tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/08/2011 : THE PRAYER TREE - The Prayer Tree

THE PRAYER TREE

The Prayer Tree

MusicCD
AmbientIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[85/100]   

Hymen Records
08/08/2011, Chris KONINGS

EN

The Prayer Tree is a French project from duo Guillaume Eluerd and Jérôme Chassagnard. Eluerd is the brain behind Nimp and Chassagnard is also known as Ab Ovo and Gaea. Completely unknown bands for me but if they get a contract with Hymen Records they must be doing something right.

Salt's cover is beautiful and ambient, suited for alluring subconscious dreams. The Prayer Tree itself is a Japanese tradition where they spike wishing cards on a tree or some other sacred place. The idea is to create a place of silence in the midst of chaos and finding the symbiosis between the two. There's a lot of philosophy behind the concept. The returning theme is to repent, either by travelling (Tokyo), technology (Ubik) or religion (The Golden Hour).

Words can't really describe how the music engulfs you. It does so thanks to fascinating combinations between percussion, keyboards and vocals. The lyrics are very poetic with a semi narrated voice, which works particularly well on Tokyo. Ubik is the best song - it starts with an interview with author, Philip K. Dick, whom most of us will know from movies like Bladerunner and Minority Report. That atmosphere of a bleak future is created with repetitive mechanical sounds from the title rambling on and on. An extra dimension is given by the addition of a female voice in New York. Gone is a instrumental gem followed by the somewhat obsolete sounding "All Those Who Just Couldn't Make It" and "Why Aren't We Dancing?".

Silent Stones is also very compelling track and The Golden Hour is a worthy ending to a beautiful record that I want to play again and again. Too bad about the slight stagnation in the middle, otherwise this would have been one of last year's best albums. I hear Chassagnard has a new album out on Hymen so I can't wait to get my hands on that one.

Chris KONINGS
08/08/2011


NL

De Nederlandstalige bespreking kan je lezen op Dark Entries.

Chris KONINGS
08/08/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland