tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/07/2015 : BRUNO BAVOTA - Mediterraneo

BRUNO BAVOTA

Mediterraneo

MusicCD
AmbientClassical

[80/100]   

Dronarivm
15/07/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Mediterraneo is the new album by the Neapolitan composer Bruno Bavota. Like his Argentine colleague Bruno Sanfilippo (now working in Barcelona), he makes compositions that rub against classical music with a high romantic feel. The piano plays an important role in his compositions and takes the lead in most or in even all the tracks on this album, complemented by acoustic and electric guitar, reverb and field recordings, violin (Paolo Sasso) and cello (Marco Pescosolido). Interlude starts quietly with the sound of a gentle Steinway and Sons piano, a repetitive violin and dark gusts of cello as the sound of the ocean. The short piano track Home sounds introspective and innocent as a quiet walk through a transparent and pristine scenery, while Hands evokes a dreamy atmosphere, again with piano, observant guitars and a wistful violin on top, repetitive, with the cello for the dark melancholic edge.

In Who Loves, Lives the tempo drops and the piano gently plays the melody, hesitantly and then with more persuasion as the fragile love proves to be viable. The atmosphere is low-key and alternately restrained and jubilant, careful and lingering, while the sparkling melody never dilutes to Muzak. In Alba a solitary acoustic guitar takes the lead, while piano, violin and cello are added only halfway and the melody blooms abundantly and later dissolves calmly in a haze of raindrop-like piano strumming. In The Night the piano sounds quietly and hesitantly at first and then more explicitly, and it builds a layered sound pattern in the beautiful title track Mediterraneo.

A Quiet Place floats to the sound of an acoustic guitar and an almost inconspicuous melody, completed after half a minute with a repetitive piano that sets clear accents, violin and cello. Sweet Fall evokes memories of the sometimes frenetic piano playing of our own Wim Mertens, a hasty and decisive composition, again with the piano in pool position, while Passport to the Moon turns our gaze to heaven and eternity, thoughtfully and carefully, and then shoots forward as an Apollo capsule, although there is doubt and hesitation about the usefulness and purpose of such an adventure. Perhaps it is no more than a Fairy Tale, in which the piano tells us that daydreaming and wonderland can be equally exciting: a powerful and compelling melody to stay on the ground with both feet.

In these 11 short and fragile compositions, Bavota Bruno conjures a world that we can only recreate in the privacy of our own living room: innocent, simple and peaceful. No grand arrangements or exploding orchestrations, but fragile and introspective compositions like a balm after a hectic day at the office or a traffic jam on the highway. A minimalistic, but beautiful album.

Tracklist:
1. Interlude
2. Home
3. Hands
4. Who Loves, Lives
5. Alba
6. The Night
7. Mediterraneo
8. A Quiet Place
9. Sweet Fall
0. Passport to the Moon
1. Fairy Tale

www.brunobavota.it
info@brunobavota.it
www.facebook.com/brunobavotaofficialtwitter.com/BrunoBavotasoundcloud.com/bruno-bavota
video: https://youtu.be/wPCnTlinWRE
bestellink : (Dronarivm)

William LIÉNARD
15/07/2015


NL

Uit Italië bereikt ons het album Mediterraneo van de Napolitaanse componist Bruno Bavota. Net zoals z’n Argentijnse (maar in Barcelona werkende) collega Bruno Sanfilippo, maakt hij composities die aanschuren tegen klassieke muziek met een hoog romantisch gehalte. Piano speelt een voorname rol in z’n composities en neemt in de meeste of zelfs in alle tracks het voortouw, en wordt aangevuld met vioolklanken van Paolo Sasso, cello door Marco Pescosolido, akoestische en elektrische gitaar, reverb en field recordings. Interlude zet rustig in met voorzichtig getokkel op een Steinway en Sons piano, een repetitieve viool en donkere vlagen cello, als het ruisen van de oceaan. De korte pianotrack Home klinkt introspectief en onschuldig als voor een rustige wandeling door een doorzichtig en maagdelijk landschap, terwijl Hands een dromerige sfeer oproept, opnieuw met piano voor het leitmotif, omzichtige gitaren ter ondersteuning en een weemoedige viool bovenop, repetitief met de cello voor het donkere weemoedige randje.

In Who Loves, Lives daalt het tempo en zoekt de piano voorzichtig de melodie, aarzelend en dan met meer persuasie als de broze liefde levensvatbaar blijkt te zijn. De sfeer is afwisselend ingehouden en juichend, maar dan toch weer voorzichtig en dralend, met een parelende melodie, zonder dat de compositie verwatert tot muzak. In Alba neemt een solitaire akoestische gitaar het voortouw, worden piano, viool en cello pas halfweg toegevoegd en bloeit de melodie helemaal open, om vervolgens rustig op te lossen in een nevel van regendruppelachtig pianogetokkel. In The Night klinkt de piano aanvankelijk rustig en twijfelend en later nadrukkelijker, zonder extra toevoegingen, terwijl hij in de titeltrack Mediterraneo een gelaagd geluidspatroon opbouwt dat wordt onderbroken voor repetitieve notenrijen en vervolgens volgt een heftigere outro.

A Quiet Place dobbert op het geluid van een akoestische gitaar en een haast onopvallende melodie, na ruim anderhalve minuut aangevuld met repetitief pianospel dat duidelijke accenten legt, viool en cello. Sweet Fall roept herinneringen op aan het soms jachtige pianospel van onze eigen Wim Mertens, een haastige en slagvaardige compositie met opnieuw de piano in pool positie, terwijl Passport tot the Moon de blik naar de hemel en de oneindigheid wendt, bedachtzaam en voorzichtig en dan als een Apollocapsule vooruit, al blijft er twijfel en aarzeling over het nut en de zin van een dergelijk avontuur. Misschien is het niet meer dan een Fairy Tale, waarin de piano ons vertelt dat dagdromen en verdwijnen in sprookjesland al even spannend kunnen zijn: een krachtige en overtuigende melodie om met beide voeten op de grond te blijven.

In deze 11 korte en breekbare composities tovert Bruno Bavota een wereld te voorschijn die we nog alleen in de beslotenheid van onze eigen woonkamer kunnen oproepen: onschuldig, eenvoudig en vredig. Geen grootse arrangementen of uit hun voegen barstende orkestraties, maar fragiele en introspectieve composities als een balsem na een jachtige dag op kantoor of in de file. Minimalistisch, maar mooi album.

William LIÉNARD
15/07/2015


 

Next reviews
DAVID GELB • THE LAZARUS EFFECT
REAPER • Der Schnitter
LOURENS BLOK • Boy 7
BERWYN WADDON (EXIT STRATEGY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DAN BROWN • Inferno
TRANSMIT • Radiation
• THE 100 SEASON 1
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
NEILL BLOMKAMP • Chappie
WILLY DIRKX (DE BRASSERS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from BRUNO BAVOTA
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
BRUNO BAVOTA • Chamber Concert (Rapertingen/Hasselt, Domein Henegauw, 20/10/2015)
BRUNO BAVOTA • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + CLASSICAL
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
BRAVE TIMBERS • Hope
BRUNO BAVOTA • Chamber Concert (Rapertingen/Hasselt, Domein Henegauw, 20/10/2015)
BENJAMIN FINGER • Amorosa Sensitiva
JOHN LEMKE • Nomad Frequencies
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Upon Contact (Reworked)
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • Inside Life
BEN LUKAS BOYSEN • Gravity
BEN LUKAS BOYSEN • Restive

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation