tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7

LOURENS BLOK

Boy 7

Movie
Young Adult

[64/100]   

A-Film
14/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In Belgium we have Labyrinthus by Douglas Boswell, and with Boy 7, the Netherlands now have their own Young Adult movie, or as some marketing guys like to call it: the first science fiction film from the Netherlands. In the wake of other popular Young Adult storie,s Mirjam Mous conquered the Dutch book market with her novels. There was a theatre version some time ago and of course a film had to follow! Lourens Blok is the director and he already has some experience with youth films. Boy 7 is, because of its small budget, certainly not a spectacle like Divirgent or The Hunger Games, but if you are willing to close your eyes for a few moments, then you can speak of a decent youth film.

The biggest flaw, at least if you want to compete with the big boys, is that Boy 7 has no majestic Hollywood decors or expensive special effects. The story takes place in a school, where the classrooms are grey and dull. These locations immediately remind you of the film version of 1984 by Michael Radford, but the question is of course whether youngsters who barely know George Orwell, will do so too!

in the book by Mirjam Mous mankind is once again the victim of its own inventions. Thanks to science we know everything, the government however thinks that it's better that it manages the information. In the world of Boy 7 there is no privacy and those who don’t walk the line, are eliminated. Young people who break the law are put in youth institutions and trained to become "masters". That sounds nice, but it means that a chip is put in their brand that determines what they will do and makes them forget who they are. Sam (Matthijs van de Sande Bakhuyzen), who is called number 7, is such a boy. He quickly notices that something odd is going on. Along with Louis (Yannick Jozefzoon) and Lara (Ella-June Henrard), with whom Sam is in love, he tries to escape from the institutionalignment in order to reveal the truth.

It is a familiar and simple story, but strangely enough the weak link is the scenario! The characters are not adequately represented, and so we never become part of the Boy 7-world and that is exactly the strength of those popular Young Adult movies. Apart from that, Boy 7 is an entertaining youth film (even for adults) with a good cast, including Renee Soutendijk. The flaws are a pity, because Boy 7 is not bad at all! Now out on A-Film.

Didier BECU
14/07/2015


NL

In België hadden we al Labyrinthus van Douglas Boswell, en met Boy 7 heeft nu ook Nederland zijn eigen Young Adult-film, of zoals bepaalde marketingjongens het graag zeggen: de allereerste sciencefictionfilm uit Nederland. In het kielzog van andere populaire Young Adult-verhalen veroverde Mirjam Mous de Nederlandse boekenmarkt. Er was eerder al een theaterversie en natuurlijk zou er ook een verfilming komen. De regie werd in de handen van Lourens Blok gelegd die eerder al met Midden In De Winternacht en Feuten: Het Feestje De Plank ervaring met jeugdfilms opdeed. Boy 7 is zeker, wegens zijn kleine budget, geen spektakel zoals Divirgent of The Hunger Games, maar als je bereid bent om op een paar ogenblikken de ogen te sluiten, is dit beslist een genietbare jeugdfilm.

Een minpunt, ten minste als je wil concurreren met de grote jongens, is dat Boy 7 noch majestueuze Hollywooddecors noch ,dure speciale effects bevat. Integendeel, het verhaal speelt zich af in een schoolgebouw waar alle lokalen grijs en vaal zijn. De kille locaties roepen meteen herinneringen op aan de filmversie van 1984 van Michael Radford, maar de vraag is of de jeugd die amper weet wie George Orwell is, dat ook zal doen.

In de boeken van Mirjam Mous is de mens het slachtoffer van zijn eigen uitvindingen. Dankzij de informatica weten en kunnen we alles, toch denkt de overheid dat het maar beter is dat zij alle informatie beheert. In de wereld van Boy 7 is er van privacy geen sprake en al wie naast de lijntjes loopt (zelfs politici), wordt netjes geëlimineerd. Jongeren die zich niet aan de wet houden, komen in een soort jeugdgevangenis terecht en worden er tot “masters” opgeleid. Dat klinkt mooi, maar eigenlijk komt het erop neer dat er in hun brein een chip wordt ingeplant die bepaalt wat zij zullen doen, en waardoor de jongeren volledig hun eigen ik vergeten. Sam (Matthijs van de Sande Bakhuyzen), die voortaan nummer 7 heet, is zo’n jongen. Hij merkt snel dat er iets eigenaardigs aan de hand is. Samen met Louis (Yannick Jozefzoon) en Lara (Ella-June Henrard), op wie Sam verliefd is, proberen ze uit de instelling te ontsnappen en vooral de waarheid aan het licht te brengen.

Het is een bekend en simpel verhaal, maar vreemd genoeg is net het scenario het struikelblok. De personages worden onvoldoende voorgesteld waardoor we zelden of nooit deel van het Boy 7-wereldje worden en dat is nou net de kracht van die populaire Young Adult-films. Voor de rest is Boy 7 een onderhoudende jeugdfilm (zelfs voor volwassenen) met een goed acterende cast waarin we zelfs Renée Soutendijk terugzien. Jammer van die foutjes, want Boy 7 die vanaf nu op A-Film is uitgebracht (zowel op dvd als Blu-ray), mag er best zijn!

Didier BECU
14/07/2015


14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7 14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7 14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7 14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7 14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7 14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7 14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7 14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7 14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7 14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7 14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7 14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7 14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7 14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7 14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7 14/07/2015 : LOURENS BLOK - Boy 7

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)