tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

25/09/2012 : ORGANIC - Graham Coxon + Organic

ORGANIC

Graham Coxon + Organic

Concert
ElectroPost Punk

[60/100]   
25/09/2012, Jeremy Thomas

Graham Coxon + Organic

Brussels, Botanique, 21 September 2012

Graham Coxon is of course the guitarist known for his work with legendary Brit-pop band, Blur. But he's here touring his 5th solo album.

With local support from Brussels trio, Organic:

Can't help but think what if Barney had snuffed it and not Ian. I mean, really, the bass-up-front sound with a damned good (live) drummer is nothing short of excellent. The laptop backing serves its purpose, but manages to stay discrete behind the drums & bass and the martial vocals.

I can hear a few influences along the Front 242 or Joy Division lines, but he's also an extremely expressive vocalist with very good technique. At times, the FX on the voice make it barely distinguishable as to whether it's French or English, until you realise that he's using both languages. Though the language really doesn't matter - Raphael has a message, and has a way of getting it to you.

And it's gotten through here, tonight.

I'm not quite sure where one or two of songs are going, but the 'single' from the album, 'Waves Are Running' is an absolute stormer, as are the last 2 tracks of an all-too-short set.

A few soundbites from the pleasantly surprised crowd afterwards suggest we might evoque early Human League or Section 25.

Their debut album on Swedish label CCP "Under Your Carbon Constellation" will be out on 28th september!

 

Graham Coxon was shit.

Jeremy Thomas
25/09/2012


 

Next reviews
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • A nice place to destroy (EP)
SATURMZLIDE • BeVor
IMPAKT! • Imperia
LAIBACH • Review of the concert 'We Come In Peace' in Oudenaarde on 17th September 2012
VNDL • Gahrena: Paysages Électriques
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
S.P.O.C.K. • The Best of the Subspace Years
EWERT AND THE TWO DRAGONS • Good Man Down
THE BREATH OF LIFE • Whispering Fields
CRUISE [CTRL] • …Are Not What They Seem

 

Other reviews from ORGANIC
ORGANIC • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
ORGANIC • Tubeke, Le Moulin Fantome (23/01/16)
ORGANIC • BLACK EASTER 2016
ORGANIC • Empty Century
ORGANIC • Under Your Carbon Constellation

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + POST PUNK
CONTINENTAL LIAISON • Action Time/The Sublime (single)
TYING TIFFANY • Dark Days White Nights
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • The Irish Tape
ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO • Sniper

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice