tempobet yeni adresi
like this movie review

UPI AVIANTO

Shackled (Belenggu)

Movie
13/12/2013, Didier BECU

Fans of horror movies probably know that Asia is the ideal place to find such gems. One of the labels that offers you the cream of the crop of these type of films is the UK-based Terror Cotta, a company that promotes Far East movies with a dark twist. New in their catalogue is Belenggu, or if you prefer its English title: Shackled.

In this movie Upi (aka Upi Avianto) tells the story from a disturbed young guy who’s seeing an imaginary bunny. Wait a minute! Imagining a bunny? Haven’t we seen that in Donnie Darko? Well yes, but the fluffy animal is the sole common link with RichardKelly’s movie. And of course the very dark atmosphere as well. Upi offers you all the ingredients that are needed for an intriguing scary movie: a gorgeous femme fatale, a psychopath dressed up as a bunny (including with an axe) and of course lots of blood.

Belenguu is the darkest movie filmdirector Upi made so far. In her homecountry Indonesia she’s famous for the teen drama Chocolate Strawberry or the action flick Last Wolf, but this dark original horrormovie definitely must give her an international platform though. Recommended for anyone who’s into Asiamania-movies.

Belenggu is now out on Terror Cotta and available on their website.

Didier BECU
13/12/2013


13/12/2013 : UPI AVIANTO - Shackled (Belenggu) 13/12/2013 : UPI AVIANTO - Shackled (Belenggu) 13/12/2013 : UPI AVIANTO - Shackled (Belenggu) 13/12/2013 : UPI AVIANTO - Shackled (Belenggu)

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked