tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/08/2011 : THE PRAYER TREE - The Prayer Tree

THE PRAYER TREE

The Prayer Tree

MusicCD
AmbientIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[85/100]   

Hymen Records
08/08/2011, Chris KONINGS

EN

The Prayer Tree is a French project from duo Guillaume Eluerd and Jérôme Chassagnard. Eluerd is the brain behind Nimp and Chassagnard is also known as Ab Ovo and Gaea. Completely unknown bands for me but if they get a contract with Hymen Records they must be doing something right.

Salt's cover is beautiful and ambient, suited for alluring subconscious dreams. The Prayer Tree itself is a Japanese tradition where they spike wishing cards on a tree or some other sacred place. The idea is to create a place of silence in the midst of chaos and finding the symbiosis between the two. There's a lot of philosophy behind the concept. The returning theme is to repent, either by travelling (Tokyo), technology (Ubik) or religion (The Golden Hour).

Words can't really describe how the music engulfs you. It does so thanks to fascinating combinations between percussion, keyboards and vocals. The lyrics are very poetic with a semi narrated voice, which works particularly well on Tokyo. Ubik is the best song - it starts with an interview with author, Philip K. Dick, whom most of us will know from movies like Bladerunner and Minority Report. That atmosphere of a bleak future is created with repetitive mechanical sounds from the title rambling on and on. An extra dimension is given by the addition of a female voice in New York. Gone is a instrumental gem followed by the somewhat obsolete sounding "All Those Who Just Couldn't Make It" and "Why Aren't We Dancing?".

Silent Stones is also very compelling track and The Golden Hour is a worthy ending to a beautiful record that I want to play again and again. Too bad about the slight stagnation in the middle, otherwise this would have been one of last year's best albums. I hear Chassagnard has a new album out on Hymen so I can't wait to get my hands on that one.

Chris KONINGS
08/08/2011


NL

De Nederlandstalige bespreking kan je lezen op Dark Entries.

Chris KONINGS
08/08/2011


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete