tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/08/2011 : CHEEZFACE - Circumstantial Pestilence

CHEEZFACE

Circumstantial Pestilence

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimentalIndustrial

[70/100]   

Mind Flare Media
12/08/2011, Ruben DE SOMER

To much diversity can kill you…

This CD sounds like someone gathered up a series of loose tracks and stomped them on an album. While there is some unity in sound, because it was made by the same person, it's too deranged and twisted to give the listener an entertaining listening experience. The 'derangedness' is also reflected in the artwork, which I liked but I am pretty sure another graphic designer would’ve made an entirely different package which would attract a lot more people, maybe a digipack would have been a better choice. It reminds me of the twisted cover of a gory metal band. However the album has nothing to do with the latter. Yes, some of the tracks would probably appeal to the aforementioned audience but most tracks have no root there.

The music is more for the industrial/noise fan, though some drum ‘n bass sounds are also present. I like the album but as I mentioned earlier it is too diverse to be considered as an excellent or very good album. The album is ok. What makes it interesting is that the album has been completely composed out of samples taken from a humongous variety of sources which were then combined to make tracks and the end product is this CD.

The artwork and the music is based on old plague art from the middle ages, from what I know of that period it was a real mess with chaos running through civilization. With that view, the album works. It would be interesting to see what the result would be if he combined some of the tracks into clusters, thus making similar sounding tracks stand out more. Now it’s just a mixture of sounds. The record company’s promotional blur acknowledges the diversity but finds it a good thing. I disagree.

Closing time: interesting sampler of what could become an interesting project if the musician went for more coherent compositions because what he did is a real feat.

Ruben DE SOMER
12/08/2011


 

Next reviews
SATAN IS MY BROTHER • A Forest Dark
LIBIDO FORMANDI • Insignificancy Rising
LARRNAKH • Like the silken shrouds of loneliness
DISTORTED MEMORY • Swallowing The Sun
ZYNIC • Fire Walk With Me
MXRCXL • Dump
DAZKARIEH • Ruido Do Silencio
KIRIA • Radio
23 TRUBLION 23 • Chants et danses au temps de Graffen Walder
FOSDYK WELL • Slumber and Stark Lots

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
JOHN 3:16 • The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)
DARKRAD • Little Black World
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
COIL • Backwards
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
KEVIN STRAUWEN • Moving Sound & Music For Film
LINGOUF • Frequences Sensibles
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)