tempobet yeni adresi
like this movie review

UPI AVIANTO

Shackled (Belenggu)

Movie
13/12/2013, Didier BECU

Fans of horror movies probably know that Asia is the ideal place to find such gems. One of the labels that offers you the cream of the crop of these type of films is the UK-based Terror Cotta, a company that promotes Far East movies with a dark twist. New in their catalogue is Belenggu, or if you prefer its English title: Shackled.

In this movie Upi (aka Upi Avianto) tells the story from a disturbed young guy who’s seeing an imaginary bunny. Wait a minute! Imagining a bunny? Haven’t we seen that in Donnie Darko? Well yes, but the fluffy animal is the sole common link with RichardKelly’s movie. And of course the very dark atmosphere as well. Upi offers you all the ingredients that are needed for an intriguing scary movie: a gorgeous femme fatale, a psychopath dressed up as a bunny (including with an axe) and of course lots of blood.

Belenguu is the darkest movie filmdirector Upi made so far. In her homecountry Indonesia she’s famous for the teen drama Chocolate Strawberry or the action flick Last Wolf, but this dark original horrormovie definitely must give her an international platform though. Recommended for anyone who’s into Asiamania-movies.

Belenggu is now out on Terror Cotta and available on their website.

Didier BECU
13/12/2013


13/12/2013 : UPI AVIANTO - Shackled (Belenggu) 13/12/2013 : UPI AVIANTO - Shackled (Belenggu) 13/12/2013 : UPI AVIANTO - Shackled (Belenggu) 13/12/2013 : UPI AVIANTO - Shackled (Belenggu)

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song