tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

25/09/2012 : ORGANIC - Graham Coxon + Organic

ORGANIC

Graham Coxon + Organic

Concert
ElectroPost Punk

[60/100]   
25/09/2012, Jeremy Thomas

Graham Coxon + Organic

Brussels, Botanique, 21 September 2012

Graham Coxon is of course the guitarist known for his work with legendary Brit-pop band, Blur. But he's here touring his 5th solo album.

With local support from Brussels trio, Organic:

Can't help but think what if Barney had snuffed it and not Ian. I mean, really, the bass-up-front sound with a damned good (live) drummer is nothing short of excellent. The laptop backing serves its purpose, but manages to stay discrete behind the drums & bass and the martial vocals.

I can hear a few influences along the Front 242 or Joy Division lines, but he's also an extremely expressive vocalist with very good technique. At times, the FX on the voice make it barely distinguishable as to whether it's French or English, until you realise that he's using both languages. Though the language really doesn't matter - Raphael has a message, and has a way of getting it to you.

And it's gotten through here, tonight.

I'm not quite sure where one or two of songs are going, but the 'single' from the album, 'Waves Are Running' is an absolute stormer, as are the last 2 tracks of an all-too-short set.

A few soundbites from the pleasantly surprised crowd afterwards suggest we might evoque early Human League or Section 25.

Their debut album on Swedish label CCP "Under Your Carbon Constellation" will be out on 28th september!

 

Graham Coxon was shit.

Jeremy Thomas
25/09/2012


 

Next reviews
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • A nice place to destroy (EP)
SATURMZLIDE • BeVor
IMPAKT! • Imperia
LAIBACH • Review of the concert 'We Come In Peace' in Oudenaarde on 17th September 2012
VNDL • Gahrena: Paysages Électriques
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
S.P.O.C.K. • The Best of the Subspace Years
EWERT AND THE TWO DRAGONS • Good Man Down
THE BREATH OF LIFE • Whispering Fields
CRUISE [CTRL] • …Are Not What They Seem

 

Other reviews from ORGANIC
ORGANIC • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
ORGANIC • Tubeke, Le Moulin Fantome (23/01/16)
ORGANIC • BLACK EASTER 2016
ORGANIC • Empty Century
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + POST PUNK
CONTINENTAL LIAISON • Action Time/The Sublime (single)
TYING TIFFANY • Dark Days White Nights
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • The Irish Tape
ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO • Sniper

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid