tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/09/2012 : S.P.O.C.K. - The Best of the Subspace Years

S.P.O.C.K.

The Best of the Subspace Years

MusicCD
ElectroFuture Pop

[81/100]   

Artoffact
11/09/2012, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Finally a best of from our Swedish friends!

I saw them many time Live and each time they got me hooked, albeit in a funny way. It's a bit of a mix of Elvis Presley going synthpop with Star Trek visuals and more than enough funny side-notes. But I also know some people who hate this band, just as I know some who hate Star Trek.

So I leave it up to you who is wrong and who is right. According to me, Elegy made me a magical gift with releasing a live version of 'ET phone home'! I must say that they really have what it takes to make it live. This release lacks such a live version, which is somehow something that I am missing here.

But still: for the fans this is a great occasion & even for those who want to get to know them too; giving an overview of their most known songs and triumphs, although 'ET phone home' will always stay my number one. The first real song 'Reactivated' is a good starter,having everything that a good song needs, even when it sounds a bit like a boys band.

Some real classics are there, including 'Dr. McCoy', 'Where Rockets Fly', 'Alien Attack' (a real smasher), 'Queen of Space', 'Star pilot on Channel K' and 'Klingon 2000'. Granted, these are my personal classix, I'm pretty sure some fans will pick out some other ones.

To conclude: buy this one if you want to get to know this band or if you are already a fan of this band!

You can beam me up Scotty!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/09/2012


Music reviews

19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
PEEK-A-BOO MAGAZINE N° 31 - OUT NOW!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn