tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this documentary review

25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out

JEANIE FINLAY

Sound It Out

MovieDocumentary


[85/100]   
25/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps no one voluntarily chooses to live in Teesside. Decades ago this coastal town was important for the steel industry, but since the crisis it has become one of Britain's darkest places. There is an enormous air pollution in the region, everything looks dull and gray, and over 30% of the population is unemployed. And yet, there is one bright spot in the city: a record store. A small miracle, just because all record stores have gone, except one: Sound It Out.

No music fanatic would ever dreamed it, but in 2015 it's rare that there still is a place for a small record store. Four people, led by Tom, ensure that music lovers from the North East of England don't have to go to HMV, the only store in the neighborhood where you can still buy a CD. The tiny shop that houses 70,000 records (from dance to obscure punk), also has a social role. It is the meeting place for dozens of music fans (young and old) who muse about their hobby, and especially look back on earlier times when everything was better. Despite the fact that they are aware of the fact that they do belong to a dying breed, they keep on going.

Jeanie Finlay became so fascinated that she decided to make a documentary about it. The result is stunning, rarely you saw the passion for music (especially the one for vinyl) so touching on screen. Finlay also sneaks into the living rooms of music fans. Very often they are people who are alone and have music as their sole support in life. If a guy says that it is his dream to be buried with his Status Quo records, simply because he has nothing else, then it is difficult not to get a lump in the throat. But there is more than just melancholy, there is also the passion. Collectors who seek with a real hunter instinct an almost unfindable record just because the name of the band is misspelled. Yes, we know them and if you want to meet the fans of Teesside, you should see Sound It Out. A more beautiful tribute to the music is almost impossible!

Didier BECU
25/04/2015


NL

Wellicht is er geen mens die er vrijwillig voor kiest om in Teesside te wonen. Decennia terug was deze kuststad belangrijk voor de staalindustrie, maar sinds de crisis is het één van Engelands donkerste plekken. Er is een enorme luchtvervuiling in de streek, alles ziet er grauw en grijs uit en ruim 30% van de bevolking is er werkloos. En toch is er één lichtpunt in de stad: een platenwinkel die steevast is blijven bestaan. Zowat alle platenzaken uit de buurt zijn op de fles gegaan, behalve eentje: Sound It Out.

Geen enkele muziekfanaat had het ooit durven dromen, maar dat er in 2015 nog plaats is voor zo’n kleine platenboer is een uiterst zeldzaam fenomeen. Vier mensen onder leiding van Tom zorgen ervoor dat de muziekliefhebbers uit het noordoosten van Engeland niet bevoorraad worden door HMV (de enige plaats in de buurt waar je nog een cd kan kopen). Het piepkleine winkeltje, dat onderdak biedt aan 70.000 platen (van dance tot punk), heeft ook een sociale rol. Het is de ontmoetingsplek van tientallen muziekfans (jong en oud) die mijmeren over hun hobby, en die vooral weemoedig terugkijken naar vroegere tijden toen alles beter was. Ondanks het feit dat deze muziekfans er zich van bewust zijn dat ze tot een uitstervend ras behoren, doen ze voort.

Jeanie Finlay raakte er zo door gefascineerd dat ze besloot om er een documentaire over te maken. Het resultaat is verbluffend, zelden zag je de liefde voor muziek (en dan in het bijzonder voor vinyl) zo ontroerend in beeld gebracht. Finlay sluipt ook de huiskamers binnen van de muziekfans. Het zijn vaak mensen die alleen zijn en die muziek als enige houvast in hun leven hebben. Als een jongen vertelt dat het zijn droom is om te worden begraven met zijn Status Quo-platen, gewoon omdat hij niks anders heeft, dan is het moeilijk om geen krop in de keel te krijgen. Maar er is meer dan melancholie, er is ook de passie. Verzamelaars die met een echt jagersinstinct op zoek gaan naar een bijna onvindbare plaat omdat gewoon de naam van de band fout is gespeld. Ja, we kennen ze allemaal en als je de fanaten van Teesside wil ontmoeten, dan moet je Sound It Out zien. Mooier kan een ode aan de muziek niet zijn!

Didier BECU
25/04/2015


25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out 25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out 25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out 25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out 25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out 25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out 25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out 25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out 25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out 25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out 25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out 25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out 25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out 25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out 25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out 25/04/2015 : JEANIE FINLAY - Sound It Out

Music reviews

04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

04
07
EIVOR NORDIC NIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
Jesus Alone
03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside