tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/06/2014 : IGGY POP - Classics: The Idiot

IGGY POP

Classics: The Idiot

MusicCD


[95/100]   

Virgin Records
25/06/2014, Didier BECU

Iggy Pop has always been a difficult artist for me to deal with. Mind you when seeing him with The Stooges on stage , I am convinced that he’s the best performer ever. I mean, Iggy is pure rock ‘n roll, but his soloalbums were (especially those from the mid 80’s on) too metal for my taste.


And yet, he made two albums that changed my life. “Lust For Life” (even if I am totally bored by The Passenger) and this classic that’s been recorded in 1976 along with David Bowie (and who produced it). The influence from the Thin White Duke is immense. The Idiot is even by some considered as the first fruit of his so-called Berlin-period. The album was recorded in Château d'Hérouville near Paris and was Iggy’s first solo record since he disbanded The Stooges.


The album only features 8 songs, but they’re all classics. Rumours say that The Idiot was the last album Ian Curtis listened to before hanging himself. And indeed, this album must be one of the darkest you’ll ever find. All songs were mirrors. Pop just had returned from an asylum and they all reflect his inner demons.


I never had a heroin needle in my arm but opener Sister Midnight perfectly describes this feeling. It feels like Iggy Pop’s vomit is thrown at you. It’s dirty and it stinks, but it’s genius. A mood you also feel in Nightclubbing (later covered by Grace Jones) or Dum Dum Boys. The most bizarre song is China Girl. Forget Bowie’s version, this is the real deal. Iggy Pop goes completely mad on here, it is music at its most extreme. I don’t blame Bowie for his version, mind you. You just feel more like Marlon Brando when listening to Iggy’s version.


The Idiot is an album you’ll find in many lists, but you’ll never hear it on the radio. Too strange, too dark, too black or whatever. Never mind The Idiot is a piece to take to that famous island. A perfect place as there’s no wall around to smash your head to.

Originally the album was released on RCA, but was later pressed on CD by Virgin.

Didier BECU
25/06/2014


Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO
21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)