tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/08/2011 : ZYNIC - Fire Walk With Me

ZYNIC

Fire Walk With Me

MusicCD
PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[88/100]   

Conzoom
11/08/2011, Dennis OHRT

ZyniC is a project by H.P Siemandel that was started back in 2008. The first time I really took notice of ZyniC was on the 'Electropop 3' sampler (on Conzoom as well) in 2009 and now we can finally listen to the debut album.

Olaf Wollschläger was brought in as producer for the album and if a producer like him supports after all those years an artist on his debutalbum, you can surely expect a strong release. However, I had to look twice at the title of the album, as after listening, I was sure it should have been called 'Singles Collection' or 'Best Of'...

After multiple plays, I am still searching for the weak songs on the CD... without hyping the album too much (I leave that to others, as the album needs no hype - just listened to). Synthpop at its best throughout the 10 songs. Already the opener 'Rescue Me' shows the potential and a thing I especially noticed, strong and confident vocals, unlike at the end of the 1990's, when there was quite a few bands with nice melodies but rather weak singers.

With the first single 'Dreams In Black And White' you get your first bit of nostalgia mixed with a today fix. The influences of H.P Siemandel can surely be spotted (Kraftwerk, OMD, Depeche Mode) but this is no simple retro trip, rather a hope for a return of golden synthpop years. Even the risky step of covering Depeche Mode works with a new interpretation of the early gem 'Any Second Now' that stays faithful to the original and is transformed for 2011.

Be it the sweet sounding but harsh content tribute to today's world of silicon and botox in 'Soul For Sale' or the sad love's-gone-wrong ballad 'Almost Silence' besides the aforementioned songs, picking just one or two faves won't do the album justice! Watch out for 'My Personal Kryptonite' to be released as a single in September.

Dennis OHRT
11/08/2011


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)