tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

24/12/2015 : WIM GUILLEMYN - The Best of 2015

WIM GUILLEMYN

The Best of 2015

Article
24/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Here's Wim's choice:


THE BEST RECORDS OF 2015
Maybe this list seems a bit schizophrenic because of my love for post-punk and progressive rock metal. It is complemented with some good things from other genres. This list consists of albums that touched me most, surprised me or that I played a lot. The order can be changed!

1. LUSTS - Illuminations.
A surprising and refreshing album. And apparently they’re a quite good live band.

2. EXIT STRATEGY - Exit Strategy.
Post-punk with the apocalyptic voice of William Westwater.

3. KILLING JOKE - Pylon.
One of their best albums. Sharp and witty, and still an enchanting live band.

4. CLUB 8 - Pleasure.
Beautiful, stylish electro, and for me the electro synthpop release of 2015.

5. DE DOOD – De titelloze Eerste
Dutch fun punk in the style of Belgian Associality. It's funny, completely pointless and entertaining!

6. THE INSIGHT - White Noise.
Powerful French cold wave/post-punk.

7. THE VIEW ELECTRICAL - Roseland.
Indierock pop of a very high level.

8. NAIVE- Altra.
French original progressive rock/metal.

9. BLACK REBEL MOTORCYCLE CLUB- Live in Paris.
A sublime live album.

10. ADAN & ILSE - Cold Diamonds.
Dark wave synth pop.

11. THE TWILLIGHT - Saddam Nobody wants to be Lord.
Next year they're supporting The Cure. I'm curious about it.

12. APRIL FOOLS - Everybody Talks.
Again superb post-punk from France.

13. MERCIFUL NUNS - 400 billons Suns.
A good live album with an overview of their impressive oeuvre.

14. LOTUS FEED - Secret Garden.
Wonderful new wave pos-punk.

15. THE NAMES - Stranger Than You.
An album that shows that today they still make excellent music.

16. DRACONIAN - Sovran.
A beautiful progressive black metal album. The woman's voice sounds heavenly.

17. CASABLANCA - Miskatonic Grafitti.
Varied and excellent progrock from Sweden.

18. THURISAZ - The Pulse of Mourning.
The Belgian progressive meta pride.

19. AEON SABLE - Visionaers.
A good gothic rock band, of Solar Lodge.

20. MY DYING BRIDE - Feel The Misery.
A perfect addition to their oeuvre.

I should definitely mention the albums by Editors, Star Industry, Della Nebbia ,The Lilac Time, NEO, Temptations For The Weak, System Overthrow, Tracer, A Violet Pine,…

THE BEST CONCERTS OF 2015
1. TRACER (Brussels, AB)A powerful set and an amazing live voice

2. THE SISTERS OF MERCY (Antwerp, Trix)
Unexpectedly good.

3. OPETH (Brussels, AB)
A set that consist of their album Ghost Reveries and their biggest hits. As always, a perfect sound and a brilliant show.

4. LA MUERTE (Lokerse Festivals)
Nice to see that they still sound relevant.

5. IAMX (Brussels, AB)
A perfect performance.

6. PETER HOOK & KILLING JOKE (Euro Rock)
Despite all the festival problems, these two bands gave the best of themselves.

7. QNTAL (Antwerp, Black Easter)

8. P.I.L. (Antwerp, Trix)
The latest album is not always that strong, but Lydon remains a charismatic figure.

9. THERAPY? (Brussels, AB)
A real party. And a very powerful new album.

10. THE NEON JUDGEMENT (Brussels, AB)
A farewell show in style.

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/12/2015


NL

Hier is de keuze van Wim:

 

DE BESTE PLATEN VAN 2015
Misschien lijkt dit een schizofreen lijstje vanwege mijn voorliefde voor postpunk en progressieve rockmetal. Het is aangevuld met goede albums uit andere genres. Dit lijstje bestaat uit albums die mij het meeste raakten, verrasten of die ik veel heb gedraaid. De volgorde is willekeurig.

1. LUSTS - Illuminations.
Een verrassend en fris album. En live zijn ze blijkbaar heel goed.

2. EXIT STRATEGY- Exit Strategy.
Postpunk die door merg en been gaat, met de apocalyptische stem van William Westwater.

3. KILLING JOKE - Pylon.
Een van hun betere albums. Scherp en snedig, en live nog steeds bezwerend.

4. CLUB 8 - Pleasure.
Mooie, stijlvolle elektro en daarom voor mij de elektrosynthpop release van 2015.

5. DE DOOD - De Titelloze Eerste.
Nederlandse pretpunk in de stijl van Belgian Associality. Het is grappig, zinloos en vol entertainment.

6. THE INSIGHT - White Noise.
Degelijke Franse coldwave/postpunk

7. THE VIEW ELECTRICAL - Roseland.
Indierockpop van zeer hoog niveau.

8. NAÏVE - Altra.
Franse originele progressive rock/metal

9. BLACK REBEL MOTORCYCLE CLUB - Live in Paris.
Een zinderende liveplaat.

10. ADAN & ILSE - Cold Diamonds.
Darkwave/synthpop van de bovenste plank.

11. THE TWILLIGHT SAD - Nobody wants to be Here.
Volgend jaar zijn ze het voorprogramma van The Cure. Ik ben benieuwd.

12. APRIL FOOLS - Everybody Talks.
Opnieuw postpunk uit Frankrijk die staat als een huis.

13. MERCIFUL NUNS - 400 Billons Suns.
Een goede liveplaat die tevens een overzicht van hun oeuvre biedt.

14. LOTUS FEED - Secret Garden.
Prachtige new wave/postpunk.

15. THE NAMES - Stranger Than You.
Een album dat toont dat ze vandaag nog steeds uitmuntende muziek maken.

16. DRACONIAN - Sovran.
Een ongelooflijke mooi progressief blackmetalalbum. De vrouwenstem klinkt bij momenten hemels.

17. CASABLANCA - Miskatonic Grafitti.
Gevarieerde en uitmuntende progrock uit Zweden.

18. THURISAZ - The Pulse of Mourning.
De Belgische progressive metal-trots.

19. AEON SABLE - Visionaers.
Een goede gothicrockband uit de Solar Lodge-stal.

20. MY DYING BRIDE - Feel The Misery.
Een mooie toevoeging aan hun oeuvre.

Maar daarnaast moet ik zeker nog vermelden dat de albums van: Editors, Star Industry, Della Nebbia, The Lilac Time, NEO, Temptations For The Weak, System Overthrow, Tracer, A Violet Pine,… allemaal de moeite waard zijn.

DE BESTE CONCERTEN VAN 2015
1. TRACER (Brussel, AB)
Een krachtige set en een fantastische livestem.

2. THE SISTERS OF MERCY (Antwerpen, Trix)
Onverwacht goed.

3. OPETH (Brussel, AB)
Een set die bestond uit hun album Ghost Reveries en de grootste hits. Zoals altijd, een perfect geluid en een schitterende show. De droge humor en de zelfrelativeringen van de zanger krijg je er gratis bij.

4. LA MUERTE (Lokerse Feesten)
Fijn om te zien dat ze nog steeds relevant en scherp klinken.

5. IAMX (Brussel, AB)
Perfect optreden.

6. PETER HOOK & KILLING JOKE (Eurorock)
Ondanks alle problemen op het veld, toch twee bands die het beste van zichzelf gaven.

7. QNTAL (Antwerpen, Black Easter)

8. P.I.L. (Antwerpen, Trix)
Bij momenten heel goed. Het songmateriaal van de laatste cd is niet altijd even sterk, maar Lydon blijft natuurlijk een charismatisch figuur.

9. THERAPY? (Brussel, AB)
Een echt feestje. En een zeer degelijk nieuw album.

10. THE NEON JUDGEMENT (Brussel, AB)
Een afscheid in schoonheid van twee iconen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/12/2015


24/12/2015 : WIM GUILLEMYN - The Best of 2015 24/12/2015 : WIM GUILLEMYN - The Best of 2015 24/12/2015 : WIM GUILLEMYN - The Best of 2015

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu