tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

BLAINE L. REININGER

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
15/09/2015, Didier BECU

When I was a teenager, my life completely changed when hearing Night Air. I can’t remember how many times I played Mystery And Confusion, and I really had no idea who he was. Of course, I later discovered that he was one of the geniuses behind Tuxedomoon. Thirty years later I had the honour to ask Mr. Blaine L. Reininger which albums changed his life…

1. THE BEATLES - Meet The Beatles
The American release of the first Beatles album changed my life. First I would mime to this music, playing badminton racquets with my friends. This led to my learning the guitar and joining a band.

2. THE BEATLES - Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band.
This record influenced everyone. The Beatles were one of the main channels through which the ideas of the 60's European avant garde, like Stockhausen, found their way to remote corners of the world like Pueblo, Colorado, my home town.

3. DAVID BOWIE - The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars
David Bowie was a true game changer. He appeared on the American scene at the time of an especially dull music landscape, filled by such delights as The Eagles and Jim Croce. When I was driving a taxi in Pueblo, Colorado in 1973, listening to AM radio in my cab, only Space Oddity and Lou Reed's Walk on the Wild Side made my nights on the job bearable.

4. BRIAN ENO - Here Come the Warm Jets
I was a member of the “Eno is God” brigade. We all subscribed whole-heartedly to Oblique Strategies and sought to emulate his musical and creative thinking.

5. ULTRAVOX - Ha Ha Ha
The intelligent lyrics, the pose, Billy Currie's gnarly synth sounds and the hard hitting guitar combined to make this record and this band effect me like no other since Bowie at the time. I am proud to have met and worked with both John Foxx and Billie Currie.

6. CAPTAIN BEEFHEART - Trout Mask Replica
When I heard this in my youth, it blew my mind, both for the possibilities of atonal dada rock and the amazing surreal lyrics.

7. TERRY RILEY - In C 
Once I figured out the formula of this music, the door was open to minimalism for me, before it was called minimalism.

8. TERRY RILEY - A Rainbow in Curved Air 
As above.

9. RADIOHEAD - OK Computer 
This album hit me in a way that nothing had since Ultravox.

10. KRAFTWERK - Radioactivity
Influenced everyone from hip hop to electro pop. I was no exception.

Didier BECU
15/09/2015


15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl