tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/09/2012 : S.P.O.C.K. - The Best of the Subspace Years

S.P.O.C.K.

The Best of the Subspace Years

MusicCD
ElectroFuture Pop

[81/100]   

Artoffact
11/09/2012, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Finally a best of from our Swedish friends!

I saw them many time Live and each time they got me hooked, albeit in a funny way. It's a bit of a mix of Elvis Presley going synthpop with Star Trek visuals and more than enough funny side-notes. But I also know some people who hate this band, just as I know some who hate Star Trek.

So I leave it up to you who is wrong and who is right. According to me, Elegy made me a magical gift with releasing a live version of 'ET phone home'! I must say that they really have what it takes to make it live. This release lacks such a live version, which is somehow something that I am missing here.

But still: for the fans this is a great occasion & even for those who want to get to know them too; giving an overview of their most known songs and triumphs, although 'ET phone home' will always stay my number one. The first real song 'Reactivated' is a good starter,having everything that a good song needs, even when it sounds a bit like a boys band.

Some real classics are there, including 'Dr. McCoy', 'Where Rockets Fly', 'Alien Attack' (a real smasher), 'Queen of Space', 'Star pilot on Channel K' and 'Klingon 2000'. Granted, these are my personal classix, I'm pretty sure some fans will pick out some other ones.

To conclude: buy this one if you want to get to know this band or if you are already a fan of this band!

You can beam me up Scotty!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/09/2012


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
08
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless