tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

13/12/2013 : SIMON KAIJSER - Stockholm East

SIMON KAIJSER

Stockholm East

Movie
Arthouse

[81/100]   

Homescreen
13/12/2013, Didier BECU

EN

Can you fall in love with someone who killed your child? That's the main theme from Stockholm East, the debut of Simon Kaijser Da Silva. Anna (Iben Hjejle) leads a happy life with her husband Anders (Henrik Norlén). Everything works fine till Anna receives a phone call and got informed that her young daughter is the victim of a traffic accident. Some hours later, the child dies. With this tragedy, the curtain also falls over Anna's happiness. Her husband tries to convince her for taking another child, but she refuses. The death of her child puts the family’s luck out of balance, with Anna hiding herself more and more into her own world. Out of a sudden Anna meets Johan (Mikael Persbrandt). The two start an intense romance, with Anna even becoming pregnant of him. The sole thing Anna doesn't know is that her new lover was actually the driver who ran down her daughter.

This script is indeed a dream for making the ultimate tearjerker, but luckily enough Swedish director Simon Kaijser Da Silva does something different with it. Of course it's the kind of script that makes you swallow more than once, but the filmmaker never uses clichés. At contrary, you can even accuse him of not going deep enough into the emotions of his protagonists. The performances are excellent nonetheless. Film buffs will definitely recognize Persbrandt who's famous for his role in A Better World and there’s also the wellknown face from Danish actress Iben Hjejl. Having said that, the first work by Simon Kaijser is definitely one to remember, as after all this Swedish drama has more impact than most of its Hollywood-countertypes. You won't see superheroes in Stockholm East who can conquer all the sadness in the world, as they're all people made from flesh and blood who collapse once you take away their happiness.

So far Simon Kaijser Da Silva isn't Vinterberg yet and he even misses even the grandeur that's typical for the contemporary Scandinavian television series, but Stockholm East is definitely worth your time. That's what the critics thought as well at the 68th Filmfestival from Venice during the Critic’s Week where the film saw its premiere, and at the Filmfest Hamburg as well where the picture got both the Hamburg Critic Award and the Foreign Press Award.

Stockholm East
is now available on DVD on Homescreen. 

 

Didier BECU
13/12/2013


NL

Kun je verliefd worden op de man die je kind heeft gedood? Dat is de vraag die regisseur Simon Kaijser Da Silva zich anderhalf uur in Stockholm East stelt. Anna (Iben Hjejle) leidt samen met haar man Anders (Henrik Norlén) een rustig gezinsleventje. Alles loopt vlot tot op de dag dat Anna een telefoontje krijgt waarin haar wordt verteld dat haar dochtertje is aangereden. Een paar uur later overlijdt het kindje, een trieste gebeurtenis waarmee ook het doek over Anna’s geluk valt. Haar echtgenoot probeert haar wel te overhalen om aan de geboorte van een nieuw kindje te werken, doch heeft Anna daar geen zin in. Het ongeval weegt als een zware steen op het gezinsgeluk, want de wanhopige moeder verdiept zich steeds meer in haar eigen wereldje. Plotseling wordt Anna onverwachts uit haar cocon gehaald door een zekere Johan (Mikael Persbrandt). De twee beginnen een relatie, Anna raakt zelfs zwanger van hem. Het enige wat de vrouw niet weet is dat haar nieuwe geliefde de man is die haar dochtertje heeft doodgereden.

Het is inderdaad een gedroomd scenario voor een aftandse televisiefilm, maar gelukkig doet de Zweedse regisseur Simon Kaijser Da Silva daar iets heel anders mee. Het blijft weliswaar een scenario dat de kijker doet slikken, toch verlaagt de Zweed zich nooit tot platgetreden clichés. Integendeel, je zou er hem eerder van kunnen beschuldigen dat hij te weinig inspeelt op de emoties die met zo'n drama gepaard gaan. De acteerprestaties zijn van uitstekend niveau (Persbrandt kennen de meeste filmfans wellicht uit A Better World en ook de Deense Iben Hjejle is een bekend gezicht), toch zat er iets meer in deze film. Maar goed, de eerste stap van regisseur Simon Kaijser mag er best wezen, want al bij al heeft dit Zweeds drama meer impact dan de meest Hollywoodiaanse tranentrekkers. Want tja, in Stockholm East zie je geen superhelden die opgewassen zijn tegen al het onrecht in de wereld, het zijn gewoon mensen van vlees en bloed die ineenstorten als je hun portie geluk ontneemt.

Voorlopig is Simon Kaijser Da Silva nog geen Vinterberg en mist zelfs een beetje de grandeur die we zien in de vele Scandinavische series, toch is Stockholm East je tijd waard. Dat vond men ook op het 68e filmfestival van Venetië waar de film in première ging tijdens de Critic’s Week, net als op het Filmfest Hamburg waar de prent zowel de Hamburg Critic Award als de Foreign Press Award in ontvangst mocht nemen.

Stockholm East is vanaf nu op dvd via Homescreen verkrijgbaar.

Didier BECU
13/12/2013


13/12/2013 : SIMON KAIJSER - Stockholm East 13/12/2013 : SIMON KAIJSER - Stockholm East 13/12/2013 : SIMON KAIJSER - Stockholm East 13/12/2013 : SIMON KAIJSER - Stockholm East 13/12/2013 : SIMON KAIJSER - Stockholm East 13/12/2013 : SIMON KAIJSER - Stockholm East 13/12/2013 : SIMON KAIJSER - Stockholm East

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain