tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/08/2011 : ATOMIC NEON - Change

ATOMIC NEON

Change

MusicCD
Cold Wave

[79/100]   
08/08/2011, Didier BECU

Black Rain might be known for its more electronic-oriented releases with Feindflug as the most known one but they also home to one of Germany's freshest coldwave bands: Atomic Neon.
This band from Essen already released a 7" on Plastic Frog ("A Desperate Dream") but with "Change" they came up with a whole album.
The first question that arises is if they could have freed themselves from the burden that's called The Cure?
It's not only the voice of singer Rio Black (how do they find these names?) which resembles the voice of Robert Smith, there's also the music itself.
Atomic Neon aren't afraid of epic lake of tears like "Weep" that could have been taken from "Wish".
Even more, "Booom" has the same genius silliness which marked "The Head On The Door" and still after having said this, we think they're more than just some Cure-copycats.
The main reason is because Atomic Neon added to their coldwave a post-punk swirl which delivers us mighty gems like "I Hate My Love". That gives them a nice spot next to bands like Ulterior or The Exploding Boy.
Truth is that there are more original bands to be found in 2011 but whether they can have the same grasp on you is another question?
Apart from some mediocre songs, more than recommended!

Didier BECU
08/08/2011


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide