tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild

JEAN-MARC VALLEE

Wild

Movie
AdventureDrama

[83/100]   

20th Century Fox
08/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

People who choose for the great outdoors, are always ideal Hollywood fodder. The most famous titles in recent years were Into The Wild by Sean Penn, 127 Hours by Danny Boyle or the totally ignored camel epic Tracks by John Curran. Oscar favorite Jean-Marc Vallée (Dallas Buyers Club, for which Matthew McConaughey finally obtained an Oscar) thought that the world could use such a film once again. He filmed the bestseller Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed, who on her 25th birthday walked (without any previous experience!) 1,500 kilometers in wild nature.

It was Reese Witherspoon's dream to film this catharsis, as she purchased the film rights of the book years before. And it shows, as the blonde plays so intense that you even almost forgive her the Legally Blonde crap. Any glamour is absent. The beautiful Hollywood face wears no make up and the first scene in which she removes her toenail will make many spectators shudder. The film actually begins amidst her hellish journey. At that particular moment she also loses her shoe, and you wonder why such an untrained young woman decides to walk the Pacific Crest Trail (a trip from California to the Canadian border). Through brief flashbacks we get the answer to that question. There is the tangled relationship with her deceased mother (Laura Dern, who received an Oscar nomination for her role) and her private life is nothing more than a hotchpotch of exuberant drug and sex parties that get out of hand and make her a vulgar waitress nobody notices. Cheryl is fed up and goes in search of her inner self, and she is not afraid to tear her body and soul apart.

Because of its subject, this survival drama begs for Oscar attention, but thanks to the excellent performance of Reese Witherspoon and the famous directing technique of Jean-Marc Vallée (with yet another pop song as a red line, this time El Condor Pasa by Simon and Garfunkel), Wild is a different. Witherspoon gives so much of herself that it almost becomes her film, a veritable tour de force, although we won’t forget her portrayal of June Carter in the Cash biopic Walk The Line. A hero journey with a destructive touch,.

Wild is now out on 20th Century Fox on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
08/07/2015


NL

Mensen die de wijde natuur intrekken hebben Hollywood altijd aangesproken. De meest bekende titels van de laatste jaren zijn Into The Wild van Sean Penn, 127 Hours van Danny Boyle en het totaal genegeerde kamelenepos Tracks van John Curran. Oscarlieveling Jean-Marc Vallée, die er met Dallas Buyers Club voor zorgde dat Matthew Mcconaughey eindelijk een Oscar op zak had, vond dat de wereld best nog zo’n film kon gebruiken. Hij verfilmde de bestseller Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail van Cheryl Strayed, die op haar 25e zonder enige ervaring een wandeltocht van 1500 kilometer door de wilde natuur maakte.

Het was vooral Reese Witherspoons droom om deze catharsis te verfilmen, want nog voor Vallée op het toneel verscheen, kocht zij de verfilmingsrechten. Die overgave zie je ook, want zelden speelde de blonde zo intens waardoor je haar zelfs bijna de Legally Blonde-braakbal vergeeft. Van enige glamour is geen sprake. Het mooie Hollywoodsnoetje draagt geen make-up en de eerste scène waarin ze haar teennagel verwijdert, zal menig toeschouwer doen huiveren. De film begint inderdaad middenin haar helse tocht. Als ze bovendien op dat moment ook nog eens haar wandelschoen verliest, vraag je je af waarom deze niet getrainde jonge vrouw ooit aan de Pacific Crest Trail (een tocht van Californië tot aan de Canadese grens) begon. Door middel van korte flashbacks krijgen we het antwoord op de vraag waarom Cheryl absoluut zichzelf wil tergen. Er is de verwarde verhouding met haar moeder (Laura Dern, die hiervoor een Oscarnominatie kreeg) en ook haar privéleven is niet meer dan een samenraapsel van uitbundige drug- en seksfeestjes die uit de hand lopen en die van haar een ordinaire serveerster maken die niemand opmerkt. Cheryl is dat beu en gaat op zoek naar haar eigen ik, en ze deinst er niet voor terug om zowel haar lichaam als ziel open te rijten.

Er is niet alleen de uitmuntende vertolking van Reese Witherspoon en de ondertussen bekende regietechniek van Jean-Marc Vallée (met alweer een popnummer als rode draad, deze keer El Condor Pasa van Simon & Garfunkel), toch is Wild een tikkeltje anders. Witherspoon geeft zoveel van zichzelf dat dit bijna haar film wordt, een regelrechte tour de force ofschoon we haar vertolking van June Carter in de Cash-biopic Walk The Line ook niet gauw zullen vergeten. Een heldentocht (wat dat is het uiteindelijk toch) met een destructief kantje, kijken dus!

De film is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via 20th Century Fox.

Didier BECU
08/07/2015


08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild 08/07/2015 : JEAN-MARC VALLEE - Wild

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?