tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/09/2015 : STADT - Escalators

STADT

Escalators

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelic

[82/100]   

Fons Records
15/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The first line that you’ll see on their Facebook page is the fact that Stadt is, according to many critics, the best kept musical secret of Ghent, Belgium. That’s a bit of a lie because there are two Dutch members involved (Fulco Ottervanger and Joris Cool), but it is also a truth that Simon and Frederik Segers (so, the two guys of Ghent) have made with Kind Of Diversion one of the most underrated Belgian debuts ever.

With Escalators, Stadt continue its psychedelic adventure, and once you listened to their second album you know damn well why dEUS invited them as support. On this album, the quartet presents eleven songs that all have something to do with indie, psychedelica and post-punk. Diversity is apparently their motto, on Breakthrough they sound like the nephews of Brian Wilson, Aching Not To Call is reminiscent of Bowie during his Berlin period. And yes, we could go on for a while: Human Interference sound as nervous as a Talking Heads song, while Catch Or Fall could fit on the newest Mercury Rev.

Stadt likes to experiment, the best example is the title track Escalators which has the same effect as if you were in an elevator after you swallowed a bag of magic mushrooms. No, do not worry, we have not tried it (yet), but it's definitely the third time that we heard this disc on one evening. So Stadt has something to do with mushrooms: it’s addictive!

The album will be out end October 2015.

Didier BECU
15/09/2015


NL

Op hun Facebookpagina steekt de groep het niet onder stoelen of banken: heel wat critici zijn ervan overtuigd dat Stadt het best bewaarde muziekgeheim uit Gent is. Het is deels een leugen omdat er in de groep twee Nederlanders zitten (Fulco Ottervanger en Joris Cool), maar het is ook een waarheid omdat zij samen met Simon en Frederik Segers (die twee Gentenaren dus!) met Kind Of Diversion één van de meest ondergewaardeerde Belgische debuutplaten hebben gemaakt.

Met hun tweede plaat Escalators zetten zij hun psychedelisch avontuur voort, en na afloop weet je verdomd goed waarom ze door dEUS gevraagd zijn als voorprogramma. Op deze plaat stelt het kwartet elf nummers voor die allemaal iets met indie, psychedelica en postpunk te maken hebben. Diversiteit is blijkbaar de leuze, want klinken ze op Breakthrough als de neefjes van Brian Wilson, dan heeft Aching Not To Call veel weg van Bowie uit zijn Berlin-periode. En tja, zo kunnen we wel een tijdje doorgaan: Human Interference klinkt even nerveus als een Talking Heads-nummer, terwijl Catch Or Fall op de nieuwe Mercury Rev kon staan.

Stadt is ook niet vies van wat experiment, het mooiste voorbeeld is de titeltrack Escalators, dat hetzelfde effect heeft alsof je in een lift zou staan nadat je net een zak magische paddenstoelen naar binnen hebt gewerkt. Neen, maak je geen zorgen, we hebben het tot dusver zelf nog niet geprobeerd, maar het is wel al de derde keer dat we op één avond dit schijfje in onze cd-speler hebben geduwd. Het heeft dus toch iets met paddenstoelen te maken: verslavend!
 

 

Didier BECU
15/09/2015


 

Next reviews
DIEMONDS • Never Wanna Die
TEARS FOR FEARS • The Hurting
GLENN KETELEER (RADICAL G.) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BEBORN BETON • A Worthy Compensation
C-LEKKTOR • 'Radioakktivity' EP
SCHMUTZ • Lipservice
THE TRAIN SET • Never California
NO MORE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
KRANKLAND • In The Realms Of The Unreal
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
KARAWANE • Karawane
DOUBLE VETERANS • Space Age Voyeurism

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL
08
07
A SPLIT-SECOND headline at GENTSE FEESTEN (Walter De Buckplein) on Sunday July 21st

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
THE SAINT PAUL
Parkhaus Duisburg
08
07
CYTO
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
11
07
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
10
07
MARCIA BAILA
LES RITA MITSOUKO