tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/08/2011 : SOLYST - SOLYST

SOLYST

SOLYST

MusicCD
KrautrockPost Rock

[74/100]   

Bureau B
10/08/2011, Didier BECU

One of the most important post-rock bands ever must have been German based Kreidler.
During 15 years Thomas Klein was their drummer and he was known worldwide for his drumming style which he learned from real masters like, Jaki Liebezeit (Can), Klaus Dinger (Neu!) and Mani Neumeier (Guru Guru).
After having worked more than a year on the eleven tracks that are featured on this debut album, Thomas decided to drop his project as Solyst.
Some fans already remarked that his solo stuff didn't differ that much from Kreidler's work as, indeed, you have here a pefect combination from analogue drums that are combined with synth patterns that seem to come straight out of an early Kraftwerk album.
Having said that, Solyst's solo work (this rhymes definetely!) has a more tribal character which give this work the flavour of a Krautrock album with an afrobeat.
Thomas himself defines this as tribal dub krautrock and even if we think that we're not in need of another genre addition to this world, it looks like his description hits the nail on the head as this is exactly what the eleven instrumental songs sound like.
Adventurous Kraut post-rock with a Jah Wobble touch. What more do you want?

Didier BECU
10/08/2011


Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela