tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/08/2014 : AKALOTZ - Shift to Evil

AKALOTZ

Shift to Evil

MusicCD
Cold EBMDark ElectroEBMElectro

[89/100]   

Electro Arc
11/08/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

A while ago they played in Antwerp and I was literally blown out of my socks. A lot of people told me afterwards they were even much better than the headliner (Portion Control).

I knew they were working on their first album and couldn’t wait. Today is my day!

'Headcrash' is one of the tracks that I still remember from the gig: the minimal EBM sound and typical Front242 movements reminded me of the springtime of these EBM-gods. Somehow Akalotz manages to bring back the 80's into 2014! 'Time to Destroy' sounds a bit like PNE, but with better English and a softer touch. Love the beats! This is the track I wanted to call 'Headshot' in my review. It's an absolute highlight! 'Body Crushed Bones' is another great retro EBM track, a must have for EBM lovers! 'Lust of Power' was a winner on stage and is on record a jewel too.

The background voice is a nice extra! 'Shift to Evil' is a short one but has enough in it to stand ground! If your 'Blood Pressure' is not rising on this one than you are indeed a cold lizard! Start to dance, electro and EBM lovers! After that it all goes fast. I remember 'Where are you from', 'Play and Command' and 'Rise and Fall' from the live set too! 'Bring me down' is a nice end of the regular tracks.

After that we get 2 remixes and strangely enough that is when I hear the difference of the quality... The remixes are mixed a lot louder; the beats come out like anno 2014 and rock really hard. 'Blood Pressure (Invasion of Female Logic Remix)' is the first one. Same goes for 'Crushed Bones (SadoSato Remix)'. It's pretty painful to realize, but then again: I was sucked into the 80's sound and that amazed me.

I hope you go see them on stage and get caught by their stage power play!

Thumbs up!

Akalotz live in Antwerp

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/08/2014


 

Next reviews
JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK • The Right Kind Of Wrong
DEADCELL • Forever single
MATT REEVES • DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES
CYFERDYNE • Keep Your Silence
MARC FITOUSSI • Copacabana
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
JOHN KROKIDAS • Kill Your Darlings
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1
STAUBKIND • Alles Was Ich Bin
DAVID LOWERY • Ain't Them Body Saints

 

Same combination of genres: COLD EBM + DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
3TEETH • 3TEETH

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault

 

Same genre: EBM
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO
21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)