tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/08/2011 : ATOMIC NEON - Change

ATOMIC NEON

Change

MusicCD
Cold Wave

[79/100]   
08/08/2011, Didier BECU

Black Rain might be known for its more electronic-oriented releases with Feindflug as the most known one but they also home to one of Germany's freshest coldwave bands: Atomic Neon.
This band from Essen already released a 7" on Plastic Frog ("A Desperate Dream") but with "Change" they came up with a whole album.
The first question that arises is if they could have freed themselves from the burden that's called The Cure?
It's not only the voice of singer Rio Black (how do they find these names?) which resembles the voice of Robert Smith, there's also the music itself.
Atomic Neon aren't afraid of epic lake of tears like "Weep" that could have been taken from "Wish".
Even more, "Booom" has the same genius silliness which marked "The Head On The Door" and still after having said this, we think they're more than just some Cure-copycats.
The main reason is because Atomic Neon added to their coldwave a post-punk swirl which delivers us mighty gems like "I Hate My Love". That gives them a nice spot next to bands like Ulterior or The Exploding Boy.
Truth is that there are more original bands to be found in 2011 but whether they can have the same grasp on you is another question?
Apart from some mediocre songs, more than recommended!

Didier BECU
08/08/2011


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected