tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug

DAVID HEWLETT

Debug

Movie
Science Fiction

[35/100]   

A-Film
04/05/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Strange, but it's actually been a while ago since we saw an intelligent science fiction movie. Right, there was of course Interstellar by Christopher Nolan, but apart from this blockbuster we can’t think of anything else. David Hewlett who starred in countless series (from Urban Legends to Stargate SG1) thinks however that his third film as a director reaches the level of 2001: A Space Oddysey. Granted, all the decors seem to be inspired by Kubrick's masterpiece and it’s also a story about artificial intelligence that leads a life of its own, but that is also where any comparison ends. This Canadian television movie could be summarized rather like a pretentious film with poor performances, a childish script and horrible CG effects.

Maybe it's yours truly, but how simple and predictable the plot is, I have nevertheless difficulties to follow the story that is set in the near future. On a space freighter six condemned hackers have to fulfill a penalty task that’s been given by the government. The six young criminals have to clean up the software because it is contaminated with viruses. Do not think that you have to stare 80 minutes long to young people who are sitting behind a computer screen, because the virus has transformed itself into a creature with a face (played by Jason Momoa, who indeed Khal Drogo from Game of Thrones and clearly needs some acting lessons). The viewer is overwhelmed with technical data that he can do nothing with. If everything gets too complicated then Hewlett decides to let the feminine beauty walking around in bathing suits. And then there's the plot. Someone should explain to me how you can solve a computer virus with karate, but I guess Hewlett may have some explanation for this nonsense. And no, we even don’t want to know it...

Fervent fans of Stargate SG-1probably can do something with this space vehicle, other viewers better take out the real Kubrick from their collection. The only bright spot is that A-Film has released this film on a Blu-ray that has an almost dazzling picture quality. Also available on DVD.

Didier BECU
04/05/2015


NL

Vreemd, maar het is eigenlijk een poos geleden dat we nog eens een intelligente sciencefictionfilm zagen. Juist, er was Interstellar van Christopher Nolan, maar op deze blockbuster na, is het eerder huilen met de pet op. David Hewlett die in zowat alle denkbare series te zien was (van Urban Legends tot Stargate SG1) denkt echter dat hij met zijn derde film als regisseur het niveau van 2001: A Space Oddysey haalt. Toegegeven, zowat alle decors lijken geïnspireerd te zijn door Kubricks meesterwerk en ook gaat het verhaal over artificiële intelligentie die een eigen leven leidt, maar daarmee eindigt dan ook elke vergelijking. Deze Canadese televisiefilm zou je eerder kunnen samenvatten als een pretentieuze film met slechte vertolkingen, een kinderachtig script en afgrijselijke CG-effecten.

Misschien ligt het aan ondergetekende, maar hoe eenvoudig en voorspelbaar de plot ook was, toch was het verhaal zelf nauwelijks te volgen. Dat speelt zich in de nabije toekomst af. Op een ruimtevrachtschip zitten zes hackers die van de overheid een straftaak hebben gekregen. De zes jonge criminelen moeten de software opschonen, want die zit vol virussen. Denk maar niet dat je 80 minuten lang moeten staren naar jongelui die achter een computerscherm zitten, want het virus heeft zich omgevormd tot een wezen met een gezicht (vertolkt door Jason Momoa, inderdaad Khal Drogo uit Game of Thrones, die overduidelijk acteerlessen nodig heeft). De kijker wordt letterlijk murw geslagen met technische gegevens waaraan hij niks heeft. Als het allemaal wat te ingewikkeld wordt dan besluit Hewlett gewoon om het vrouwelijk schoon uit de film zonder enige reden in badpak te laten rondlopen. Van een verfrissing gesproken! En dan is er nog de plot. Iemand zou mij moeten uitleggen hoe je een computervirus kan oplossen door karate, maar ook voor die onzin heeft Hewlett wellicht één of andere uitleg. En neen, we willen het zelfs niet weten…

Fervente fans van Stargate zullen misschien wel iets hebben aan dit ruimtevehikel, andere kijkers kunnen gewoon nog eens de echte Kubrick uit hun collectie halen. Het enige lichtpunt is dat A-Film deze film heeft uitgebracht op een Blu-ray met een bijna oogverblindende beeldkwaliteit. Ook beschikbaar op dvd.

Didier BECU
04/05/2015


04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug 04/05/2015 : DAVID HEWLETT - Debug

Music reviews

27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water
19
11
STAATSEINDE
Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
18
11
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
IAMNOONE releases 'Dead Season'
28
11
Today it's exactly 41 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
MESH prepares an extended live-box for their fans!
27
11
Gothic/Post-Punk Band CYBORG AMOK Unveils New Video for 'Burden Away'
27
11
40 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
PORTION CONTROL
Still (Short-range missive from SEEDEP3)
27
11
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
26
11
CHELSEA WOLFE
16 Psyche
25
11
CLAN OF XYMOX
A Day
24
11
STRUGGLER
Is It Worth?
23
11
PORTION CONTROL
Amnesia (Live mix)
22
11
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life