tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/08/2014 : AKALOTZ - Shift to Evil

AKALOTZ

Shift to Evil

MusicCD
Cold EBMDark ElectroEBMElectro

[89/100]   

Electro Arc
11/08/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

A while ago they played in Antwerp and I was literally blown out of my socks. A lot of people told me afterwards they were even much better than the headliner (Portion Control).

I knew they were working on their first album and couldn’t wait. Today is my day!

'Headcrash' is one of the tracks that I still remember from the gig: the minimal EBM sound and typical Front242 movements reminded me of the springtime of these EBM-gods. Somehow Akalotz manages to bring back the 80's into 2014! 'Time to Destroy' sounds a bit like PNE, but with better English and a softer touch. Love the beats! This is the track I wanted to call 'Headshot' in my review. It's an absolute highlight! 'Body Crushed Bones' is another great retro EBM track, a must have for EBM lovers! 'Lust of Power' was a winner on stage and is on record a jewel too.

The background voice is a nice extra! 'Shift to Evil' is a short one but has enough in it to stand ground! If your 'Blood Pressure' is not rising on this one than you are indeed a cold lizard! Start to dance, electro and EBM lovers! After that it all goes fast. I remember 'Where are you from', 'Play and Command' and 'Rise and Fall' from the live set too! 'Bring me down' is a nice end of the regular tracks.

After that we get 2 remixes and strangely enough that is when I hear the difference of the quality... The remixes are mixed a lot louder; the beats come out like anno 2014 and rock really hard. 'Blood Pressure (Invasion of Female Logic Remix)' is the first one. Same goes for 'Crushed Bones (SadoSato Remix)'. It's pretty painful to realize, but then again: I was sucked into the 80's sound and that amazed me.

I hope you go see them on stage and get caught by their stage power play!

Thumbs up!

Akalotz live in Antwerp

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/08/2014


 

Next reviews
JEREMIAH C. CHECHIK • The Right Kind Of Wrong
DEADCELL • Forever single
MATT REEVES • DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES
CYFERDYNE • Keep Your Silence
MARC FITOUSSI • Copacabana
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
JOHN KROKIDAS • Kill Your Darlings
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1
STAUBKIND • Alles Was Ich Bin
DAVID LOWERY • Ain't Them Body Saints

 

Same combination of genres: COLD EBM + DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
3TEETH • 3TEETH

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction

 

Same genre: EBM
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)