tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

28/08/2015 : TALKING HEADS - Remain in Light

TALKING HEADS

Remain in Light

MusicAlbum Classics


[92/100]   

Sire Records
28/08/2015, Didier BECU

I’m not so sure about some things in life, but I am convinced that my musical life would have been totally different if Brian Eno had become a carpenter instead of a musical genius! Of course he is the man who invented ambient or the artist who created with his Yamaha DX7 the first steps of dark wave, but he was also an influential producer. In fact, his production work was so overwhelming that you immediately knew when Eno was involved. As a producer his best works are of course Low by Bowie (which is sometimes simply called an Eno album) and Remain In Light by Talking Heads.

After his album My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts with David Byrne, Eno also did the production for the fourth album by Talking Heads. If you have to believe the rumors, Tina Weymouth and Chris Frantz weren’t that happy with his involvement, but no one can deny that Remain In Light is the best album the band ever made.

There are only 8 tracks included, and of course Once In A Lifetime is the best known, but the other 7 songs are timeless classics too. I guess an album never started so weird as this one, because Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On) feels like a fight between electronics and African rhythms, and that’s in fact how the whole album sounds like: schizophrenic, but brillant!

Adrian Belew, who previously worked with Frank Zappa, was also involved. Talking Heads always was a strange band. Because they scored some monster hits, they were loved by the labels, but the band always refused to make a hit album. It is indeed strange that despite this concept, almost all Talking Heads albums were big sellers. Even if you don’t like the band (and I really do know people who can’t stand the nervous voice of Byrne), you have to admit that they did something unique that today no longer exists and no, Vampire Weekend never came close!

Didier BECU
28/08/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque