tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi

GODFREY REGGIO

Koyaanisqatsi

MovieMovie classics
Documentary

[95/100]   

Arrow
13/05/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Everybody interprets Koyaanisqatsi the way he wants. These are the words from Godfrey Reggio, an excerpt from an interview that you can find on Essence Of Life: the bonus documentary on this release. By now the movie is be considered by many as a piece of work that wants to better the world. That's only part of the truth as Koyaanisqatsi is not political propaganda like say An Inconvenient Truth. Mind you, the given message hurts, but this apocalyptic documentary is in the first place a filmmonument that will always be remembered for the cinematographic beauty that's been created by Ron Fricke and of course the phenomenal score by Philip Glass.


Koyaanisqatsi from 1982 is the first part of a trilogy. Six years later Powaqqatsi was released, followed in 2002 by Naqoyqatsi. There's no doubt that Koyaanisqatsi is the best and most known. These days we also know that the weird name comes from the language of the Hopi-Indians and means a life that is out of balance. It's the sole word you'll hear in this movie that can be considered as a collage that shows the madness we're living in. The maker doesn't give a solution though. In one of his reviews film critic Roger Ebert stated that Godfrey Reggio only wants to point out that the world would be better off without humans. Perhaps that’s a very cruel statement, but one that is true nonetheless. I mean, perhaps God better not created mankind after all as he only wants to destroy the planet he's been given. The movie starts with impressive images that are taken from a helicopter. We see pictures from rough nature that's not been destroyed (yet) by mankind while a deep bass voice sings the words "koyaanisqatsi". Once you see the first truck coming up and the music from Glass gets more nervous, you also know that mankind has made his entrance, ready for destruction and madness.


The techniques from Fricke may seem in 2014 a bit dated, but the result is still impressive though: a painful image that reflects the crazy tempo we put ourselves onto. The nature images are breathtaking, but in a way it feels like Mother Nature wants to say: you have destroyed me, but in the end I'm the strongest.


This production from Francis Ford Coppola was during some years unavailable. In the end MGM got the rights and released the Blu-ray in the US, but those who don't have a regionfree-player can find this same release in a excellent box that's been released on the British Arrow, along with that other classic: Powaqqatsi .

Didier BECU
13/05/2014


NL

Iedereen interpreteert Koyaanisqatsi op zijn manier, dat zijn Godfrey Reggios woorden in de extra Essence Of Life die je op deze heruitgave kan vinden. De film wordt ondertussen door heel wat wereldverbeteraars als een werk beschouwd dat de kijker politiekbewust wil doen maken. Koyaanisqatsi is evenwel geen politieke propagandafilm zoals An Inconvenient Truth dat is. Troost je, de mokerslag die Reggio de kijker bezorgt doet verschrikkelijk veel pijn, maar deze apocalyptische documentaire is in de eerste plaats een cinematografisch monument dat heel veel heeft te danken aan de prachtige cinematografie van Ron Fricke en de intrigerende, wereldberoemde score van Philip Glass.


Koyaanisqatsi uit 1982 is het eerste deel van een trilogie. Zes jaar later verscheen Powaqqatsi en in 2002 was er ten slotte nog Naqoyqatsi, maar Koyaanisqatsi is zonder twijfel de bekendste en beste van de drie. Inmiddels weten we dat deze vreemde titel een begrip is dat uit de woordenschat van de Hopi-indianen komt. Vrij vertaald betekent Koyaanisqatsi een leven dat uit balans is. Het is ook het enige woord dat je in deze film hoort die aanvoelt als een collage van de waanzin van de maatschappij waarin we leven. De filmmaker biedt evenwel geen oplossing voor het probleem. In zijn review suggereerde wijlen Roger Ebert dat Godfrey Reggio gewoon wil zeggen dat de aarde beter af zou zijn zonder de mens. Harde woorden, maar dat is misschien de waarheid. God had er inderdaad misschien wat langer over nagedacht vooraleer hij de mens schiep. De film begint met helikopterbeelden van de woeste natuur, gebergten die de mens tot nu toe nog niet heeft aangeraakt. Een diepe bariton mompelt het woord "koyaanisqatsi" en eens de eerste vrachtwagen in zicht komt, wordt ook de muziek van Glass meer en meer zenuwachtig. De mens doet zijn intrede, het resultaat is zowel destructie als waanzin.


Anno 2014 lijken de technieken van Fricke wel wat verouderd, toch laat het resultaat nog altijd indruk na. Reggio filmt bepaalde fenomenen (van zwevende wolken tot de eindeloze verkeersdrukte) en laat die dan in recordtempo voorbij flitsen. Het resultaat benadrukt alleen maar de krankzinnigheid van ons bestaan. De natuurbeelden zijn fenomenaal mooi en het lijkt wel alsof de natuur ons wil zeggen: jij hebt mij wel onrecht aangedaan, maar ik blijf wel de sterkste, degene die jou kan vernietigen.


Deze productie van Francis Ford Coppola was jarenlang niet meer in de handel verkrijgbaar. Uiteindelijk verkreeg MGM de rechten en bracht de film in de VS op Blu-ray uit. Wie echter geen regiovrije Blu-rayspeler heeft moet niet langer treuren, want het Britse Arrow heeft deze cultklassieker samen met Powaqqatsi in een prachtige box op de markt gebracht.

Didier BECU
13/05/2014


13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi 13/05/2014 : GODFREY REGGIO - Koyaanisqatsi

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)