tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/07/2015 : ZEUS B HELD - Logic Of Coincidence

ZEUS B HELD

Logic Of Coincidence

MusicCD
ClassicalExperimental

[60/100]   

Les Disques Du Crépuscule
08/07/2015, Paul PLEDGER

A producer's producer, Held is famous for his numerous production assignments with John Foxx, Fashion, Transvision Vamp, Win, Nina Hagen, Chas Jankel and somewhat surrealistically Spear Of Destiny. You can therefore imagine that Logic Of Coincidence is a mish-mash of styles and influence - and it is. Imagine ZTT's Andrew Poppy, Germanic ace Conny Plank and the likes of Trevor Horn, Steve Reich, Michael Nyman and Wim Mertens cuddling Held at a Paul Morley reunion party and you're someway there. This is a producer's album. Effects and programming a-go-go, Some Kind Of Illness sometimes feels like a demonstration album for a well-known keyboard manufacturer. This isn't a bad thing. The Glass Bead Dice Man is a Poppy-esque epic that traverses minimal classicism and arty boundaries, while Being and Time in Todtnauberg has an element of KPM library music about it (but in a good way) and Kepos Garden is a pretty ambient dalliance sharp enough to soundtrack your post-clubbing comedown. In fact, much of Logic demonstrates one man's familiarity with a mixing-desk just a bit too much. But I like Logic of Coincidence. Held is like Horn and Plank, an investigative producer and engineer whose very logic is governed by exploration and extravagance.

 

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/07/2015


 

Next reviews
THE MEMBRANES • Dark Matter Dark Energy
LUC VAN ACKER • Ten albums that changed my life!
MARJANE SATRAPI • The Voices
MILTON STAR • Things Fall Apart (EP)
THE JAM • About The Young Idea
MASSIVE EGO • Noise In The Machine
MORGLBL • Tea Time For Pünks
GILL LANDRY • Gill Landry
DAMIAN SZIFRON • Wild Tales
SERGEI BODROV • Seventh Son

 

Same combination of genres: CLASSICAL + EXPERIMENTAL
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
ANDREW HEATH • Flux
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Upon Contact (Reworked)
EBERHARD WEBER • Encore
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Inside Life
CATHERINE GRAINDORGE • The Secret of US All
LINGOUF • Doéme
DAVID SYLVIAN • Died in the Wool

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation