tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/06/2014 : IGGY POP - Classics: The Idiot

IGGY POP

Classics: The Idiot

MusicCD


[95/100]   

Virgin Records
25/06/2014, Didier BECU

Iggy Pop has always been a difficult artist for me to deal with. Mind you when seeing him with The Stooges on stage , I am convinced that he’s the best performer ever. I mean, Iggy is pure rock ‘n roll, but his soloalbums were (especially those from the mid 80’s on) too metal for my taste.


And yet, he made two albums that changed my life. “Lust For Life” (even if I am totally bored by The Passenger) and this classic that’s been recorded in 1976 along with David Bowie (and who produced it). The influence from the Thin White Duke is immense. The Idiot is even by some considered as the first fruit of his so-called Berlin-period. The album was recorded in Château d'Hérouville near Paris and was Iggy’s first solo record since he disbanded The Stooges.


The album only features 8 songs, but they’re all classics. Rumours say that The Idiot was the last album Ian Curtis listened to before hanging himself. And indeed, this album must be one of the darkest you’ll ever find. All songs were mirrors. Pop just had returned from an asylum and they all reflect his inner demons.


I never had a heroin needle in my arm but opener Sister Midnight perfectly describes this feeling. It feels like Iggy Pop’s vomit is thrown at you. It’s dirty and it stinks, but it’s genius. A mood you also feel in Nightclubbing (later covered by Grace Jones) or Dum Dum Boys. The most bizarre song is China Girl. Forget Bowie’s version, this is the real deal. Iggy Pop goes completely mad on here, it is music at its most extreme. I don’t blame Bowie for his version, mind you. You just feel more like Marlon Brando when listening to Iggy’s version.


The Idiot is an album you’ll find in many lists, but you’ll never hear it on the radio. Too strange, too dark, too black or whatever. Never mind The Idiot is a piece to take to that famous island. A perfect place as there’s no wall around to smash your head to.

Originally the album was released on RCA, but was later pressed on CD by Virgin.

Didier BECU
25/06/2014


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)