Your banner here? Click for more information Nine Inche Nails - Pretty After Party Joy Division / Ian Curtis Memorial Night with Curtis 'Repost' ft. Clan of Xymox Fantastique.Night XLIII Lavvi Ebbel Club New Wave - episode 11 New Model Army (UK) Wool-E Shop, Your alternative music shop (vinyl, CD, DVD,...) Volunteers wanted - writers, editors, photographers...


1.592 items    


19/11/2012 : DSX - Anonymous EP

DSX DSX

Anonymous EP [VINYL]

Dark Electro

[85/100]   
19/11/2012, Pieter COUSSEMENT

As a content owner of the full Basic Unit Productions back-catalogue, I was eager to get my hands on the Anonymous EP by DSX, to be released on vinyl on 14/12/12.

As with so many of their releases you know you get excellent quality, but you simply can't know what style it will be (which is a good thing). I'll refrain from making parallels between this and Haujobb's many masterpieces, but it may already say something about my insights into the EP.

Listening to Anonymous automatically brings up visions of someone thoroughly enjoying his synths, which results in excellent sound-design reminiscent of the bulky knob-twisting times of yore. However, where, at least to me, some of the bands cling desperately to that old-school sound, DSX takes it and leads it into the present. The result can be both pure and raw, powerful and poetic, hypnotic and ominous.

So now for the association game. The first song 'Demonic feat Emily Steigerwald' reminds me of just enough Dive (Welcome to Hell) mixed with Gitane Demone's (Incendiary Lover) eery singing style…. but better. 'Don't Resist' is a relentless bass-driven track with a detuned synth-lead reminding me to The Normal's (Warm Leatherette)… but harder. 'Anonymous' features GHST on vocals which, at first doesn't really appeal to me, until the chorus kicks in which proves you can actually do something useful with rotterdam hard style leads (I of course mean just a lot of portamento) and GHST accompanies it excellent lyrically. The result is a layered composition, melodically build against a backdrop of exciting knob-turners doing their thing. The fourth and last song, 'Information War', is in the same vain as 'Don't Resist', with an old-school vibe finding a new identity.

To conclude; most of the songs would be club hits in my personal imaginary ideal (club) world; they are all songs that allow for an exploration on multiple levels, starting in one's mind, going into different directions but heading for the same goal.
 

Pieter COUSSEMENT
19/11/2012





NEWS

24/04/14 Mike Flanagan's breakthrough film 'Absentia...
24/04/14 True Zebra goes Hollywood
24/04/14 TIM BOWNESS reveals details of 'Abandoned D...
24/04/14 Dare you brave the bunker of dead?
24/04/14 FINNTROLL release Natten Med De Levande Fin...
23/04/14 Dependent sign Iris: new album „Radiant“ al...
23/04/14 Return of the noise guerilla: Chrysalide fi...

CALENDAR

26/04/14  NEW-WAVE-CLASSIX PARTY
26/04/14  ANTHINOISES
26/04/14  CHIP SOUND FACTORY: BITCRUSHER + THE CHEAT...
26/04/14  THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
26/04/14  DTDBIN!!! (18): CELEBRATING 23 YEARS OF LO...
26/04/14  DEN BUNKER - NEW WAVE PARTY
27/04/14  ANTHINOISES
30/04/14  HANG THE DJ PARTY
02/05/14  TNIG #8: BAK XIII
02/05/14  PORTION CONTROL + PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE...
02/05/14  WINTER SEVERITY INDEX + HERMECTIC ELECTRIC
06/05/14  THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
08/05/14  LEBANON HANOVER
10/05/14  DUBHFEST

REVIEWS

SYLVGHEIST MAËLSTRÖM - Pripyat [CD]
VAINERZ - Love Run ep [MP3/DOWNLOAD]
- FILM: 100 Jaar Groote Oorlog 1914-... [MOVIE]
CAPRICE - Girdenwodan part 2 [CD]
 

INTERVIEWS

VAN CANTO - I think we have some compositions th...
ORPHEUS IN RED VELVELT - [Os]mium tells us about...
CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE - Today it is almost incor...
PAULINA CASSIDY - We ARE spirit!
 

PHOTOSHOOTS

20/04/14 : ASSEMBLAGE 23 - Kavka, Antwerp, Belgium
20/04/14 : LLUMEN - Kavka, Antwerp, Belgium
19/04/14 : KELUAR - Soul Avenue, Kortrijk, Belgium
19/04/14 : NINE CIRCLES - Soul Avenue, Kortrijk,...
 

ARTISTS

21/04/14 : CAPRICE
18/04/14 : HIROKAZU KOREEDA
16/04/14 : VAINERZ
09/04/14 : CHARLES BAND
09/04/14 : PHILIPPE CLAUDEL
artists
sitemap
disclaimer
links

all.rss rss
news.rss rss
review.rss rss
photo.rss rss
calendar.rss rss
interview.rss rss
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
created & CMS
by Deltacom