tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/06/2011 : MONOZID - Say Hello to Artificial Grey

MONOZID

Say Hello to Artificial Grey

MusicCD
IndiePost Punk

[83/100]   
02/06/2011, Jeremy Thomas

The chiming guitars that open "Let's Shake Hands and Wonder" just can't seem to decide if they belong to The Smiths or to Interpol.

"Say Hello to Artificial Grey" is the first full length offering by Leipzig trio Monozid. Think of The Sound meets Gang Of Four meets Sonic Youth they say of themselves. Which sums up "property and satisfaction" quite well - the tunes, the angular urgency, the intense guitars.

Franz is just as comfortable in English as he is in German, though they also include instrumental tracks like "The Shape of Things to Come", which sounds a bit like a long Chameleons intro that never quite resolves itself into song.

On "Supergrau", they very much sound like they are a great live act, which should come as no surprise, as they do tour quite extensively. The recording really does capture the excitement of the band very well (yes, I have seen them). Some of the tracks do feel a little bit unfinished, but given that it was probably made for slightly less that Interpol's doughnut budget, the overall quality of this album is remarkable.

The very least you must do as an indie/post-punk fan is to give these charming, hardworking and totally independent and self reliant Germans 3 minutes of your precious time. Listen to the excellent "Waiting For The Circus", or "Zum Beispiel Gestern" if you're a Germanophile.

The album, and a good few extra Monozid goodies are available for free download from Bandcamp.

 

http://monozid.bandcamp.com/album/say-hello-to-artificial-grey

Jeremy Thomas
02/06/2011


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete