tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild

JEAN-MARC VALLEE

Wild

Movie
AdventureDrama

[83/100]   

20th Century Fox
08/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

People who choose for the great outdoors, are always ideal Hollywood fodder. The most famous titles in recent years were Into The Wild by Sean Penn, 127 Hours by Danny Boyle or the totally ignored camel epic Tracks by John Curran. Oscar favorite Jean-Marc Vallée (Dallas Buyers Club, for which Matthew McConaughey finally obtained an Oscar) thought that the world could use such a film once again. He filmed the bestseller Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed, who on her 25th birthday walked (without any previous experience!) 1,500 kilometers in wild nature.

It was Reese Witherspoon's dream to film this catharsis, as she purchased the film rights of the book years before. And it shows, as the blonde plays so intense that you even almost forgive her the Legally Blonde crap. Any glamour is absent. The beautiful Hollywood face wears no make up and the first scene in which she removes her toenail will make many spectators shudder. The film actually begins amidst her hellish journey. At that particular moment she also loses her shoe, and you wonder why such an untrained young woman decides to walk the Pacific Crest Trail (a trip from California to the Canadian border). Through brief flashbacks we get the answer to that question. There is the tangled relationship with her deceased mother (Laura Dern, who received an Oscar nomination for her role) and her private life is nothing more than a hotchpotch of exuberant drug and sex parties that get out of hand and make her a vulgar waitress nobody notices. Cheryl is fed up and goes in search of her inner self, and she is not afraid to tear her body and soul apart.

Because of its subject, this survival drama begs for Oscar attention, but thanks to the excellent performance of Reese Witherspoon and the famous directing technique of Jean-Marc Vallée (with yet another pop song as a red line, this time El Condor Pasa by Simon and Garfunkel), Wild is a different. Witherspoon gives so much of herself that it almost becomes her film, a veritable tour de force, although we won’t forget her portrayal of June Carter in the Cash biopic Walk The Line. A hero journey with a destructive touch,.

Wild is now out on 20th Century Fox on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
08/07/2015


NL

Mensen die de wijde natuur intrekken hebben Hollywood altijd aangesproken. De meest bekende titels van de laatste jaren zijn Into The Wild van Sean Penn, 127 Hours van Danny Boyle en het totaal genegeerde kamelenepos Tracks van John Curran. Oscarlieveling Jean-Marc Vallée, die er met Dallas Buyers Club voor zorgde dat Matthew Mcconaughey eindelijk een Oscar op zak had, vond dat de wereld best nog zo’n film kon gebruiken. Hij verfilmde de bestseller Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail van Cheryl Strayed, die op haar 25e zonder enige ervaring een wandeltocht van 1500 kilometer door de wilde natuur maakte.

Het was vooral Reese Witherspoons droom om deze catharsis te verfilmen, want nog voor Vallée op het toneel verscheen, kocht zij de verfilmingsrechten. Die overgave zie je ook, want zelden speelde de blonde zo intens waardoor je haar zelfs bijna de Legally Blonde-braakbal vergeeft. Van enige glamour is geen sprake. Het mooie Hollywoodsnoetje draagt geen make-up en de eerste scène waarin ze haar teennagel verwijdert, zal menig toeschouwer doen huiveren. De film begint inderdaad middenin haar helse tocht. Als ze bovendien op dat moment ook nog eens haar wandelschoen verliest, vraag je je af waarom deze niet getrainde jonge vrouw ooit aan de Pacific Crest Trail (een tocht van Californië tot aan de Canadese grens) begon. Door middel van korte flashbacks krijgen we het antwoord op de vraag waarom Cheryl absoluut zichzelf wil tergen. Er is de verwarde verhouding met haar moeder (Laura Dern, die hiervoor een Oscarnominatie kreeg) en ook haar privéleven is niet meer dan een samenraapsel van uitbundige drug- en seksfeestjes die uit de hand lopen en die van haar een ordinaire serveerster maken die niemand opmerkt. Cheryl is dat beu en gaat op zoek naar haar eigen ik, en ze deinst er niet voor terug om zowel haar lichaam als ziel open te rijten.

Er is niet alleen de uitmuntende vertolking van Reese Witherspoon en de ondertussen bekende regietechniek van Jean-Marc Vallée (met alweer een popnummer als rode draad, deze keer El Condor Pasa van Simon & Garfunkel), toch is Wild een tikkeltje anders. Witherspoon geeft zoveel van zichzelf dat dit bijna haar film wordt, een regelrechte tour de force ofschoon we haar vertolking van June Carter in de Cash-biopic Walk The Line ook niet gauw zullen vergeten. Een heldentocht (wat dat is het uiteindelijk toch) met een destructief kantje, kijken dus!

De film is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via 20th Century Fox.

Didier BECU
08/07/2015


08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure