tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

BLAINE L. REININGER

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
15/09/2015, Didier BECU

When I was a teenager, my life completely changed when hearing Night Air. I can’t remember how many times I played Mystery And Confusion, and I really had no idea who he was. Of course, I later discovered that he was one of the geniuses behind Tuxedomoon. Thirty years later I had the honour to ask Mr. Blaine L. Reininger which albums changed his life…

1. THE BEATLES - Meet The Beatles
The American release of the first Beatles album changed my life. First I would mime to this music, playing badminton racquets with my friends. This led to my learning the guitar and joining a band.

2. THE BEATLES - Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band.
This record influenced everyone. The Beatles were one of the main channels through which the ideas of the 60's European avant garde, like Stockhausen, found their way to remote corners of the world like Pueblo, Colorado, my home town.

3. DAVID BOWIE - The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars
David Bowie was a true game changer. He appeared on the American scene at the time of an especially dull music landscape, filled by such delights as The Eagles and Jim Croce. When I was driving a taxi in Pueblo, Colorado in 1973, listening to AM radio in my cab, only Space Oddity and Lou Reed's Walk on the Wild Side made my nights on the job bearable.

4. BRIAN ENO - Here Come the Warm Jets
I was a member of the “Eno is God” brigade. We all subscribed whole-heartedly to Oblique Strategies and sought to emulate his musical and creative thinking.

5. ULTRAVOX - Ha Ha Ha
The intelligent lyrics, the pose, Billy Currie's gnarly synth sounds and the hard hitting guitar combined to make this record and this band effect me like no other since Bowie at the time. I am proud to have met and worked with both John Foxx and Billie Currie.

6. CAPTAIN BEEFHEART - Trout Mask Replica
When I heard this in my youth, it blew my mind, both for the possibilities of atonal dada rock and the amazing surreal lyrics.

7. TERRY RILEY - In C 
Once I figured out the formula of this music, the door was open to minimalism for me, before it was called minimalism.

8. TERRY RILEY - A Rainbow in Curved Air 
As above.

9. RADIOHEAD - OK Computer 
This album hit me in a way that nothing had since Ultravox.

10. KRAFTWERK - Radioactivity
Influenced everyone from hip hop to electro pop. I was no exception.

Didier BECU
15/09/2015


15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes