tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/08/2011 : IMPERATIVE REACTION - Imperative Reaction

IMPERATIVE REACTION

Imperative Reaction

MusicCD
ElectroFuture Pop

[86/100]   

Dependent
12/08/2011, Pieter COUSSEMENT

I've always considered myself as a 'glass half full' kind of guy, but with the new self-titled album of IMPERATIVE REACTION the glass I'm served is filled to the rafters!

Building on the typical sound they already perfected on Minus All, IMPERATIVE REACTION continues to bring tech-savvy, well-produced dance floor stompers, that (unlike so many in todays scene) doesn't disappoint in actual songmanship.

Since their early days they've been praised for their unique sound relying heavily on TED PHELPS' excellent vocals which cuts through the pristine songs they deliver. Their latest self-titled album brings (more) guitars to the mix, making it a bit more rock oriented. I have often considered this to be a mistake for electronic bands since adhering to the rock scheme could in fact be considered going back to a 15th century musical paradigm, something, that to me, feels strange in the 21st century. However the limitless potential of this day and age is displayed to the fullest on this release and while listening to the latest Imperative Reaction, it is clear that the incorporation of the six-stringed-beast is a well considered addition bringing their sound to a new level without loosing touch with their musical roots.

The album boasts 11 songs in total, offering a rather varied listening experience, ranging from the slightly more laid back Siphon or Permanent to the club-ready Side Effect or Surface. The album's energetic feel really makes me want to go out and see them live, a feeling that is rare for me and deserves extra credit!

Go check them out: http://imperativereaction.tumblr.com/ or watch the Surface videoclip on youtube: http://youtu.be/DMRTXQSO89E

Pieter COUSSEMENT
12/08/2011


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno