tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/07/2015 : ZEUS B HELD - Logic Of Coincidence

ZEUS B HELD

Logic Of Coincidence

MusicCD
ClassicalExperimental

[60/100]   

Les Disques Du Crépuscule
08/07/2015, Paul PLEDGER

A producer's producer, Held is famous for his numerous production assignments with John Foxx, Fashion, Transvision Vamp, Win, Nina Hagen, Chas Jankel and somewhat surrealistically Spear Of Destiny. You can therefore imagine that Logic Of Coincidence is a mish-mash of styles and influence - and it is. Imagine ZTT's Andrew Poppy, Germanic ace Conny Plank and the likes of Trevor Horn, Steve Reich, Michael Nyman and Wim Mertens cuddling Held at a Paul Morley reunion party and you're someway there. This is a producer's album. Effects and programming a-go-go, Some Kind Of Illness sometimes feels like a demonstration album for a well-known keyboard manufacturer. This isn't a bad thing. The Glass Bead Dice Man is a Poppy-esque epic that traverses minimal classicism and arty boundaries, while Being and Time in Todtnauberg has an element of KPM library music about it (but in a good way) and Kepos Garden is a pretty ambient dalliance sharp enough to soundtrack your post-clubbing comedown. In fact, much of Logic demonstrates one man's familiarity with a mixing-desk just a bit too much. But I like Logic of Coincidence. Held is like Horn and Plank, an investigative producer and engineer whose very logic is governed by exploration and extravagance.

 

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/07/2015


 

Next reviews
THE MEMBRANES • Dark Matter Dark Energy
LUC VAN ACKER • Ten albums that changed my life!
MARJANE SATRAPI • The Voices
MILTON STAR • Things Fall Apart (EP)
THE JAM • About The Young Idea
MASSIVE EGO • Noise In The Machine
MORGLBL • Tea Time For Pünks
GILL LANDRY • Gill Landry
DAMIAN SZIFRON • Wild Tales
SERGEI BODROV • Seventh Son

 

Same combination of genres: CLASSICAL + EXPERIMENTAL
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
ANDREW HEATH • Flux
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Upon Contact (Reworked)
EBERHARD WEBER • Encore
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Inside Life
CATHERINE GRAINDORGE • The Secret of US All
LINGOUF • Doéme
DAVID SYLVIAN • Died in the Wool

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)
ANTONYMES • (For Now We See) Through a Glass Dimly

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights