Your banner here? Click for more information The Neon Judgement - The Klinik - Ringel S Scarlet Soho + Depeche Mode Party Fantastique.Night XLIII PARADE GROUND + METROLAND Baroeg Open Air 2014 EBM Summerstomp 2014 Club New Wave - episode 12 - Halloween Special CLICK CLICK - Those Nervous Surgeons (Dependent) The Raid 2 (A-film) Volunteers wanted - writers, editors, photographers... Wool-E Shop, Your alternative music shop (vinyl, CD, DVD,...) Simi Nah - New Album 'Be My Guest' Out Now ! Ataraxia presents WIND AT MOUNT ELO - June 2014


2.021 items    


19/11/2012 : DSX - Anonymous EP

DSX DSX

Anonymous EP [VINYL]

Dark Electro

[85/100]   
19/11/2012, Pieter COUSSEMENT

As a content owner of the full Basic Unit Productions back-catalogue, I was eager to get my hands on the Anonymous EP by DSX, to be released on vinyl on 14/12/12.

As with so many of their releases you know you get excellent quality, but you simply can't know what style it will be (which is a good thing). I'll refrain from making parallels between this and Haujobb's many masterpieces, but it may already say something about my insights into the EP.

Listening to Anonymous automatically brings up visions of someone thoroughly enjoying his synths, which results in excellent sound-design reminiscent of the bulky knob-twisting times of yore. However, where, at least to me, some of the bands cling desperately to that old-school sound, DSX takes it and leads it into the present. The result can be both pure and raw, powerful and poetic, hypnotic and ominous.

So now for the association game. The first song 'Demonic feat Emily Steigerwald' reminds me of just enough Dive (Welcome to Hell) mixed with Gitane Demone's (Incendiary Lover) eery singing style…. but better. 'Don't Resist' is a relentless bass-driven track with a detuned synth-lead reminding me to The Normal's (Warm Leatherette)… but harder. 'Anonymous' features GHST on vocals which, at first doesn't really appeal to me, until the chorus kicks in which proves you can actually do something useful with rotterdam hard style leads (I of course mean just a lot of portamento) and GHST accompanies it excellent lyrically. The result is a layered composition, melodically build against a backdrop of exciting knob-turners doing their thing. The fourth and last song, 'Information War', is in the same vain as 'Don't Resist', with an old-school vibe finding a new identity.

To conclude; most of the songs would be club hits in my personal imaginary ideal (club) world; they are all songs that allow for an exploration on multiple levels, starting in one's mind, going into different directions but heading for the same goal.
 

Pieter COUSSEMENT
19/11/2012





NEWS

15/09/14 Out on Lumičre Crime Film: The Keeper Of Th...
15/09/14 The 9th season from The Supernatural on DVD...
15/09/14 The fourth season from Nikita is out on DVD...
15/09/14 Peek-A-Boo presents the new clip by Chelsea...
15/09/14 Orphx strike back
15/09/14 Mythmaker by Skinny Puppy remastered
15/09/14 David Morrissey stars in The Driver - out o...

CALENDAR

19/09/14  PARADE GROUND + METROLAND
20/09/14  MORTICIA GOTHIC PARTY
20/09/14  EBM SUMMERSTOMP 2014
20/09/14  BAROEG OPEN AIR 2014
20/09/14  BLACK-OUT FESTIVAL PRESENTS : SOVIET SOVIE...
24/09/14  FANTOMATIC.NIGHT VI: UNHAPPYBIRTHDAY (D) +...
27/09/14  SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES TRIBUTE
27/09/14  THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
02/10/14  NEW MODEL ARMY (UK)
04/10/14  FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLIII
04/10/14  ACCEPTABLE IN THE 80S PART 8
04/10/14  GENETIKA
04/10/14  SEJA RECORDS LABEL NIGHT
11/10/14  ANOTHER WAVE FESTIVAL

REVIEWS

MARK REEDER - Colloborator [CD]
LEOS CARAX - MOVIE CLASSICS:... [MOVIE CLASSICS]
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT - Holdrejtek [CD]
SKEPTICAL MINDS - Run for your live 2014 [CD]
 

INTERVIEWS

METROLAND - Someone was selling our tracks on E-...
GINO VAN HECKE (ZENO PICTURES) - For the moment ...
HULDRE - We are looking forward to return to gre...
SCARLET SOHO - We hope to be remembered as a liv...
 

PHOTOSHOOTS

06/09/14 : VóLKOVA - ROCK CLASSIC Brussels
09/08/14 : DIE KRUPPS - JCC Zappa, Antwerp, Belgium
09/08/14 : DOGANOV - JCC Zappa, Antwerp, Belgium
27/07/14 : LACRIMOSA - Amphi Festival, Köln, Ger...
 

ARTISTS

13/09/14 : RICHARD LINKLATER
13/09/14 : DEN ARKAISKA RÖSTEN
13/09/14 : MICHAEL APTED
13/09/14 : LUC BESSON
10/09/14 : PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE
artists
sitemap
disclaimer
links

all.rss rss
news.rss rss
review.rss rss
photo.rss rss
calendar.rss rss
interview.rss rss
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
created & CMS
by Deltacom