tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

02/10/2012 : SOHO PREACHERS - Wake Up

SOHO PREACHERS

Wake Up

MusicVinyl
New waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[60/100]   

Seja Records
02/10/2012, Chris KONINGS

A new band from our northern neighbours, Soho Preachers set off in 2010 in Amsterdam. They consist of singer Ron Stokking, bass player Handieman Maurice and synth-man Robin Van Vliet. The label is also brand new, this limited 8-song clear vinyl of 320 copies is their first release. So far the introductions, tell us what it sounds like man!

Well the first song 'Tonight' sounds very much like Radiohead, a band I'm fond of but also a difficult one to reach up to. They don't exactly succeed... 'Carried Away' is a lot better, somewhat between dreamy synthpop and trippy indierock with a few tiny specks of guitars adding earcatching details in the low basses. Depeche Mode goes Massive Attack, so to speak...

Two other good songs are 'Last Call For Life' and 'Fallen Angel', both somewhere between again Massive Attack and The Chameleons. Too bad they sound very much alike, the last one is a bit more edgy, but not nearly enough imho... Titlesong 'Wake Up' is the cliché postrock song come to life. After that it's mostly quickly forgotten synthwave lacking bubbles, like a soda gone soft. Last song is the Muse resembling (check those trademark synths) 'Here We Are'. They almost make it sound as commercial as Keane.

According to them, their label wants to aim for indie, electronics and experimental music, the first two are somewhat found but the only experiments I hear are those of a young band not quite sure which direction they want to go... It's all a bit superficial, no real depth, it sounds too "nice". Dig deeper, guys!

Seja Records

Chris KONINGS
02/10/2012


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete