tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/10/2012 : BEN LUKAS BOYSEN - Restive

BEN LUKAS BOYSEN

Restive

MusicCD
AmbientClassicalIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[90/100]   

Hymen Records
06/10/2012, Chris KONINGS

Still finding the time to make music under his own name, Ben Lukas Boysen (HECQ) delivers his first real soundtrack with Restive. After his trip towards dubstep (Avenger), which was received with mixed feelings but in my opinion a pretty good album, he seems to have found a direction he can call his home. You will soon read more on that in an interview I did with him...

First things first, what's the movie about? Restive is a hopeless exploration of domestic violence. After challenging her husband, the mother commits her family to a journey through the nearby woods. The husband's friends try to capture the mother, resulting in a bizarre and violent finale.

The intens and weird storyline might suggest that musical expression is also exaggerated, but Ben holds a tight reign. All sounds are placed in such a clinical and precise way, ensuring a chilling atmosphere, perfectly achieving it's goal. "Sorry" sounds a bit like the repetitive remoteness of Wim Mertens, "Hoe Fight" is insanely brutal and terrifying, like good old Genocide Organ industrial. "Lott", "Hopper" or "Grave" are chilling nightmares that seem to come right out of "The Shining". So when I say, a tight reign, you might have thought it's absent, detached music. But then you don't know Ben, it simply is impossible for him to make music without digging deep inside his psyche, and in the meantime, turning your psyche upside down.

Together with Access To Arasaka's "Orbitus" and Flint Glass/Polarlicht 4.1's "Zoran's Equation", this must be one of the best soundtrack I have ever heard... Beautiful and terrible, stronger than the foundations... No wait, that's a different movie.

Ben Lukas Boysen

Hymen Records

Chris KONINGS
06/10/2012


 

Next reviews
OBVERSE REALITY • The Future Ended... Today
HERZPARASIT • Fromme Lämmer
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Restart
SOHO PREACHERS • Wake Up
WOVEN HAND • Review of the concert at EDEN in Charleroi on 28th September 2012
ORGANIC • Graham Coxon + Organic
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • A nice place to destroy (EP)
SATURMZLIDE • BeVor
IMPAKT! • Imperia
LAIBACH • Review of the concert 'We Come In Peace' in Oudenaarde on 17th September 2012

 

Other reviews from BEN LUKAS BOYSEN
BEN LUKAS BOYSEN • Gravity

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains