tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi

GODFREY REGGIO

Koyaanisqatsi

MovieMovie classics
Documentary

[95/100]   

Arrow
13/05/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Everybody interprets Koyaanisqatsi the way he wants. These are the words from Godfrey Reggio, an excerpt from an interview that you can find on Essence Of Life: the bonus documentary on this release. By now the movie is be considered by many as a piece of work that wants to better the world. That's only part of the truth as Koyaanisqatsi is not political propaganda like say An Inconvenient Truth. Mind you, the given message hurts, but this apocalyptic documentary is in the first place a filmmonument that will always be remembered for the cinematographic beauty that's been created by Ron Fricke and of course the phenomenal score by Philip Glass.


Koyaanisqatsi from 1982 is the first part of a trilogy. Six years later Powaqqatsi was released, followed in 2002 by Naqoyqatsi. There's no doubt that Koyaanisqatsi is the best and most known. These days we also know that the weird name comes from the language of the Hopi-Indians and means a life that is out of balance. It's the sole word you'll hear in this movie that can be considered as a collage that shows the madness we're living in. The maker doesn't give a solution though. In one of his reviews film critic Roger Ebert stated that Godfrey Reggio only wants to point out that the world would be better off without humans. Perhaps that’s a very cruel statement, but one that is true nonetheless. I mean, perhaps God better not created mankind after all as he only wants to destroy the planet he's been given. The movie starts with impressive images that are taken from a helicopter. We see pictures from rough nature that's not been destroyed (yet) by mankind while a deep bass voice sings the words "koyaanisqatsi". Once you see the first truck coming up and the music from Glass gets more nervous, you also know that mankind has made his entrance, ready for destruction and madness.


The techniques from Fricke may seem in 2014 a bit dated, but the result is still impressive though: a painful image that reflects the crazy tempo we put ourselves onto. The nature images are breathtaking, but in a way it feels like Mother Nature wants to say: you have destroyed me, but in the end I'm the strongest.


This production from Francis Ford Coppola was during some years unavailable. In the end MGM got the rights and released the Blu-ray in the US, but those who don't have a regionfree-player can find this same release in a excellent box that's been released on the British Arrow, along with that other classic: Powaqqatsi .

Didier BECU
13/05/2014


NL

Iedereen interpreteert Koyaanisqatsi op zijn manier, dat zijn Godfrey Reggios woorden in de extra Essence Of Life die je op deze heruitgave kan vinden. De film wordt ondertussen door heel wat wereldverbeteraars als een werk beschouwd dat de kijker politiekbewust wil doen maken. Koyaanisqatsi is evenwel geen politieke propagandafilm zoals An Inconvenient Truth dat is. Troost je, de mokerslag die Reggio de kijker bezorgt doet verschrikkelijk veel pijn, maar deze apocalyptische documentaire is in de eerste plaats een cinematografisch monument dat heel veel heeft te danken aan de prachtige cinematografie van Ron Fricke en de intrigerende, wereldberoemde score van Philip Glass.


Koyaanisqatsi uit 1982 is het eerste deel van een trilogie. Zes jaar later verscheen Powaqqatsi en in 2002 was er ten slotte nog Naqoyqatsi, maar Koyaanisqatsi is zonder twijfel de bekendste en beste van de drie. Inmiddels weten we dat deze vreemde titel een begrip is dat uit de woordenschat van de Hopi-indianen komt. Vrij vertaald betekent Koyaanisqatsi een leven dat uit balans is. Het is ook het enige woord dat je in deze film hoort die aanvoelt als een collage van de waanzin van de maatschappij waarin we leven. De filmmaker biedt evenwel geen oplossing voor het probleem. In zijn review suggereerde wijlen Roger Ebert dat Godfrey Reggio gewoon wil zeggen dat de aarde beter af zou zijn zonder de mens. Harde woorden, maar dat is misschien de waarheid. God had er inderdaad misschien wat langer over nagedacht vooraleer hij de mens schiep. De film begint met helikopterbeelden van de woeste natuur, gebergten die de mens tot nu toe nog niet heeft aangeraakt. Een diepe bariton mompelt het woord "koyaanisqatsi" en eens de eerste vrachtwagen in zicht komt, wordt ook de muziek van Glass meer en meer zenuwachtig. De mens doet zijn intrede, het resultaat is zowel destructie als waanzin.


Anno 2014 lijken de technieken van Fricke wel wat verouderd, toch laat het resultaat nog altijd indruk na. Reggio filmt bepaalde fenomenen (van zwevende wolken tot de eindeloze verkeersdrukte) en laat die dan in recordtempo voorbij flitsen. Het resultaat benadrukt alleen maar de krankzinnigheid van ons bestaan. De natuurbeelden zijn fenomenaal mooi en het lijkt wel alsof de natuur ons wil zeggen: jij hebt mij wel onrecht aangedaan, maar ik blijf wel de sterkste, degene die jou kan vernietigen.


Deze productie van Francis Ford Coppola was jarenlang niet meer in de handel verkrijgbaar. Uiteindelijk verkreeg MGM de rechten en bracht de film in de VS op Blu-ray uit. Wie echter geen regiovrije Blu-rayspeler heeft moet niet langer treuren, want het Britse Arrow heeft deze cultklassieker samen met Powaqqatsi in een prachtige box op de markt gebracht.

Didier BECU
13/05/2014


13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain