tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage

PHILIPPE LE GUAY

Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage

Movie
Comedy

[66/100]   

Homescreen
25/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

I didn’t know it myself, but apparently in the 60s a lot of Spanish women worked as maids in wealthy French families to earn some money. Maria Gonzalez (Natalia Verbeke, a name that does sound very Flemish, but she is from Argentina) works at the house of the Joubert family. She has to be careful, because the last maid was sacked for a pettiness. Jean-Louis (Fabrice Luchini) is a rigid man, who insists that his egg is cooked for three minutes and he also considers it important that he is addressed as “Mister”. The mistress, Suzanne (Sandrine Kiberlain) is hardly better. For her, a maid is nothing more than a modern slave who has to follow all the orders without thinking. Mary lives with some other housekeepers on the sixth floor. The situation is appalling. The little rooms are tiny and the stinking clogged toilet is almost unbearable. The otherwise aloof Jean-Louis decides out of the blue to improve the living situation of the Spanish women. The real reason is because he is in love with Mary.

Les Femmes Du Sixième Etage is a mixture between a feelgood movie like Intouchables and the modern tales of Jacques Demy (especially the colors from the 60s make you think of Catherine Deneuve and her umbrella of Cherbourg). Don’t ask questions about the social situations or how director Philippe Le Guay sees them. When after months the toilet is finally fixed, it remains unbelievable to see how the women embrace their pattern. Same with the class differences, we see a short scene in which the two sons detest their father because he eats paella with the Spanish housekeepers, but that's it. In many other films this naive view would be a negative issue, but this comedy is made with so much charm that it hardly bothers. Set your mind to zero and enjoy this fine comedy, and nothing more!

Didier BECU
25/07/2015


NL

Zelf wist ik het niet, maar blijkbaar werkten er in de jaren 60 heel wat Spaanse vrouwen als huishoudster in rijke families om zo een centje bij te verdienen. Maria Gonzalez (Natalia Verbeke, een naam die inderdaad zeer Vlaams klinkt, maar ze is wel degelijk uit Argentinië afkomstig) komt op die manier bij de familie Joubert terecht. Het is uitkijken geblazen, want de vorige huishoudster is net voor een pietluttigheid de laan uitgestuurd. Jean-Louis (Fabrice Luchini) is een stijve hark die erop staat dat zijn eitje welgeteld drie minuten wordt gekookt en hij vindt het ook belangrijk dat hij met “mijnheer” wordt aangesproken. De vrouw des huizes, Suzanne (Sandrine Kiberlain), is nauwelijks beter. Voor haar is een bode niet meer dan een slaaf die alle bevelen opvolgt zonder na te denken. Maria woont samen met een heleboel andere huishoudsters op de zesde verdieping. De toestand is er schrijnend. De kamertjes zijn piepklein en het verstopte toilet zorgt ervoor dat de stank op de gang nauwelijks te harden is. De anders zo afstandelijke Jean-Louis beslist opeens om de woonsituatie van de Spaanse vrouwen te verbeteren. De echte reden: hij is verliefd op Maria.

Les Femmes Du Sixième Etage zweeft ergens tussen de feelgoodfilm van Intouchables en de moderne sprookjes van Jacques Demy (vooral de kleuren uit de jaren 60 doen je aan Catherine Deneuve en haar paraplu’s van Cherbourg denken). Stel je vooral niet te veel vragen bij de sociale wandaden die je ziet of hoe regisseur Philippe Le Guay ze bekijkt. Als na maanden eindelijk het toilet gerepareerd is, blijft het ongeloofwaardig om te zien hoe de vrouwen uit vreugde hun patron omarmen. Ook met het standenverschil gaat Le Guay losjes om, we zien in een korte scène hoe de twee zonen hun vader verfoeien omdat hij het aandurft om op een avond paella met de Spaanse werkvrouwen te eten, maar daar blijft het bij. In veel andere films zou deze naïeve kijk een minpunt van jewelste zijn, maar deze komedie is zo charmant gemaakt dat het nauwelijks stoort. Verstand op nul dus, en genieten van deze fijne komedie, meer niet.

Didier BECU
25/07/2015


25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage 25/07/2015 : PHILIPPE LE GUAY - Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked