tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage

PHILIPPE LE GUAY

Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage

Movie
Comedy

[66/100]   

Homescreen
25/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

I didn’t know it myself, but apparently in the 60s a lot of Spanish women worked as maids in wealthy French families to earn some money. Maria Gonzalez (Natalia Verbeke, a name that does sound very Flemish, but she is from Argentina) works at the house of the Joubert family. She has to be careful, because the last maid was sacked for a pettiness. Jean-Louis (Fabrice Luchini) is a rigid man, who insists that his egg is cooked for three minutes and he also considers it important that he is addressed as “Mister”. The mistress, Suzanne (Sandrine Kiberlain) is hardly better. For her, a maid is nothing more than a modern slave who has to follow all the orders without thinking. Mary lives with some other housekeepers on the sixth floor. The situation is appalling. The little rooms are tiny and the stinking clogged toilet is almost unbearable. The otherwise aloof Jean-Louis decides out of the blue to improve the living situation of the Spanish women. The real reason is because he is in love with Mary.

Les Femmes Du Sixième Etage is a mixture between a feelgood movie like Intouchables and the modern tales of Jacques Demy (especially the colors from the 60s make you think of Catherine Deneuve and her umbrella of Cherbourg). Don’t ask questions about the social situations or how director Philippe Le Guay sees them. When after months the toilet is finally fixed, it remains unbelievable to see how the women embrace their pattern. Same with the class differences, we see a short scene in which the two sons detest their father because he eats paella with the Spanish housekeepers, but that's it. In many other films this naive view would be a negative issue, but this comedy is made with so much charm that it hardly bothers. Set your mind to zero and enjoy this fine comedy, and nothing more!

Didier BECU
25/07/2015


NL

Zelf wist ik het niet, maar blijkbaar werkten er in de jaren 60 heel wat Spaanse vrouwen als huishoudster in rijke families om zo een centje bij te verdienen. Maria Gonzalez (Natalia Verbeke, een naam die inderdaad zeer Vlaams klinkt, maar ze is wel degelijk uit Argentinië afkomstig) komt op die manier bij de familie Joubert terecht. Het is uitkijken geblazen, want de vorige huishoudster is net voor een pietluttigheid de laan uitgestuurd. Jean-Louis (Fabrice Luchini) is een stijve hark die erop staat dat zijn eitje welgeteld drie minuten wordt gekookt en hij vindt het ook belangrijk dat hij met “mijnheer” wordt aangesproken. De vrouw des huizes, Suzanne (Sandrine Kiberlain), is nauwelijks beter. Voor haar is een bode niet meer dan een slaaf die alle bevelen opvolgt zonder na te denken. Maria woont samen met een heleboel andere huishoudsters op de zesde verdieping. De toestand is er schrijnend. De kamertjes zijn piepklein en het verstopte toilet zorgt ervoor dat de stank op de gang nauwelijks te harden is. De anders zo afstandelijke Jean-Louis beslist opeens om de woonsituatie van de Spaanse vrouwen te verbeteren. De echte reden: hij is verliefd op Maria.

Les Femmes Du Sixième Etage zweeft ergens tussen de feelgoodfilm van Intouchables en de moderne sprookjes van Jacques Demy (vooral de kleuren uit de jaren 60 doen je aan Catherine Deneuve en haar paraplu’s van Cherbourg denken). Stel je vooral niet te veel vragen bij de sociale wandaden die je ziet of hoe regisseur Philippe Le Guay ze bekijkt. Als na maanden eindelijk het toilet gerepareerd is, blijft het ongeloofwaardig om te zien hoe de vrouwen uit vreugde hun patron omarmen. Ook met het standenverschil gaat Le Guay losjes om, we zien in een korte scène hoe de twee zonen hun vader verfoeien omdat hij het aandurft om op een avond paella met de Spaanse werkvrouwen te eten, maar daar blijft het bij. In veel andere films zou deze naïeve kijk een minpunt van jewelste zijn, maar deze komedie is zo charmant gemaakt dat het nauwelijks stoort. Verstand op nul dus, en genieten van deze fijne komedie, meer niet.

Didier BECU
25/07/2015


25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf