tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug

DAVID HEWLETT

Debug

Movie
Science Fiction

[35/100]   

A-Film
04/05/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Strange, but it's actually been a while ago since we saw an intelligent science fiction movie. Right, there was of course Interstellar by Christopher Nolan, but apart from this blockbuster we can’t think of anything else. David Hewlett who starred in countless series (from Urban Legends to Stargate SG1) thinks however that his third film as a director reaches the level of 2001: A Space Oddysey. Granted, all the decors seem to be inspired by Kubrick's masterpiece and it’s also a story about artificial intelligence that leads a life of its own, but that is also where any comparison ends. This Canadian television movie could be summarized rather like a pretentious film with poor performances, a childish script and horrible CG effects.

Maybe it's yours truly, but how simple and predictable the plot is, I have nevertheless difficulties to follow the story that is set in the near future. On a space freighter six condemned hackers have to fulfill a penalty task that’s been given by the government. The six young criminals have to clean up the software because it is contaminated with viruses. Do not think that you have to stare 80 minutes long to young people who are sitting behind a computer screen, because the virus has transformed itself into a creature with a face (played by Jason Momoa, who indeed Khal Drogo from Game of Thrones and clearly needs some acting lessons). The viewer is overwhelmed with technical data that he can do nothing with. If everything gets too complicated then Hewlett decides to let the feminine beauty walking around in bathing suits. And then there's the plot. Someone should explain to me how you can solve a computer virus with karate, but I guess Hewlett may have some explanation for this nonsense. And no, we even don’t want to know it...

Fervent fans of Stargate SG-1probably can do something with this space vehicle, other viewers better take out the real Kubrick from their collection. The only bright spot is that A-Film has released this film on a Blu-ray that has an almost dazzling picture quality. Also available on DVD.

Didier BECU
04/05/2015


NL

Vreemd, maar het is eigenlijk een poos geleden dat we nog eens een intelligente sciencefictionfilm zagen. Juist, er was Interstellar van Christopher Nolan, maar op deze blockbuster na, is het eerder huilen met de pet op. David Hewlett die in zowat alle denkbare series te zien was (van Urban Legends tot Stargate SG1) denkt echter dat hij met zijn derde film als regisseur het niveau van 2001: A Space Oddysey haalt. Toegegeven, zowat alle decors lijken geïnspireerd te zijn door Kubricks meesterwerk en ook gaat het verhaal over artificiële intelligentie die een eigen leven leidt, maar daarmee eindigt dan ook elke vergelijking. Deze Canadese televisiefilm zou je eerder kunnen samenvatten als een pretentieuze film met slechte vertolkingen, een kinderachtig script en afgrijselijke CG-effecten.

Misschien ligt het aan ondergetekende, maar hoe eenvoudig en voorspelbaar de plot ook was, toch was het verhaal zelf nauwelijks te volgen. Dat speelt zich in de nabije toekomst af. Op een ruimtevrachtschip zitten zes hackers die van de overheid een straftaak hebben gekregen. De zes jonge criminelen moeten de software opschonen, want die zit vol virussen. Denk maar niet dat je 80 minuten lang moeten staren naar jongelui die achter een computerscherm zitten, want het virus heeft zich omgevormd tot een wezen met een gezicht (vertolkt door Jason Momoa, inderdaad Khal Drogo uit Game of Thrones, die overduidelijk acteerlessen nodig heeft). De kijker wordt letterlijk murw geslagen met technische gegevens waaraan hij niks heeft. Als het allemaal wat te ingewikkeld wordt dan besluit Hewlett gewoon om het vrouwelijk schoon uit de film zonder enige reden in badpak te laten rondlopen. Van een verfrissing gesproken! En dan is er nog de plot. Iemand zou mij moeten uitleggen hoe je een computervirus kan oplossen door karate, maar ook voor die onzin heeft Hewlett wellicht één of andere uitleg. En neen, we willen het zelfs niet weten…

Fervente fans van Stargate zullen misschien wel iets hebben aan dit ruimtevehikel, andere kijkers kunnen gewoon nog eens de echte Kubrick uit hun collectie halen. Het enige lichtpunt is dat A-Film deze film heeft uitgebracht op een Blu-ray met een bijna oogverblindende beeldkwaliteit. Ook beschikbaar op dvd.

Didier BECU
04/05/2015


04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug

Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat