12/08/2011 : HYPERBUBBLE - Drastic Cinematic

HYPERBUBBLE

Drastic Cinematic [CD]

Soundtrack • Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[82/100]   
12/08/2011, Dennis OHRT

Having just released their last album 'Candy Apple Daydreams' in 2010, Jess and Jeff Decuir already offer us a new listening experience With 'Drastic Cinematic'. The title is well chosen, as the album is indeed a rather drastic change from the previous ones and the cinematic bit, explains itself while listening to the record.

If you are used to Hyperbubble doing classic upbeat-sugarsweet-synthpop, well, things are not toally different, as the instrumentation doesn't change, but the totally different approach here obviously ends with a different result. The choral opening of 'Vox Noir' takes you on a cruise that is fittingly described as black & white audio noir.

The whole 10 songs offer a good opportunity for cinema in your head, as they could work so well on a soundtrack to a thoughtful independent movie piece. Electronic drumpads and drum machines meet ambient cascades and on top there is almost always a lovely little synthmelody to either drift or dream away. The, rather sparse on vocals, album includes little dialogues in English, French and German. Other vocals come in vocoderized form, that in combination with the drums and synthmelodies give you a Kraftwerk-feeling.

In true movie style, you don't get bonus tracks but the director's cut on CD, meaning an additional 3 mixes of 2 songs from the album that could mostly be seen as possible singles in their original form already: 'Geometry' features vocals by Manda Rin (of BIS) and comes closest to what Haperbubble normally offer on their albums - the 2-part 'Welcome To Infinity' closes the album and reminds a bit of a possible Hyperbubble-remix of a Goldfrapp tune.

Surely a different album, but well worth investing some listening time and enjoying the talents of Jess and Jeff in a slightly different light.

Dennis OHRT
12/08/2011


NEWS

14
02
New names for W-Festival (Belgium)
14
02
Peek-A-Boo celebrates its 5th anniversary with a brand new look
11
02
Two Gods - a free single by Attrition
11
02
A message from Hedera Helix
11
02
Peek-A-Boo presents the new clip of Eaux Saines

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

Music reviews

14
02
JUNKSISTA
Trust No Bitch
14
02
UV POP
No Songs Tomorrow
14
02
NICE COLD NATION
Collapse
12
02
SAVAGES
Adore Life
11
02
SERPENTS
State Of War

Concert reviews

14
02
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN
Missa Solemnis (Rotterdams Filharmonisch Orkest & Collegium Vocale, Antwerp, deSingel, 13/02/2016)
10
02
SCHONWALD, WINTER SEVERITY INDEX, STARCONTROL, PHANTOM LOVE, IL PULSIVO
Brussels, Botanique (06/02/2016)
08
02
DREW MCDOWALL (COIL, PSYCHIC TV)
Antwerp, Zuiderpershuis (06/02/2016)
07
02
SUEDE
Brussels, AB 06/02/16
06
02
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH
The Brandenburg Concertos (Hofkapelle München, Antwerp, deSingel, 04/02/2016)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
02
LAIBACH
The European Commission suggested to veer towards a more classical style of entertainment than Laibach.
10
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Vaguely it’s around 1982 when music has been written that inspired and grabbed me, more than anything before or after. It's this feeling we want to revive.
07
02
OAKTREE
It is my goal to find some peace in the things I do, I am not interested in having a blitz career.
07
02
SOPHIA
All former members left their mark on the new album. In my opinion, it is the best one we did!
05
02
ELVYA DULCIMER
Our next challenge is to perform live as powerful as on the CD.

PHOTOS

09
02
DRIFT.
Black Box V, BEURSSCHOUWBURG, Brussels, Belgium
07
02
PHANTOM LOVE
Fantastique Night XLVIII, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
07
02
SCHONWALD
Fantastique Night XLVIII, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
07
02
WINTER SEVERITY INDEX
Fantastique Night XLVIII, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
07
02
STARCONTROL
Fantastique Night XLVIII, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

08
02
LUMINANCE
Coalescaremonium 2016
04
02
WHISPERING SONS
BLACK EASTER 2016
02
02
NICK MERTENS (DJ)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
31
01
DISCOVER NEW MUSIC
IRIS VON GUL
29
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
BLACK EASTER 2016