tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/08/2011 : BETTINA KOESTER - Queen Of Noise

BETTINA KOESTER

Queen Of Noise

MusicCD
Dark PopUnclassifiable

[82/100]   

Asinella
10/08/2011, Didier BECU

"Queen of noise'" is not what we would call the newest of all releases but as Bettina Koester is still seeking that well deserved world fame, we don't really care much about irrelevant timetables.
Last year she was back in the spotlight with her well received gig at Waregem Gothic and it was also a sign that she was definitely more than just the face behind Malaria, the German new-wave outfit that got cursed by that one hit "Kaltes Klarres Wasser".
People grow up and so did Bettina who is making now some avant-garde pop noir with a voice that lies between Nico and Amanda Lear (which is a compliment).
Those who saw her know that she has respect for her classics and so she opens her solo-album with her very own interpretation of that Beatles song which inspired some lunatic serial killer.
Will McCartney love it? That's another question, but we do. Just like her tunes that make "Crime Don't Pay" and "Fianc 'o Franco" sound something like the goth-disco Nico did at the end of her magnificent career.
It's not even that much of a surprise to have Nico as a reference point as madame Koester herself comes up with a very wayward version of "Femme Fatale" while a song like "Ocean Drive" drops her in a Kurt Weill territory and not to mention the ominous atmosphere that "Holy Water" has.
This albums puts Bettina on the platform where she should belong, among the greatest that is.
"Queen Of Noise" even lets us forget that she was once in the band named Malaria. Now, if only the rest of the world could.

Didier BECU
10/08/2011


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room