tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/06/2011 : THE CHAMELEONS - What does anything mean? Basically

THE CHAMELEONS

What does anything mean? Basically

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[100/100]   
02/06/2011, Didier BECU

I agree that The Chameleons must be, along with The Sound, the most important band in my life. Not only because they twisted my mind but simply as I can’t think of any other band which carved so deep in the human heart.

Mark Burgess never wrote poetry but his words came out of his heart and it were the kind of thoughts that made you realize the man was damn right even if we can’t state that his thoughts were free from any blackness.

The sad turn of the famous coin is of course that these Mancunnians always had to face the curse of the genius of their first three albums. Some will even take it a bit further by saying that the curse was already their “Script from the bridge”-debut.

Can’t exactly say how many times I heard their melancholic wave songs but in 20 years time there were more than enough phases I put ‘em on at a daily base.

In my case I always grab back to their third one “Strange Times” and in some way you can say that this second album “What does it mean, basically?” kind of built the path to their third epic.

Burgess sounded more and more bitter, just listen to “Singing rule Britannia” but it was an album that was full of melancholy which could already be heard on the instrumental opener “Silence, sea and sky”, a two minute synth anthem that introduces us to one of the greatest album of all time.

It still makes it quite impossible realizing they’re still people on this earth who haven’t crossed their beauty but then again not everyone falls for the beauty of nostalgia.

This album has been (just like all the other stuff by The Chameleons) re-released and apart from the inclusion of both “Nostalgia” and “In shreds” you got offered a bonus disc featuring all the original album demos.

Didier BECU
02/06/2011


 

Next reviews
LEICHENWETTER • Zeitmaschine
SIVA SIX • The Twin Moons
DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE • Codes and Keys
MONOZID • Say Hello to Artificial Grey
WHITE ROSE TRANSMISSION • Spinning webs at night
QLUSTER • Fragen
SHOULD • Like a fire without sound
HERPES • Symptome und beschwerden
MIST • House
RISK RISK • This is 1983

 

Other reviews from THE CHAMELEONS
THE CHAMELEONS • Live Shreds
THE CHAMELEONS • Strange Times
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
THE CHAMELEONS • Acoustic Sessions

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete