Your banner here? Click for more information Wool-E Shop, Your alternative music shop (vinyl, CD, DVD,...) Volunteers wanted - writers, editors, photographers... Front 242 'Repost' ft. Clan of Xymox Fantastique.Night XLII New Model Army (UK) Club New Wave - episode 11 Anthinoises Porta Nigra VIII


1.569 items    


19/11/2012 : DSX - Anonymous EP

DSX DSX

Anonymous EP [VINYL]

Dark Electro

[85/100]   
19/11/2012, Pieter COUSSEMENT

As a content owner of the full Basic Unit Productions back-catalogue, I was eager to get my hands on the Anonymous EP by DSX, to be released on vinyl on 14/12/12.

As with so many of their releases you know you get excellent quality, but you simply can't know what style it will be (which is a good thing). I'll refrain from making parallels between this and Haujobb's many masterpieces, but it may already say something about my insights into the EP.

Listening to Anonymous automatically brings up visions of someone thoroughly enjoying his synths, which results in excellent sound-design reminiscent of the bulky knob-twisting times of yore. However, where, at least to me, some of the bands cling desperately to that old-school sound, DSX takes it and leads it into the present. The result can be both pure and raw, powerful and poetic, hypnotic and ominous.

So now for the association game. The first song 'Demonic feat Emily Steigerwald' reminds me of just enough Dive (Welcome to Hell) mixed with Gitane Demone's (Incendiary Lover) eery singing style…. but better. 'Don't Resist' is a relentless bass-driven track with a detuned synth-lead reminding me to The Normal's (Warm Leatherette)… but harder. 'Anonymous' features GHST on vocals which, at first doesn't really appeal to me, until the chorus kicks in which proves you can actually do something useful with rotterdam hard style leads (I of course mean just a lot of portamento) and GHST accompanies it excellent lyrically. The result is a layered composition, melodically build against a backdrop of exciting knob-turners doing their thing. The fourth and last song, 'Information War', is in the same vain as 'Don't Resist', with an old-school vibe finding a new identity.

To conclude; most of the songs would be club hits in my personal imaginary ideal (club) world; they are all songs that allow for an exploration on multiple levels, starting in one's mind, going into different directions but heading for the same goal.
 

Pieter COUSSEMENT
19/11/2012





NEWS

17/04/14 The Delta Force - on Blu-ray, 5th May 2014 ...
17/04/14 Rediscover Häxan: Witchcraft Through The Ag...
17/04/14 Flicker Alley Adds Two New Landmark Collect...
16/04/14 Faux Discx presents the debut album from FA...
16/04/14 Lumière release Like Father, Like Son
16/04/14 Xeno & Oaklander Announce New Album
16/04/14 Electro-Pop duo Vainerz present their new E...

CALENDAR

18/04/14  MARIA / KELUAR
19/04/14  THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
19/04/14  BLACK PLANET ; THE BEST NEW WAVE PART 1
19/04/14  DAVID VAN LOCHEM
19/04/14  MARQUEECLUB PARTY
20/04/14  ASSEMBLAGE 23 + LLUMEN
25/04/14  ANTHINOISES
25/04/14  CHIP SOUND FACTORY: SICKBOY MILKPLUS + MIN...
26/04/14  NEW-WAVE-CLASSIX PARTY
26/04/14  ANTHINOISES
26/04/14  CHIP SOUND FACTORY: BITCRUSHER + THE CHEAT...
26/04/14  THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
26/04/14  DTDBIN!!! (18): CELEBRATING 23 YEARS OF LO...
26/04/14  DEN BUNKER - NEW WAVE PARTY

REVIEWS

VOGON POETRY - Don't Panic [CD]
VANGUARD - Retribution [CD]
BRIAN DE PALMA - FILM: Sisters [MOVIE]
ARKONA - Yav [CD]
 

INTERVIEWS

PAULINA CASSIDY - We ARE spirit!
THE AMATORY MURDER - We love sharing our art wit...
DOLLS OF PAIN - Come and see us on stage or buy ...
THE UNGUIDED - We make our music in the same way...
 

PHOTOSHOOTS

11/04/14 : ANNE CLARK + HERRB - zappa Antwerp, B...
11/04/14 : SIMI NAH - Zappa Antwerp, Belgium
10/04/14 : PUNISH YOURSELF - Magasin 4, Brussels...
22/03/14 : COSMETICS - Fantastique Night XLI, T....
 

ARTISTS

09/04/14 : PHILIPPE CLAUDEL
08/04/14 : CARL FRANKLIN
06/04/14 : CHRIS BRINKER
06/04/14 : TROUM
05/04/14 : GODHEAD
artists
sitemap
disclaimer
links

all.rss rss
news.rss rss
review.rss rss
photo.rss rss
calendar.rss rss
interview.rss rss
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
created & CMS
by Deltacom