tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

02/10/2012 : SOHO PREACHERS - Wake Up

SOHO PREACHERS

Wake Up

MusicVinyl
New waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[60/100]   

Seja Records
02/10/2012, Chris KONINGS

A new band from our northern neighbours, Soho Preachers set off in 2010 in Amsterdam. They consist of singer Ron Stokking, bass player Handieman Maurice and synth-man Robin Van Vliet. The label is also brand new, this limited 8-song clear vinyl of 320 copies is their first release. So far the introductions, tell us what it sounds like man!

Well the first song 'Tonight' sounds very much like Radiohead, a band I'm fond of but also a difficult one to reach up to. They don't exactly succeed... 'Carried Away' is a lot better, somewhat between dreamy synthpop and trippy indierock with a few tiny specks of guitars adding earcatching details in the low basses. Depeche Mode goes Massive Attack, so to speak...

Two other good songs are 'Last Call For Life' and 'Fallen Angel', both somewhere between again Massive Attack and The Chameleons. Too bad they sound very much alike, the last one is a bit more edgy, but not nearly enough imho... Titlesong 'Wake Up' is the cliché postrock song come to life. After that it's mostly quickly forgotten synthwave lacking bubbles, like a soda gone soft. Last song is the Muse resembling (check those trademark synths) 'Here We Are'. They almost make it sound as commercial as Keane.

According to them, their label wants to aim for indie, electronics and experimental music, the first two are somewhat found but the only experiments I hear are those of a young band not quite sure which direction they want to go... It's all a bit superficial, no real depth, it sounds too "nice". Dig deeper, guys!

Seja Records

Chris KONINGS
02/10/2012


 

Next reviews
WOVEN HAND • Review of the concert at EDEN in Charleroi on 28th September 2012
ORGANIC • Graham Coxon + Organic
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • A nice place to destroy (EP)
SATURMZLIDE • BeVor
IMPAKT! • Imperia
LAIBACH • Review of the concert 'We Come In Peace' in Oudenaarde on 17th September 2012
VNDL • Gahrena: Paysages Électriques
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
S.P.O.C.K. • The Best of the Subspace Years
EWERT AND THE TWO DRAGONS • Good Man Down

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
JOHN FOXX • Burning Car
ULTRAVOX • Vienna
KISSING THE PINK • Naked
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Underground Wave 7”s
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
SCARLET SOHO • In Cold Blood
HUMAN LEAGUE • Classics: Dare

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
10
Struggles And Dreams With Darkwave Band THE BLUE HOUR's New LP, 'Lore'
24
10
Industrial Metal Band RAZE THE ALTAR Brings Sacrifice And Perseverance To New Single
24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
MY CRUEL GORO
Lost E
24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow