tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug

DAVID HEWLETT

Debug

Movie
Science Fiction

[35/100]   

A-Film
04/05/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Strange, but it's actually been a while ago since we saw an intelligent science fiction movie. Right, there was of course Interstellar by Christopher Nolan, but apart from this blockbuster we can’t think of anything else. David Hewlett who starred in countless series (from Urban Legends to Stargate SG1) thinks however that his third film as a director reaches the level of 2001: A Space Oddysey. Granted, all the decors seem to be inspired by Kubrick's masterpiece and it’s also a story about artificial intelligence that leads a life of its own, but that is also where any comparison ends. This Canadian television movie could be summarized rather like a pretentious film with poor performances, a childish script and horrible CG effects.

Maybe it's yours truly, but how simple and predictable the plot is, I have nevertheless difficulties to follow the story that is set in the near future. On a space freighter six condemned hackers have to fulfill a penalty task that’s been given by the government. The six young criminals have to clean up the software because it is contaminated with viruses. Do not think that you have to stare 80 minutes long to young people who are sitting behind a computer screen, because the virus has transformed itself into a creature with a face (played by Jason Momoa, who indeed Khal Drogo from Game of Thrones and clearly needs some acting lessons). The viewer is overwhelmed with technical data that he can do nothing with. If everything gets too complicated then Hewlett decides to let the feminine beauty walking around in bathing suits. And then there's the plot. Someone should explain to me how you can solve a computer virus with karate, but I guess Hewlett may have some explanation for this nonsense. And no, we even don’t want to know it...

Fervent fans of Stargate SG-1probably can do something with this space vehicle, other viewers better take out the real Kubrick from their collection. The only bright spot is that A-Film has released this film on a Blu-ray that has an almost dazzling picture quality. Also available on DVD.

Didier BECU
04/05/2015


NL

Vreemd, maar het is eigenlijk een poos geleden dat we nog eens een intelligente sciencefictionfilm zagen. Juist, er was Interstellar van Christopher Nolan, maar op deze blockbuster na, is het eerder huilen met de pet op. David Hewlett die in zowat alle denkbare series te zien was (van Urban Legends tot Stargate SG1) denkt echter dat hij met zijn derde film als regisseur het niveau van 2001: A Space Oddysey haalt. Toegegeven, zowat alle decors lijken geïnspireerd te zijn door Kubricks meesterwerk en ook gaat het verhaal over artificiële intelligentie die een eigen leven leidt, maar daarmee eindigt dan ook elke vergelijking. Deze Canadese televisiefilm zou je eerder kunnen samenvatten als een pretentieuze film met slechte vertolkingen, een kinderachtig script en afgrijselijke CG-effecten.

Misschien ligt het aan ondergetekende, maar hoe eenvoudig en voorspelbaar de plot ook was, toch was het verhaal zelf nauwelijks te volgen. Dat speelt zich in de nabije toekomst af. Op een ruimtevrachtschip zitten zes hackers die van de overheid een straftaak hebben gekregen. De zes jonge criminelen moeten de software opschonen, want die zit vol virussen. Denk maar niet dat je 80 minuten lang moeten staren naar jongelui die achter een computerscherm zitten, want het virus heeft zich omgevormd tot een wezen met een gezicht (vertolkt door Jason Momoa, inderdaad Khal Drogo uit Game of Thrones, die overduidelijk acteerlessen nodig heeft). De kijker wordt letterlijk murw geslagen met technische gegevens waaraan hij niks heeft. Als het allemaal wat te ingewikkeld wordt dan besluit Hewlett gewoon om het vrouwelijk schoon uit de film zonder enige reden in badpak te laten rondlopen. Van een verfrissing gesproken! En dan is er nog de plot. Iemand zou mij moeten uitleggen hoe je een computervirus kan oplossen door karate, maar ook voor die onzin heeft Hewlett wellicht één of andere uitleg. En neen, we willen het zelfs niet weten…

Fervente fans van Stargate zullen misschien wel iets hebben aan dit ruimtevehikel, andere kijkers kunnen gewoon nog eens de echte Kubrick uit hun collectie halen. Het enige lichtpunt is dat A-Film deze film heeft uitgebracht op een Blu-ray met een bijna oogverblindende beeldkwaliteit. Ook beschikbaar op dvd.

Didier BECU
04/05/2015


04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
11
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Great God