tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/08/2011 : BETTINA KOESTER - Queen Of Noise

BETTINA KOESTER

Queen Of Noise

MusicCD
Dark PopUnclassifiable

[82/100]   

Asinella
10/08/2011, Didier BECU

"Queen of noise'" is not what we would call the newest of all releases but as Bettina Koester is still seeking that well deserved world fame, we don't really care much about irrelevant timetables.
Last year she was back in the spotlight with her well received gig at Waregem Gothic and it was also a sign that she was definitely more than just the face behind Malaria, the German new-wave outfit that got cursed by that one hit "Kaltes Klarres Wasser".
People grow up and so did Bettina who is making now some avant-garde pop noir with a voice that lies between Nico and Amanda Lear (which is a compliment).
Those who saw her know that she has respect for her classics and so she opens her solo-album with her very own interpretation of that Beatles song which inspired some lunatic serial killer.
Will McCartney love it? That's another question, but we do. Just like her tunes that make "Crime Don't Pay" and "Fianc 'o Franco" sound something like the goth-disco Nico did at the end of her magnificent career.
It's not even that much of a surprise to have Nico as a reference point as madame Koester herself comes up with a very wayward version of "Femme Fatale" while a song like "Ocean Drive" drops her in a Kurt Weill territory and not to mention the ominous atmosphere that "Holy Water" has.
This albums puts Bettina on the platform where she should belong, among the greatest that is.
"Queen Of Noise" even lets us forget that she was once in the band named Malaria. Now, if only the rest of the world could.

Didier BECU
10/08/2011


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis