tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/08/2011 : THE PRAYER TREE - The Prayer Tree

THE PRAYER TREE

The Prayer Tree

MusicCD
AmbientIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[85/100]   

Hymen Records
08/08/2011, Chris KONINGS

EN

The Prayer Tree is a French project from duo Guillaume Eluerd and Jérôme Chassagnard. Eluerd is the brain behind Nimp and Chassagnard is also known as Ab Ovo and Gaea. Completely unknown bands for me but if they get a contract with Hymen Records they must be doing something right.

Salt's cover is beautiful and ambient, suited for alluring subconscious dreams. The Prayer Tree itself is a Japanese tradition where they spike wishing cards on a tree or some other sacred place. The idea is to create a place of silence in the midst of chaos and finding the symbiosis between the two. There's a lot of philosophy behind the concept. The returning theme is to repent, either by travelling (Tokyo), technology (Ubik) or religion (The Golden Hour).

Words can't really describe how the music engulfs you. It does so thanks to fascinating combinations between percussion, keyboards and vocals. The lyrics are very poetic with a semi narrated voice, which works particularly well on Tokyo. Ubik is the best song - it starts with an interview with author, Philip K. Dick, whom most of us will know from movies like Bladerunner and Minority Report. That atmosphere of a bleak future is created with repetitive mechanical sounds from the title rambling on and on. An extra dimension is given by the addition of a female voice in New York. Gone is a instrumental gem followed by the somewhat obsolete sounding "All Those Who Just Couldn't Make It" and "Why Aren't We Dancing?".

Silent Stones is also very compelling track and The Golden Hour is a worthy ending to a beautiful record that I want to play again and again. Too bad about the slight stagnation in the middle, otherwise this would have been one of last year's best albums. I hear Chassagnard has a new album out on Hymen so I can't wait to get my hands on that one.

Chris KONINGS
08/08/2011


NL

De Nederlandstalige bespreking kan je lezen op Dark Entries.

Chris KONINGS
08/08/2011


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures