tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage

PHILIPPE LE GUAY

Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage

Movie
Comedy

[66/100]   

Homescreen
25/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

I didn’t know it myself, but apparently in the 60s a lot of Spanish women worked as maids in wealthy French families to earn some money. Maria Gonzalez (Natalia Verbeke, a name that does sound very Flemish, but she is from Argentina) works at the house of the Joubert family. She has to be careful, because the last maid was sacked for a pettiness. Jean-Louis (Fabrice Luchini) is a rigid man, who insists that his egg is cooked for three minutes and he also considers it important that he is addressed as “Mister”. The mistress, Suzanne (Sandrine Kiberlain) is hardly better. For her, a maid is nothing more than a modern slave who has to follow all the orders without thinking. Mary lives with some other housekeepers on the sixth floor. The situation is appalling. The little rooms are tiny and the stinking clogged toilet is almost unbearable. The otherwise aloof Jean-Louis decides out of the blue to improve the living situation of the Spanish women. The real reason is because he is in love with Mary.

Les Femmes Du Sixième Etage is a mixture between a feelgood movie like Intouchables and the modern tales of Jacques Demy (especially the colors from the 60s make you think of Catherine Deneuve and her umbrella of Cherbourg). Don’t ask questions about the social situations or how director Philippe Le Guay sees them. When after months the toilet is finally fixed, it remains unbelievable to see how the women embrace their pattern. Same with the class differences, we see a short scene in which the two sons detest their father because he eats paella with the Spanish housekeepers, but that's it. In many other films this naive view would be a negative issue, but this comedy is made with so much charm that it hardly bothers. Set your mind to zero and enjoy this fine comedy, and nothing more!

Didier BECU
25/07/2015


NL

Zelf wist ik het niet, maar blijkbaar werkten er in de jaren 60 heel wat Spaanse vrouwen als huishoudster in rijke families om zo een centje bij te verdienen. Maria Gonzalez (Natalia Verbeke, een naam die inderdaad zeer Vlaams klinkt, maar ze is wel degelijk uit Argentinië afkomstig) komt op die manier bij de familie Joubert terecht. Het is uitkijken geblazen, want de vorige huishoudster is net voor een pietluttigheid de laan uitgestuurd. Jean-Louis (Fabrice Luchini) is een stijve hark die erop staat dat zijn eitje welgeteld drie minuten wordt gekookt en hij vindt het ook belangrijk dat hij met “mijnheer” wordt aangesproken. De vrouw des huizes, Suzanne (Sandrine Kiberlain), is nauwelijks beter. Voor haar is een bode niet meer dan een slaaf die alle bevelen opvolgt zonder na te denken. Maria woont samen met een heleboel andere huishoudsters op de zesde verdieping. De toestand is er schrijnend. De kamertjes zijn piepklein en het verstopte toilet zorgt ervoor dat de stank op de gang nauwelijks te harden is. De anders zo afstandelijke Jean-Louis beslist opeens om de woonsituatie van de Spaanse vrouwen te verbeteren. De echte reden: hij is verliefd op Maria.

Les Femmes Du Sixième Etage zweeft ergens tussen de feelgoodfilm van Intouchables en de moderne sprookjes van Jacques Demy (vooral de kleuren uit de jaren 60 doen je aan Catherine Deneuve en haar paraplu’s van Cherbourg denken). Stel je vooral niet te veel vragen bij de sociale wandaden die je ziet of hoe regisseur Philippe Le Guay ze bekijkt. Als na maanden eindelijk het toilet gerepareerd is, blijft het ongeloofwaardig om te zien hoe de vrouwen uit vreugde hun patron omarmen. Ook met het standenverschil gaat Le Guay losjes om, we zien in een korte scène hoe de twee zonen hun vader verfoeien omdat hij het aandurft om op een avond paella met de Spaanse werkvrouwen te eten, maar daar blijft het bij. In veel andere films zou deze naïeve kijk een minpunt van jewelste zijn, maar deze komedie is zo charmant gemaakt dat het nauwelijks stoort. Verstand op nul dus, en genieten van deze fijne komedie, meer niet.

Didier BECU
25/07/2015


25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh