tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

BLAINE L. REININGER

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
15/09/2015, Didier BECU

When I was a teenager, my life completely changed when hearing Night Air. I can’t remember how many times I played Mystery And Confusion, and I really had no idea who he was. Of course, I later discovered that he was one of the geniuses behind Tuxedomoon. Thirty years later I had the honour to ask Mr. Blaine L. Reininger which albums changed his life…

1. THE BEATLES - Meet The Beatles
The American release of the first Beatles album changed my life. First I would mime to this music, playing badminton racquets with my friends. This led to my learning the guitar and joining a band.

2. THE BEATLES - Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band.
This record influenced everyone. The Beatles were one of the main channels through which the ideas of the 60's European avant garde, like Stockhausen, found their way to remote corners of the world like Pueblo, Colorado, my home town.

3. DAVID BOWIE - The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars
David Bowie was a true game changer. He appeared on the American scene at the time of an especially dull music landscape, filled by such delights as The Eagles and Jim Croce. When I was driving a taxi in Pueblo, Colorado in 1973, listening to AM radio in my cab, only Space Oddity and Lou Reed's Walk on the Wild Side made my nights on the job bearable.

4. BRIAN ENO - Here Come the Warm Jets
I was a member of the “Eno is God” brigade. We all subscribed whole-heartedly to Oblique Strategies and sought to emulate his musical and creative thinking.

5. ULTRAVOX - Ha Ha Ha
The intelligent lyrics, the pose, Billy Currie's gnarly synth sounds and the hard hitting guitar combined to make this record and this band effect me like no other since Bowie at the time. I am proud to have met and worked with both John Foxx and Billie Currie.

6. CAPTAIN BEEFHEART - Trout Mask Replica
When I heard this in my youth, it blew my mind, both for the possibilities of atonal dada rock and the amazing surreal lyrics.

7. TERRY RILEY - In C 
Once I figured out the formula of this music, the door was open to minimalism for me, before it was called minimalism.

8. TERRY RILEY - A Rainbow in Curved Air 
As above.

9. RADIOHEAD - OK Computer 
This album hit me in a way that nothing had since Ultravox.

10. KRAFTWERK - Radioactivity
Influenced everyone from hip hop to electro pop. I was no exception.

Didier BECU
15/09/2015


15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 15/09/2015 : BLAINE L. REININGER - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring