tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

15/04/2015 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano

PAOLO VIRZI

Il Capitale Umano

Movie
ComedyDrama

[87/100]   

Imagine Films
15/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Once there was a time when Italy was a synonym for better (almost superior) cinema. Although those glory days are over, it appears like there is a new generation coming up that will continue with what Ettore Scola and Federico Fellini were doing. Earlier there was the highly acclaimed La Grande Bellezza by Paolo Sorrentino and you can add Il Capitale Umano by Paolo Virzi to to the list of new masterpieces. The title (human capital), suggests that this filmmaker is not particularly keen on capitalist laws. Just as J.C. Chandor did in Margin Call ,Virzi shows Virzi the dark (say dirty) edges of Western economics in which everything is about money.

Just like the Italian maestro Fellini , Paolo Virzì likes to mock the ruling class. He chooses a story in which three families from three different backgrounds are involved. Each reacts in a different way, but how different their perspective might be, in the end money is the only motive. The common thread is a tragic accident in which a cyclist is in a coma and the offender commits felony flight. The culprit may come from the poor or the upper class, and of course you can guess who is accused first.

Paolo Virzì makes his film at the same time a Hitchcockian thriller, as a parody on the super wealthy Italians, although the film is based on a novel by American author Stephen Amidon. Well, we guess the arrogance of these people is universal.

Il Capitale Umano is a film that will stick to your pants and that stands out because of different elements (from the ingenious script to the brilliant performances). It is a bitter, but most of all very intelligent comedy about the deterioration of society. Italian cinema is reborn!

The film is now out on DVD through Imagine. Recommended!

Didier BECU
15/04/2015


Verslavend veel film met Cinenews.be

NL

Ooit was er een tijd waarin Italië synoniem was voor de betere (bijna superieure) cinema. Alhoewel de gloriedagen al lang vervlogen zijn, blijkt een nieuwe generatie klaar te zijn om het vaandel van mannen als Ettore Scola of Federico Fellini over te nemen. Eerder was er al de (terechte) fel bejubelde La Grande Bellezza van Paolo Sorrentino en je kan daar zonder veel morren ook gerust Il Capitale Umano van Paolo Virzi aan toevoegen. Aan de titel alleen al (het menselijk kapitaal) weet je dat deze filmmaker niet bepaald hoog oploopt met de kapitalistische wetten. Net zoals J.C. Chandor dat op briljante wijze in Margin Call deed, toont ook Virzi de donkere (zeg maar vieze) kantjes van het Westerse economische denken waarin alles om geld draait.

Net zoals de Italiaanse grootmeester Fellini, drijft Paolo Virzì graag de spot met de heersende klasse. Hij kiest daarvoor een verhaal over drie families uit drie verschillende milieus. Elk reageert op een verschillende wijze, maar hoe verschillend het perspectief ook is, toch blijkt uiteindelijk geld de enige drijfveer te zijn. De rode draad is een tragisch ongeluk waarbij een fietser in coma raakt en de dader vluchtmisdrijf pleegt. De dader kan zowel bij de arme als bij de hogere klasse zitten, en je kan natuurlijk raden naar wie de beschuldigende vinger het eerst wordt uitgestoken.

Paolo Virzì maakt van zijn film tegelijkertijd een Hitchcockiaanse thriller en een parodie op de superrijke Italianen, ofschoon de film is gebaseerd op een roman van de Amerikaanse auteur Stephen Amidon. Nu ja, de arrogantie van deze lui is nu ook eenmaal een universeel gegeven.

Il Capitale Umano is een film die aan je broek blijft plakken en die opvalt wegens verschillende elementen (van ingenieus script tot briljante vertolkingen). Het is een bittere, maar vooral intelligente komedie over de verloedering van de maatschappij. De Italiaanse cinema is herboren, men zegge het voort!

De film is nu uit op dvd via Imagine. Verplicht kijkvoer!

Didier BECU
15/04/2015


Verslavend veel film met Cinenews.be

15/04/2015 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano 15/04/2015 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano 15/04/2015 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano 15/04/2015 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano 15/04/2015 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano 15/04/2015 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano 15/04/2015 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano 15/04/2015 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano 15/04/2015 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano 15/04/2015 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano 15/04/2015 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano 15/04/2015 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano 15/04/2015 : PAOLO VIRZI - Il Capitale Umano

 

Next reviews
FORMALIN • Supercluster
MAYZ • The Void
GRIET TECK • Feel My Love
MODEL 500 • Digital Solutions
COTTON CLAW • Volutes
• THE FINDER
COALESCAREMONIUM • An intense delight
THE PRODIGY • The Day Is My Enemy
VERA CHYTILOVA • Fruit Of Paradise
TOXIC BITE • A Band to Discover

 

Other reviews from PAOLO VIRZI
PAOLO VIRZI • Il Capitale Umano (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
CLAUDE SAUTET • Garçon
ANTONY BURNS • Home Sweet Hell
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
EMMA DANTE • Una Via A Palermo
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
EDOUARD MOLINARO • Le Téléphone Rose

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design