tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

25/09/2012 : ORGANIC - Graham Coxon + Organic

ORGANIC

Graham Coxon + Organic

Concert
ElectroPost Punk

[60/100]   
25/09/2012, Jeremy Thomas

Graham Coxon + Organic

Brussels, Botanique, 21 September 2012

Graham Coxon is of course the guitarist known for his work with legendary Brit-pop band, Blur. But he's here touring his 5th solo album.

With local support from Brussels trio, Organic:

Can't help but think what if Barney had snuffed it and not Ian. I mean, really, the bass-up-front sound with a damned good (live) drummer is nothing short of excellent. The laptop backing serves its purpose, but manages to stay discrete behind the drums & bass and the martial vocals.

I can hear a few influences along the Front 242 or Joy Division lines, but he's also an extremely expressive vocalist with very good technique. At times, the FX on the voice make it barely distinguishable as to whether it's French or English, until you realise that he's using both languages. Though the language really doesn't matter - Raphael has a message, and has a way of getting it to you.

And it's gotten through here, tonight.

I'm not quite sure where one or two of songs are going, but the 'single' from the album, 'Waves Are Running' is an absolute stormer, as are the last 2 tracks of an all-too-short set.

A few soundbites from the pleasantly surprised crowd afterwards suggest we might evoque early Human League or Section 25.

Their debut album on Swedish label CCP "Under Your Carbon Constellation" will be out on 28th september!

 

Graham Coxon was shit.

Jeremy Thomas
25/09/2012


 

Next reviews
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • A nice place to destroy (EP)
SATURMZLIDE • BeVor
IMPAKT! • Imperia
LAIBACH • Review of the concert 'We Come In Peace' in Oudenaarde on 17th September 2012
VNDL • Gahrena: Paysages Électriques
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
S.P.O.C.K. • The Best of the Subspace Years
EWERT AND THE TWO DRAGONS • Good Man Down
THE BREATH OF LIFE • Whispering Fields
CRUISE [CTRL] • …Are Not What They Seem

 

Other reviews from ORGANIC
ORGANIC • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
ORGANIC • Tubeke, Le Moulin Fantome (23/01/16)
ORGANIC • BLACK EASTER 2016
ORGANIC • Empty Century
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + POST PUNK
CONTINENTAL LIAISON • Action Time/The Sublime (single)
TYING TIFFANY • Dark Days White Nights
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • The Irish Tape
ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO • Sniper

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet