tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/06/2011 : DELTA 5 - MYOB

DELTA 5

MYOB

MusicCD
Post Punk

[93/100]   
02/06/2011, Didier BECU

We might be getting old farts (nobody who can deny this) but in the times when we’re young (ha!) people have something to say.

From time to time it seems that the talk of the day doesn’t get any further than the latest mobile phone design and even if we’re pretty convinced that in those good old days people were only interested in the newest Ford Capri, we like to be naïve.

Delta 5 was a band as such and along with Gang Of Four, they can claim to be the most important post-punk band coming from Leeds.

They were than just some post punkers who got inspired by Ian Curtis as in a way Julz Sale, Ros Allen and Bethan Peters (bass), Kelvin Knight and Alan Riggs (guitar) were the first Riot Grrrl-bands of this planet.

Using feminist politics it certainly is no wonder Kill Rock Stars released in 2006 a compilation by them.

Of course they will always be remembered for their debut single, "Mind Your Own Business" which got released in 1979.

Their years of fame were pretty short as soon after their debut album “See the Whirl” got out, the band disappeared.

In times that post-punk has become hip again, it’s a quite clever idea to dig back in the past and seeing that Delta 5 were more than just that band with that radio hit! Therefore Blue Apple released an excellent compilation “MYOB” which gives you a pretty good insight how underrated and prescient they were.

Ahead of their time as they say and as a bonus you get some remixes from that famous hit, one is even done by the most famous post-punk bassist of all time, of course we’re talking about Hookey!

Didier BECU
02/06/2011


Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
06
D.A.F.
Als wär's das letzte Mal (Boys Noize Remix) - Official Video
06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted