tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/09/2015 : STADT - Escalators

STADT

Escalators

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelic

[82/100]   

Fons Records
15/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The first line that you’ll see on their Facebook page is the fact that Stadt is, according to many critics, the best kept musical secret of Ghent, Belgium. That’s a bit of a lie because there are two Dutch members involved (Fulco Ottervanger and Joris Cool), but it is also a truth that Simon and Frederik Segers (so, the two guys of Ghent) have made with Kind Of Diversion one of the most underrated Belgian debuts ever.

With Escalators, Stadt continue its psychedelic adventure, and once you listened to their second album you know damn well why dEUS invited them as support. On this album, the quartet presents eleven songs that all have something to do with indie, psychedelica and post-punk. Diversity is apparently their motto, on Breakthrough they sound like the nephews of Brian Wilson, Aching Not To Call is reminiscent of Bowie during his Berlin period. And yes, we could go on for a while: Human Interference sound as nervous as a Talking Heads song, while Catch Or Fall could fit on the newest Mercury Rev.

Stadt likes to experiment, the best example is the title track Escalators which has the same effect as if you were in an elevator after you swallowed a bag of magic mushrooms. No, do not worry, we have not tried it (yet), but it's definitely the third time that we heard this disc on one evening. So Stadt has something to do with mushrooms: it’s addictive!

The album will be out end October 2015.

Didier BECU
15/09/2015


NL

Op hun Facebookpagina steekt de groep het niet onder stoelen of banken: heel wat critici zijn ervan overtuigd dat Stadt het best bewaarde muziekgeheim uit Gent is. Het is deels een leugen omdat er in de groep twee Nederlanders zitten (Fulco Ottervanger en Joris Cool), maar het is ook een waarheid omdat zij samen met Simon en Frederik Segers (die twee Gentenaren dus!) met Kind Of Diversion één van de meest ondergewaardeerde Belgische debuutplaten hebben gemaakt.

Met hun tweede plaat Escalators zetten zij hun psychedelisch avontuur voort, en na afloop weet je verdomd goed waarom ze door dEUS gevraagd zijn als voorprogramma. Op deze plaat stelt het kwartet elf nummers voor die allemaal iets met indie, psychedelica en postpunk te maken hebben. Diversiteit is blijkbaar de leuze, want klinken ze op Breakthrough als de neefjes van Brian Wilson, dan heeft Aching Not To Call veel weg van Bowie uit zijn Berlin-periode. En tja, zo kunnen we wel een tijdje doorgaan: Human Interference klinkt even nerveus als een Talking Heads-nummer, terwijl Catch Or Fall op de nieuwe Mercury Rev kon staan.

Stadt is ook niet vies van wat experiment, het mooiste voorbeeld is de titeltrack Escalators, dat hetzelfde effect heeft alsof je in een lift zou staan nadat je net een zak magische paddenstoelen naar binnen hebt gewerkt. Neen, maak je geen zorgen, we hebben het tot dusver zelf nog niet geprobeerd, maar het is wel al de derde keer dat we op één avond dit schijfje in onze cd-speler hebben geduwd. Het heeft dus toch iets met paddenstoelen te maken: verslavend!
 

 

Didier BECU
15/09/2015


 

Next reviews
DIEMONDS • Never Wanna Die
TEARS FOR FEARS • The Hurting
GLENN KETELEER (RADICAL G.) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BEBORN BETON • A Worthy Compensation
C-LEKKTOR • 'Radioakktivity' EP
SCHMUTZ • Lipservice
THE TRAIN SET • Never California
NO MORE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
KRANKLAND • In The Realms Of The Unreal
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
KARAWANE • Karawane
DOUBLE VETERANS • Space Age Voyeurism

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

Music reviews

14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend
12
10
YATES AND YOUNG
Splinters Ep
12
10
AIMAPROJECT
Di AimA Il Segno

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love