tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

19/11/2012 : DSX - Anonymous EP

DSX

Anonymous EP

MusicVinyl
Dark Electro

[85/100]   
19/11/2012, Pieter COUSSEMENT

As a content owner of the full Basic Unit Productions back-catalogue, I was eager to get my hands on the Anonymous EP by DSX, to be released on vinyl on 14/12/12.

As with so many of their releases you know you get excellent quality, but you simply can't know what style it will be (which is a good thing). I'll refrain from making parallels between this and Haujobb's many masterpieces, but it may already say something about my insights into the EP.

Listening to Anonymous automatically brings up visions of someone thoroughly enjoying his synths, which results in excellent sound-design reminiscent of the bulky knob-twisting times of yore. However, where, at least to me, some of the bands cling desperately to that old-school sound, DSX takes it and leads it into the present. The result can be both pure and raw, powerful and poetic, hypnotic and ominous.

So now for the association game. The first song 'Demonic feat Emily Steigerwald' reminds me of just enough Dive (Welcome to Hell) mixed with Gitane Demone's (Incendiary Lover) eery singing style…. but better. 'Don't Resist' is a relentless bass-driven track with a detuned synth-lead reminding me to The Normal's (Warm Leatherette)… but harder. 'Anonymous' features GHST on vocals which, at first doesn't really appeal to me, until the chorus kicks in which proves you can actually do something useful with rotterdam hard style leads (I of course mean just a lot of portamento) and GHST accompanies it excellent lyrically. The result is a layered composition, melodically build against a backdrop of exciting knob-turners doing their thing. The fourth and last song, 'Information War', is in the same vain as 'Don't Resist', with an old-school vibe finding a new identity.

To conclude; most of the songs would be club hits in my personal imaginary ideal (club) world; they are all songs that allow for an exploration on multiple levels, starting in one's mind, going into different directions but heading for the same goal.
 

Pieter COUSSEMENT
19/11/2012


Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo