tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/07/2015 : ZEUS B HELD - Logic Of Coincidence

ZEUS B HELD

Logic Of Coincidence

MusicCD
ClassicalExperimental

[60/100]   

Les Disques Du Crépuscule
08/07/2015, Paul PLEDGER

A producer's producer, Held is famous for his numerous production assignments with John Foxx, Fashion, Transvision Vamp, Win, Nina Hagen, Chas Jankel and somewhat surrealistically Spear Of Destiny. You can therefore imagine that Logic Of Coincidence is a mish-mash of styles and influence - and it is. Imagine ZTT's Andrew Poppy, Germanic ace Conny Plank and the likes of Trevor Horn, Steve Reich, Michael Nyman and Wim Mertens cuddling Held at a Paul Morley reunion party and you're someway there. This is a producer's album. Effects and programming a-go-go, Some Kind Of Illness sometimes feels like a demonstration album for a well-known keyboard manufacturer. This isn't a bad thing. The Glass Bead Dice Man is a Poppy-esque epic that traverses minimal classicism and arty boundaries, while Being and Time in Todtnauberg has an element of KPM library music about it (but in a good way) and Kepos Garden is a pretty ambient dalliance sharp enough to soundtrack your post-clubbing comedown. In fact, much of Logic demonstrates one man's familiarity with a mixing-desk just a bit too much. But I like Logic of Coincidence. Held is like Horn and Plank, an investigative producer and engineer whose very logic is governed by exploration and extravagance.

 

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/07/2015


 

Next reviews
THE MEMBRANES • Dark Matter Dark Energy
LUC VAN ACKER • Ten albums that changed my life!
MARJANE SATRAPI • The Voices
MILTON STAR • Things Fall Apart (EP)
THE JAM • About The Young Idea
MASSIVE EGO • Noise In The Machine
MORGLBL • Tea Time For Pünks
GILL LANDRY • Gill Landry
DAMIAN SZIFRON • Wild Tales
SERGEI BODROV • Seventh Son

 

Same combination of genres: CLASSICAL + EXPERIMENTAL
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
ANDREW HEATH • Flux
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Upon Contact (Reworked)
EBERHARD WEBER • Encore
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Inside Life
CATHERINE GRAINDORGE • The Secret of US All
LINGOUF • Doéme
DAVID SYLVIAN • Died in the Wool

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends
18
02
Dissonance's New Single, 'Damage: First Assault' Ft. Melodywhore out NOW

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
21
02
SCHWEFELGELB
Zu Zweit
20
02
COLD CAVE
People Are Poison
19
02
THE 69 EYES
Jerusalem