tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

25/09/2012 : ORGANIC - Graham Coxon + Organic

ORGANIC

Graham Coxon + Organic

Concert
ElectroPost Punk

[60/100]   
25/09/2012, Jeremy Thomas

Graham Coxon + Organic

Brussels, Botanique, 21 September 2012

Graham Coxon is of course the guitarist known for his work with legendary Brit-pop band, Blur. But he's here touring his 5th solo album.

With local support from Brussels trio, Organic:

Can't help but think what if Barney had snuffed it and not Ian. I mean, really, the bass-up-front sound with a damned good (live) drummer is nothing short of excellent. The laptop backing serves its purpose, but manages to stay discrete behind the drums & bass and the martial vocals.

I can hear a few influences along the Front 242 or Joy Division lines, but he's also an extremely expressive vocalist with very good technique. At times, the FX on the voice make it barely distinguishable as to whether it's French or English, until you realise that he's using both languages. Though the language really doesn't matter - Raphael has a message, and has a way of getting it to you.

And it's gotten through here, tonight.

I'm not quite sure where one or two of songs are going, but the 'single' from the album, 'Waves Are Running' is an absolute stormer, as are the last 2 tracks of an all-too-short set.

A few soundbites from the pleasantly surprised crowd afterwards suggest we might evoque early Human League or Section 25.

Their debut album on Swedish label CCP "Under Your Carbon Constellation" will be out on 28th september!

 

Graham Coxon was shit.

Jeremy Thomas
25/09/2012


 

Next reviews
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • A nice place to destroy (EP)
SATURMZLIDE • BeVor
IMPAKT! • Imperia
LAIBACH • Review of the concert 'We Come In Peace' in Oudenaarde on 17th September 2012
VNDL • Gahrena: Paysages Électriques
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
S.P.O.C.K. • The Best of the Subspace Years
EWERT AND THE TWO DRAGONS • Good Man Down
THE BREATH OF LIFE • Whispering Fields
CRUISE [CTRL] • …Are Not What They Seem

 

Other reviews from ORGANIC
ORGANIC • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
ORGANIC • Tubeke, Le Moulin Fantome (23/01/16)
ORGANIC • BLACK EASTER 2016
ORGANIC • Empty Century
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + POST PUNK
CONTINENTAL LIAISON • Action Time/The Sublime (single)
TYING TIFFANY • Dark Days White Nights
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • The Irish Tape
ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO • Sniper

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)