tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/06/2014 : IGGY POP - Classics: The Idiot

IGGY POP

Classics: The Idiot

MusicCD


[95/100]   

Virgin Records
25/06/2014, Didier BECU

Iggy Pop has always been a difficult artist for me to deal with. Mind you when seeing him with The Stooges on stage , I am convinced that he’s the best performer ever. I mean, Iggy is pure rock ‘n roll, but his soloalbums were (especially those from the mid 80’s on) too metal for my taste.


And yet, he made two albums that changed my life. “Lust For Life” (even if I am totally bored by The Passenger) and this classic that’s been recorded in 1976 along with David Bowie (and who produced it). The influence from the Thin White Duke is immense. The Idiot is even by some considered as the first fruit of his so-called Berlin-period. The album was recorded in Château d'Hérouville near Paris and was Iggy’s first solo record since he disbanded The Stooges.


The album only features 8 songs, but they’re all classics. Rumours say that The Idiot was the last album Ian Curtis listened to before hanging himself. And indeed, this album must be one of the darkest you’ll ever find. All songs were mirrors. Pop just had returned from an asylum and they all reflect his inner demons.


I never had a heroin needle in my arm but opener Sister Midnight perfectly describes this feeling. It feels like Iggy Pop’s vomit is thrown at you. It’s dirty and it stinks, but it’s genius. A mood you also feel in Nightclubbing (later covered by Grace Jones) or Dum Dum Boys. The most bizarre song is China Girl. Forget Bowie’s version, this is the real deal. Iggy Pop goes completely mad on here, it is music at its most extreme. I don’t blame Bowie for his version, mind you. You just feel more like Marlon Brando when listening to Iggy’s version.


The Idiot is an album you’ll find in many lists, but you’ll never hear it on the radio. Too strange, too dark, too black or whatever. Never mind The Idiot is a piece to take to that famous island. A perfect place as there’s no wall around to smash your head to.

Originally the album was released on RCA, but was later pressed on CD by Virgin.

Didier BECU
25/06/2014


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis