de song. Voor de rest een foutloos parcours van een talentvolle band.

De songs zijn uitdagend en niet altijd voor de hand liggend en een must voor liefhebbers van drum en percussie. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/07/2015


 

Next reviews
• THE 100 SEASON 1
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
NEILL BLOMKAMP • Chappie
WILLY DIRKX (DE BRASSERS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRIAN LYNCH • MINIONS
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
TV SMITH • Gary Gilmore Eyes (ep)
WILLIAM D DRAKE • Revere Reach
• PERSON OF INTERST SEASON 3
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
PAUL MCCANN • Here Comes The Rapture
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND • White Light/White Heat
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice