tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/06/2011 : THE CHAMELEONS - What does anything mean? Basically

THE CHAMELEONS

What does anything mean? Basically

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[100/100]   
02/06/2011, Didier BECU

I agree that The Chameleons must be, along with The Sound, the most important band in my life. Not only because they twisted my mind but simply as I can’t think of any other band which carved so deep in the human heart.

Mark Burgess never wrote poetry but his words came out of his heart and it were the kind of thoughts that made you realize the man was damn right even if we can’t state that his thoughts were free from any blackness.

The sad turn of the famous coin is of course that these Mancunnians always had to face the curse of the genius of their first three albums. Some will even take it a bit further by saying that the curse was already their “Script from the bridge”-debut.

Can’t exactly say how many times I heard their melancholic wave songs but in 20 years time there were more than enough phases I put ‘em on at a daily base.

In my case I always grab back to their third one “Strange Times” and in some way you can say that this second album “What does it mean, basically?” kind of built the path to their third epic.

Burgess sounded more and more bitter, just listen to “Singing rule Britannia” but it was an album that was full of melancholy which could already be heard on the instrumental opener “Silence, sea and sky”, a two minute synth anthem that introduces us to one of the greatest album of all time.

It still makes it quite impossible realizing they’re still people on this earth who haven’t crossed their beauty but then again not everyone falls for the beauty of nostalgia.

This album has been (just like all the other stuff by The Chameleons) re-released and apart from the inclusion of both “Nostalgia” and “In shreds” you got offered a bonus disc featuring all the original album demos.

Didier BECU
02/06/2011


 

Next reviews
LEICHENWETTER • Zeitmaschine
SIVA SIX • The Twin Moons
DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE • Codes and Keys
MONOZID • Say Hello to Artificial Grey
WHITE ROSE TRANSMISSION • Spinning webs at night
QLUSTER • Fragen
SHOULD • Like a fire without sound
HERPES • Symptome und beschwerden
MIST • House
RISK RISK • This is 1983

 

Other reviews from THE CHAMELEONS
THE CHAMELEONS • Live Shreds
THE CHAMELEONS • Strange Times
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
THE CHAMELEONS • Acoustic Sessions

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You