tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/08/2011 : IMPERATIVE REACTION - Imperative Reaction

IMPERATIVE REACTION

Imperative Reaction

MusicCD
ElectroFuture Pop

[86/100]   

Dependent
12/08/2011, Pieter COUSSEMENT

I've always considered myself as a 'glass half full' kind of guy, but with the new self-titled album of IMPERATIVE REACTION the glass I'm served is filled to the rafters!

Building on the typical sound they already perfected on Minus All, IMPERATIVE REACTION continues to bring tech-savvy, well-produced dance floor stompers, that (unlike so many in todays scene) doesn't disappoint in actual songmanship.

Since their early days they've been praised for their unique sound relying heavily on TED PHELPS' excellent vocals which cuts through the pristine songs they deliver. Their latest self-titled album brings (more) guitars to the mix, making it a bit more rock oriented. I have often considered this to be a mistake for electronic bands since adhering to the rock scheme could in fact be considered going back to a 15th century musical paradigm, something, that to me, feels strange in the 21st century. However the limitless potential of this day and age is displayed to the fullest on this release and while listening to the latest Imperative Reaction, it is clear that the incorporation of the six-stringed-beast is a well considered addition bringing their sound to a new level without loosing touch with their musical roots.

The album boasts 11 songs in total, offering a rather varied listening experience, ranging from the slightly more laid back Siphon or Permanent to the club-ready Side Effect or Surface. The album's energetic feel really makes me want to go out and see them live, a feeling that is rare for me and deserves extra credit!

Go check them out: http://imperativereaction.tumblr.com/ or watch the Surface videoclip on youtube: http://youtu.be/DMRTXQSO89E

Pieter COUSSEMENT
12/08/2011


Music reviews

19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
PEEK-A-BOO MAGAZINE N° 31 - OUT NOW!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn