tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/07/2014 : X-MAL DEUTSCHLAND - Classics: Devils

X-MAL DEUTSCHLAND

Classics: Devils

MusicCD


[88/100]   

Metronome
01/07/2014, Didier BECU

Hold your horses, before you kill me. Devils is not the best album by X-Mal Deutschland, but by far their most ignored one. The problem already starts that only a handful of people are aware that this fourth and final album has been released.


Of course back then there was no future for Hamburg’s finest. The 90’s were making their entrance and there was simply no place left for this influential waveband that released on 4-AD classic albums as Fetisch, Tocsin and Viva. Even if Viva will be my favourite album by them (I know you all prefer Fetisch!), I listen a lot to Devils


No panic, I’m aware that the band were in a way betrayers. Since Matador was released as a single everyone knew that the Germans were striving for a more pop sound and Devils was that ultimate proof to that.


Technically speaking you can’t even say that Devils is a real X-Mal Deutschland as only Anja Huwe and Wolfgang Ellerbrock were the remaining members. Manuela Rickers, Fiona Sangster and Peter Bellendir already left the sinking ship because Devils was commercial wise a disaster. Not only were they away from 4-AD, they also left many fans speechless with their new approach. The gorgeous voice from Anja Huwe stayed, the moody synths were there too, but out of sudden X-Mal Deutschaland sounded like…Roxette!


Heavens and Seas was like a female version of The Waterboys, I Push It Harder like a pre-Spice Girls song and You Broke My Heart could have been penned down by Phil Collins. Mind you, despite all writing this, I fall for this type of music as all by all it’s better to be a copy from Phil Collins than Pearl Jam (there goes my credibility, but I mean those words!).


Nah, Devils is a collection of gorgeous wavepopsongs, but in a way a failed attempt from a band that wanted to cross their borders. Anja Huwe still had the most sexy voice in music, they still could write tunes (listen to Searchlights!). And before you really start torturing me: no, there’s no Stummes Kind on here, but Devils is sublime nonetheless.

 

Track listing:

"I'll Be Near You" – 3:38

"Searchlights" – 4:20

"You Broke My Heart" – 4:28

"Sleepwalker" – 3:50

"When Devils Come" – 3:58

"Heavens and Seas" – 3:51

"Dreamhouse" – 3:38

"I Push It Harder" – 3:50

"I Should Have Known" – 4:06

"All in My Hand" – 4:12

"Drowned You" – 2:58

"Dreamhouse Theme" – 3:25

Didier BECU
01/07/2014


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)