tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/08/2011 : MARK FELL - Multistability

MARK FELL

Multistability

MusicCD
Electronics

[80/100]   
07/08/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

Rubin’s vase is a black and white image used in psychology. In the central white area you see a vase. In the black areas left and right of the white surface, one recognises the profiles of two faces. Multistability has to do with visual perception and the optical illusion that things can be observed in more than one way. This term is also used for auditory illusion.

The multi-aspect is the subject of this recording. The tracks are numbered and indicate, as it were, the variations on a theme. When you listen to the music you can play a game in order to find out these variations. You listen carefully and then you switch between the tracks. This is an excellent (and entertaining) listening exercise, but at the same time an intense perception of electronic and computer sonority.
Systems, structures, cadence and rhythm are important as are the way they are developed, assembled and disassembled. Between the sonority of sounds tensions are built up: warm sounds alternate with the textures of cold metal sounds. This is the music of sound settings. Whilst exploring this music via a CD-recording one might miss the graphics and visual effects that are often projected during such performances. These visualizations certainly contribute to the perception of this kind of music because they are components of total concepts. When listening to Multistability I can perfectly visualise monochromatic and multi-coloured kaleidoscope images. I know: a psychedelic association with the evocation of, among other things, sharp morse codes and the sound that could be heard when stretching springs - could be called an anachronism. But - since fusion is a common term in the arts, everything is allowed.

This remains music for the inner circle and the fans. Yet it is worthwhile to listen to a track which is shared via a recording, also my favourite: 10-A, 11.

Bernadette ALLAERT
07/08/2011


NL

De vaas van Rubin is een in de psychologie gebruikte zwart-wit-afbeelding. In het centrale witte vlak ziet men een vaas. In de zwarte vlakken links en rechts van het wit, neemt men de profielen van twee gezichten waar. Multistability heeft te maken met visuele perceptie en optische illusie waarbij de dingen op meer dan één manier kunnen waargenomen worden. Deze term wordt ook gebruikt voor het benoemen van een auditieve illusie.

Het multi-aspect is het onderwerp van deze opname. De tracks zijn genummerd en geven als het ware de variaties op een thema aan. Wanneer je naar de muziek luistert dan kan je het spel spelen om de varianten te achterhalen. Je luistert aandachtig en dan switch je tussen de stroken. Dat is een uitstekende (en amusante) oefening maar tegelijk een intense waarneming van elektronische- en computersonoriteit.
Systemen, structuren, cadans en ritme zijn belangrijk, en ook de manier waarop deze worden ontwikkeld, op- en afgebouwd. Tussen de sonoriteit van de klanken worden spanningsvelden opgebouwd: warme geluiden wisselen af met de kille texturen van metaalklanken. Dit is de muziek van soundsettings. Bij het verkennen van deze muziek via een CD mist men de beelden en visuele effecten die bij dergelijke performances vaak worden geprojecteerd. Deze visualisaties dragen zeker bij tot de beleving van dergelijke muziek omdat het onderdelen zijn van totaalconcepten. Bij het beluisteren van Multistability kan ik mij perfect monochrome en veelkleurige caleidoscoopbeelden voorstellen. Ik weet het: een psychedelische associatie bij de evocatie van onder andere scherpe morsetonen en het geluid dat te horen zou kunnen zijn bij het opspannen van veren - het zou een anachronisme kunnen genoemd worden. Maar – sinds fusion een algemeen gangbare term is in de kunsten, mag alles.

Het is en blijft muziek voor de inner circle en de liefhebbers. Toch loont het zeker de moeite om te luisteren naar een track die te horen is via een gedeelde opname, en tevens mijn favoriet: 10-A, 11.

Bernadette ALLAERT
07/08/2011


Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House