tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

BLAINE L. REININGER

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
15/09/2015, Didier BECU

When I was a teenager, my life completely changed when hearing Night Air. I can’t remember how many times I played Mystery And Confusion, and I really had no idea who he was. Of course, I later discovered that he was one of the geniuses behind Tuxedomoon. Thirty years later I had the honour to ask Mr. Blaine L. Reininger which albums changed his life…

1. THE BEATLES - Meet The Beatles
The American release of the first Beatles album changed my life. First I would mime to this music, playing badminton racquets with my friends. This led to my learning the guitar and joining a band.

2. THE BEATLES - Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band.
This record influenced everyone. The Beatles were one of the main channels through which the ideas of the 60's European avant garde, like Stockhausen, found their way to remote corners of the world like Pueblo, Colorado, my home town.

3. DAVID BOWIE - The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars
David Bowie was a true game changer. He appeared on the American scene at the time of an especially dull music landscape, filled by such delights as The Eagles and Jim Croce. When I was driving a taxi in Pueblo, Colorado in 1973, listening to AM radio in my cab, only Space Oddity and Lou Reed's Walk on the Wild Side made my nights on the job bearable.

4. BRIAN ENO - Here Come the Warm Jets
I was a member of the “Eno is God” brigade. We all subscribed whole-heartedly to Oblique Strategies and sought to emulate his musical and creative thinking.

5. ULTRAVOX - Ha Ha Ha
The intelligent lyrics, the pose, Billy Currie's gnarly synth sounds and the hard hitting guitar combined to make this record and this band effect me like no other since Bowie at the time. I am proud to have met and worked with both John Foxx and Billie Currie.

6. CAPTAIN BEEFHEART - Trout Mask Replica
When I heard this in my youth, it blew my mind, both for the possibilities of atonal dada rock and the amazing surreal lyrics.

7. TERRY RILEY - In C 
Once I figured out the formula of this music, the door was open to minimalism for me, before it was called minimalism.

8. TERRY RILEY - A Rainbow in Curved Air 
As above.

9. RADIOHEAD - OK Computer 
This album hit me in a way that nothing had since Ultravox.

10. KRAFTWERK - Radioactivity
Influenced everyone from hip hop to electro pop. I was no exception.

Didier BECU
15/09/2015


15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo