tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

24/12/2015 : WIM GUILLEMYN - The Best of 2015

WIM GUILLEMYN

The Best of 2015

Article
24/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Here's Wim's choice:


THE BEST RECORDS OF 2015
Maybe this list seems a bit schizophrenic because of my love for post-punk and progressive rock metal. It is complemented with some good things from other genres. This list consists of albums that touched me most, surprised me or that I played a lot. The order can be changed!

1. LUSTS - Illuminations.
A surprising and refreshing album. And apparently they’re a quite good live band.

2. EXIT STRATEGY - Exit Strategy.
Post-punk with the apocalyptic voice of William Westwater.

3. KILLING JOKE - Pylon.
One of their best albums. Sharp and witty, and still an enchanting live band.

4. CLUB 8 - Pleasure.
Beautiful, stylish electro, and for me the electro synthpop release of 2015.

5. DE DOOD – De titelloze Eerste
Dutch fun punk in the style of Belgian Associality. It's funny, completely pointless and entertaining!

6. THE INSIGHT - White Noise.
Powerful French cold wave/post-punk.

7. THE VIEW ELECTRICAL - Roseland.
Indierock pop of a very high level.

8. NAIVE- Altra.
French original progressive rock/metal.

9. BLACK REBEL MOTORCYCLE CLUB- Live in Paris.
A sublime live album.

10. ADAN & ILSE - Cold Diamonds.
Dark wave synth pop.

11. THE TWILLIGHT - Saddam Nobody wants to be Lord.
Next year they're supporting The Cure. I'm curious about it.

12. APRIL FOOLS - Everybody Talks.
Again superb post-punk from France.

13. MERCIFUL NUNS - 400 billons Suns.
A good live album with an overview of their impressive oeuvre.

14. LOTUS FEED - Secret Garden.
Wonderful new wave pos-punk.

15. THE NAMES - Stranger Than You.
An album that shows that today they still make excellent music.

16. DRACONIAN - Sovran.
A beautiful progressive black metal album. The woman's voice sounds heavenly.

17. CASABLANCA - Miskatonic Grafitti.
Varied and excellent progrock from Sweden.

18. THURISAZ - The Pulse of Mourning.
The Belgian progressive meta pride.

19. AEON SABLE - Visionaers.
A good gothic rock band, of Solar Lodge.

20. MY DYING BRIDE - Feel The Misery.
A perfect addition to their oeuvre.

I should definitely mention the albums by Editors, Star Industry, Della Nebbia ,The Lilac Time, NEO, Temptations For The Weak, System Overthrow, Tracer, A Violet Pine,…

THE BEST CONCERTS OF 2015
1. TRACER (Brussels, AB)A powerful set and an amazing live voice

2. THE SISTERS OF MERCY (Antwerp, Trix)
Unexpectedly good.

3. OPETH (Brussels, AB)
A set that consist of their album Ghost Reveries and their biggest hits. As always, a perfect sound and a brilliant show.

4. LA MUERTE (Lokerse Festivals)
Nice to see that they still sound relevant.

5. IAMX (Brussels, AB)
A perfect performance.

6. PETER HOOK & KILLING JOKE (Euro Rock)
Despite all the festival problems, these two bands gave the best of themselves.

7. QNTAL (Antwerp, Black Easter)

8. P.I.L. (Antwerp, Trix)
The latest album is not always that strong, but Lydon remains a charismatic figure.

9. THERAPY? (Brussels, AB)
A real party. And a very powerful new album.

10. THE NEON JUDGEMENT (Brussels, AB)
A farewell show in style.

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/12/2015


NL

Hier is de keuze van Wim:

 

DE BESTE PLATEN VAN 2015
Misschien lijkt dit een schizofreen lijstje vanwege mijn voorliefde voor postpunk en progressieve rockmetal. Het is aangevuld met goede albums uit andere genres. Dit lijstje bestaat uit albums die mij het meeste raakten, verrasten of die ik veel heb gedraaid. De volgorde is willekeurig.

1. LUSTS - Illuminations.
Een verrassend en fris album. En live zijn ze blijkbaar heel goed.

2. EXIT STRATEGY- Exit Strategy.
Postpunk die door merg en been gaat, met de apocalyptische stem van William Westwater.

3. KILLING JOKE - Pylon.
Een van hun betere albums. Scherp en snedig, en live nog steeds bezwerend.

4. CLUB 8 - Pleasure.
Mooie, stijlvolle elektro en daarom voor mij de elektrosynthpop release van 2015.

5. DE DOOD - De Titelloze Eerste.
Nederlandse pretpunk in de stijl van Belgian Associality. Het is grappig, zinloos en vol entertainment.

6. THE INSIGHT - White Noise.
Degelijke Franse coldwave/postpunk

7. THE VIEW ELECTRICAL - Roseland.
Indierockpop van zeer hoog niveau.

8. NAÏVE - Altra.
Franse originele progressive rock/metal

9. BLACK REBEL MOTORCYCLE CLUB - Live in Paris.
Een zinderende liveplaat.

10. ADAN & ILSE - Cold Diamonds.
Darkwave/synthpop van de bovenste plank.

11. THE TWILLIGHT SAD - Nobody wants to be Here.
Volgend jaar zijn ze het voorprogramma van The Cure. Ik ben benieuwd.

12. APRIL FOOLS - Everybody Talks.
Opnieuw postpunk uit Frankrijk die staat als een huis.

13. MERCIFUL NUNS - 400 Billons Suns.
Een goede liveplaat die tevens een overzicht van hun oeuvre biedt.

14. LOTUS FEED - Secret Garden.
Prachtige new wave/postpunk.

15. THE NAMES - Stranger Than You.
Een album dat toont dat ze vandaag nog steeds uitmuntende muziek maken.

16. DRACONIAN - Sovran.
Een ongelooflijke mooi progressief blackmetalalbum. De vrouwenstem klinkt bij momenten hemels.

17. CASABLANCA - Miskatonic Grafitti.
Gevarieerde en uitmuntende progrock uit Zweden.

18. THURISAZ - The Pulse of Mourning.
De Belgische progressive metal-trots.

19. AEON SABLE - Visionaers.
Een goede gothicrockband uit de Solar Lodge-stal.

20. MY DYING BRIDE - Feel The Misery.
Een mooie toevoeging aan hun oeuvre.

Maar daarnaast moet ik zeker nog vermelden dat de albums van: Editors, Star Industry, Della Nebbia, The Lilac Time, NEO, Temptations For The Weak, System Overthrow, Tracer, A Violet Pine,… allemaal de moeite waard zijn.

DE BESTE CONCERTEN VAN 2015
1. TRACER (Brussel, AB)
Een krachtige set en een fantastische livestem.

2. THE SISTERS OF MERCY (Antwerpen, Trix)
Onverwacht goed.

3. OPETH (Brussel, AB)
Een set die bestond uit hun album Ghost Reveries en de grootste hits. Zoals altijd, een perfect geluid en een schitterende show. De droge humor en de zelfrelativeringen van de zanger krijg je er gratis bij.

4. LA MUERTE (Lokerse Feesten)
Fijn om te zien dat ze nog steeds relevant en scherp klinken.

5. IAMX (Brussel, AB)
Perfect optreden.

6. PETER HOOK & KILLING JOKE (Eurorock)
Ondanks alle problemen op het veld, toch twee bands die het beste van zichzelf gaven.

7. QNTAL (Antwerpen, Black Easter)

8. P.I.L. (Antwerpen, Trix)
Bij momenten heel goed. Het songmateriaal van de laatste cd is niet altijd even sterk, maar Lydon blijft natuurlijk een charismatisch figuur.

9. THERAPY? (Brussel, AB)
Een echt feestje. En een zeer degelijk nieuw album.

10. THE NEON JUDGEMENT (Brussel, AB)
Een afscheid in schoonheid van twee iconen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/12/2015


24/12/2015 : WIM GUILLEMYN - The Best of 2015 24/12/2015 : WIM GUILLEMYN - The Best of 2015 24/12/2015 : WIM GUILLEMYN - The Best of 2015

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)