tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/09/2012 : S.P.O.C.K. - The Best of the Subspace Years

S.P.O.C.K.

The Best of the Subspace Years

MusicCD
ElectroFuture Pop

[81/100]   

Artoffact
11/09/2012, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Finally a best of from our Swedish friends!

I saw them many time Live and each time they got me hooked, albeit in a funny way. It's a bit of a mix of Elvis Presley going synthpop with Star Trek visuals and more than enough funny side-notes. But I also know some people who hate this band, just as I know some who hate Star Trek.

So I leave it up to you who is wrong and who is right. According to me, Elegy made me a magical gift with releasing a live version of 'ET phone home'! I must say that they really have what it takes to make it live. This release lacks such a live version, which is somehow something that I am missing here.

But still: for the fans this is a great occasion & even for those who want to get to know them too; giving an overview of their most known songs and triumphs, although 'ET phone home' will always stay my number one. The first real song 'Reactivated' is a good starter,having everything that a good song needs, even when it sounds a bit like a boys band.

Some real classics are there, including 'Dr. McCoy', 'Where Rockets Fly', 'Alien Attack' (a real smasher), 'Queen of Space', 'Star pilot on Channel K' and 'Klingon 2000'. Granted, these are my personal classix, I'm pretty sure some fans will pick out some other ones.

To conclude: buy this one if you want to get to know this band or if you are already a fan of this band!

You can beam me up Scotty!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/09/2012


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)