tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/08/2011 : ZYNIC - Fire Walk With Me

ZYNIC

Fire Walk With Me

MusicCD
PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[88/100]   

Conzoom
11/08/2011, Dennis OHRT

ZyniC is a project by H.P Siemandel that was started back in 2008. The first time I really took notice of ZyniC was on the 'Electropop 3' sampler (on Conzoom as well) in 2009 and now we can finally listen to the debut album.

Olaf Wollschläger was brought in as producer for the album and if a producer like him supports after all those years an artist on his debutalbum, you can surely expect a strong release. However, I had to look twice at the title of the album, as after listening, I was sure it should have been called 'Singles Collection' or 'Best Of'...

After multiple plays, I am still searching for the weak songs on the CD... without hyping the album too much (I leave that to others, as the album needs no hype - just listened to). Synthpop at its best throughout the 10 songs. Already the opener 'Rescue Me' shows the potential and a thing I especially noticed, strong and confident vocals, unlike at the end of the 1990's, when there was quite a few bands with nice melodies but rather weak singers.

With the first single 'Dreams In Black And White' you get your first bit of nostalgia mixed with a today fix. The influences of H.P Siemandel can surely be spotted (Kraftwerk, OMD, Depeche Mode) but this is no simple retro trip, rather a hope for a return of golden synthpop years. Even the risky step of covering Depeche Mode works with a new interpretation of the early gem 'Any Second Now' that stays faithful to the original and is transformed for 2011.

Be it the sweet sounding but harsh content tribute to today's world of silicon and botox in 'Soul For Sale' or the sad love's-gone-wrong ballad 'Almost Silence' besides the aforementioned songs, picking just one or two faves won't do the album justice! Watch out for 'My Personal Kryptonite' to be released as a single in September.

Dennis OHRT
11/08/2011


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion