tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/09/2015 : STADT - Escalators

STADT

Escalators

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelic

[82/100]   

Fons Records
15/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The first line that you’ll see on their Facebook page is the fact that Stadt is, according to many critics, the best kept musical secret of Ghent, Belgium. That’s a bit of a lie because there are two Dutch members involved (Fulco Ottervanger and Joris Cool), but it is also a truth that Simon and Frederik Segers (so, the two guys of Ghent) have made with Kind Of Diversion one of the most underrated Belgian debuts ever.

With Escalators, Stadt continue its psychedelic adventure, and once you listened to their second album you know damn well why dEUS invited them as support. On this album, the quartet presents eleven songs that all have something to do with indie, psychedelica and post-punk. Diversity is apparently their motto, on Breakthrough they sound like the nephews of Brian Wilson, Aching Not To Call is reminiscent of Bowie during his Berlin period. And yes, we could go on for a while: Human Interference sound as nervous as a Talking Heads song, while Catch Or Fall could fit on the newest Mercury Rev.

Stadt likes to experiment, the best example is the title track Escalators which has the same effect as if you were in an elevator after you swallowed a bag of magic mushrooms. No, do not worry, we have not tried it (yet), but it's definitely the third time that we heard this disc on one evening. So Stadt has something to do with mushrooms: it’s addictive!

The album will be out end October 2015.

Didier BECU
15/09/2015


NL

Op hun Facebookpagina steekt de groep het niet onder stoelen of banken: heel wat critici zijn ervan overtuigd dat Stadt het best bewaarde muziekgeheim uit Gent is. Het is deels een leugen omdat er in de groep twee Nederlanders zitten (Fulco Ottervanger en Joris Cool), maar het is ook een waarheid omdat zij samen met Simon en Frederik Segers (die twee Gentenaren dus!) met Kind Of Diversion één van de meest ondergewaardeerde Belgische debuutplaten hebben gemaakt.

Met hun tweede plaat Escalators zetten zij hun psychedelisch avontuur voort, en na afloop weet je verdomd goed waarom ze door dEUS gevraagd zijn als voorprogramma. Op deze plaat stelt het kwartet elf nummers voor die allemaal iets met indie, psychedelica en postpunk te maken hebben. Diversiteit is blijkbaar de leuze, want klinken ze op Breakthrough als de neefjes van Brian Wilson, dan heeft Aching Not To Call veel weg van Bowie uit zijn Berlin-periode. En tja, zo kunnen we wel een tijdje doorgaan: Human Interference klinkt even nerveus als een Talking Heads-nummer, terwijl Catch Or Fall op de nieuwe Mercury Rev kon staan.

Stadt is ook niet vies van wat experiment, het mooiste voorbeeld is de titeltrack Escalators, dat hetzelfde effect heeft alsof je in een lift zou staan nadat je net een zak magische paddenstoelen naar binnen hebt gewerkt. Neen, maak je geen zorgen, we hebben het tot dusver zelf nog niet geprobeerd, maar het is wel al de derde keer dat we op één avond dit schijfje in onze cd-speler hebben geduwd. Het heeft dus toch iets met paddenstoelen te maken: verslavend!
 

 

Didier BECU
15/09/2015


 

Next reviews
DIEMONDS • Never Wanna Die
TEARS FOR FEARS • The Hurting
GLENN KETELEER (RADICAL G.) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BEBORN BETON • A Worthy Compensation
C-LEKKTOR • 'Radioakktivity' EP
SCHMUTZ • Lipservice
THE TRAIN SET • Never California
NO MORE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
KRANKLAND • In The Realms Of The Unreal
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
KARAWANE • Karawane
DOUBLE VETERANS • Space Age Voyeurism

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire