tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game

GAVIN HOOD

Ender's Game

Movie


[64/100]   

E1
14/05/2014, Didier BECU

EN

It breaks the magic, but filmmaking is of course all about money. The newest golden idea seems to be the adaption of youth books. The days in where children are going awol over Huckleberry Finn seems over, as since The Hunger Games kids want to see blood. I can be wrong, but someone has to tell me how child friendly the adventures from Katniss Everdeen are. The newest title in this probably never ending list is Ender's Game: a sciencefiction movie that has been published in 1985 and is written by Orson Scott Card. This name provoked lots of controversial feelings. Not only did Card wrote a book about children that are trained to ultimate soldiers, but the writer also rejects gay marriage which made him a hated man in the US. Some Americans thought this was more than enough reason to organize a boycott against the movie. And yes, this happened to the best Harrison Ford-movies in years!


Harrison Ford in galaxy reminds us of course of Han Solo. But mind you, in Ender’s Game you won’t see some pensioner flying around in a space ship. Nah, Ford performs Colonel Graff who wants to protect mankind from the Formics: extra-terrestrial, colossal insects that want to destroy Mother Earth. At least that happened 50 years ago. Now everything is quiet but as Americans only trust themselves, they made a plan to protect them from an eventually forthcoming invasion. The solution lies in the fact of using children as soldiers because they think differently. The lucky (okay, we know!) guy is the 12 year-old Ender Wiggins (Asa Butterfield).


The director is Gavin Hood who won with Tsotsi in better times an Oscar for Best Foreign Picture, but who is now remembered for the disaster that X-Men Origins: Wolverine is. Ender’s Game certainly is better, but it's difficult to find out for which public this movie is aimed to. We guess that the producers had the youth in mind, but because there's a lack of fighting scenes it is possible that they will fall asleep somewhere in the middle of it. The moral dilemma is unexplored to charm other fans. It really sounds odd to write it down but it's Harrison Ford who saves the day, while the director does nothing with the huge talent of Ben Kingsley. The young Asa stars too, and of course we know his face from the colourful 3D-experience Hugo from Martin Scorsese. The decors are splendid and reminded us in a way of those from Kubrick's 2001: A Space Oddysey, while the special effects seem to come out of a cheap game.

But good, Ender’s Game is definitely worth your time. Now out on E One on both DVD and Blu-ray.

 

Didier BECU
14/05/2014


NL

Het breekt natuurlijk de magie, maar cinema blijft nog altijd om geld draaien. Sinds The Hunger Games is de kip met het gouden ei de verfilming van jeugdboeken geworden. De dagen dat kinderen zich achter de avonturen van Pippi Langkous scharen zijn inmiddels wel al lang voorbij. Hoe gewelddadiger des te liever de kleine kornuiten het hebben, zo blijkt. Tenzij iemand mij kan vertellen dat de avonturen van Katniss Everdeen kindvriendelijk zijn. De nieuwste telg die de kinderharten moet veroveren is Ender's Game: een sciencefictionprent naar het in 1985 verschenen gelijknamige boek van Orson Scott Card. Deze naam riep meteen heel wat controverse op. Omdat regisseur Gavin Hood er volgens de studiobonzen als scenarist maar weinig van bakte werd de hulp van de auteur ingeroepen. Niet alleen gaat zijn roman over kindsoldaten, ook is hij één van de bekendste tegenstanders van het homohuwelijk. Reden genoeg voor heel wat Amerikanen om de film in de ban te slaan en die te boycotten. En laat dat nu eens de beste film met Harrison Ford in jaren zijn!


Harrison Ford in een intergalactische strijd roept natuurlijk herinneringen aan Han Solo op. Maar wees gerust, in Ender's Game zie je geen gepensioneerde in een ruimtetuig rondvliegen, wel speelt hij de rol van de stoïcijnse kolonel Graff die er moet voor zorgen dat de aarde niet wordt vernietigd door de Formics: buitenaardse, kolossale insecten die er allesbehalve vredelievend uitzien. Vijftig jaar geleden heeft de aarde al af te rekenen gehad met deze vreemde vijanden. Nu is alles rustig, maar omdat Amerikanen niemand behalve zichzelf vertrouwen denken de machthebbers dat deze wezens ooit wel eens zullen terugkeren. De oplossing ligt in het opleiden van kindsoldaten omdat die andere inzichten zouden hebben. De uitverkorene (nou ja) is de twaalfjarige Ender Wiggins (Asa Butterfield).


De regie lag in handen van Gavin Hood die in betere tijden met Tsotsi nog een Oscar voor Beste Buitenlandstalige Film kreeg, maar met het vehikel dat X-Men Origins: Wolverine toch is heel wat krediet verloor. Ender’s Game is zeker geen slechte prent, maar is uiteindelijk noch mossel noch vis. Omdat er in de film weinig of geen vechtscènes zitten zullen heel wat jongeren (voor wie de film uiteindelijk is gemaakt) in slaap kunnen vallen, terwijl er anderzijds te weinig aandacht wordt besteed aan het morele dilemma om andere fans te overtuigen. Het blijft vreemd om het neer te pennen, maar voor één keer is het Harrison Ford die de film van de ondergang redt, terwijl het talent van Ben Kingsley nauwelijks wordt benut. Ook de jonge Asa doet prima zijn best, het ventje ken je wellicht uit het kleurrijke 3D-avontuur Hugo van Martin Scorsese. De decors zijn verbluffend en doen een tikkeltje aan Kubricks 2001: A Space Oddysey denken, ofschoon de special effects dan weer uit één of ander goedkope game lijken te komen.


Maar goed, als onschuldig entertainment (nou ja, kinderen die worden opgeleid tot bloeddorstige soldaten) staat Ender’s Game zijn mannetje. De film is nu uit op E One, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray is dat!

Didier BECU
14/05/2014


14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game 14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game 14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game 14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game 14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game 14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game 14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game 14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game 14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game 14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game 14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game 14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game 14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game 14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game 14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game 14/05/2014 : GAVIN HOOD - Ender's Game

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)