tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

28/08/2015 : TALKING HEADS - Remain in Light

TALKING HEADS

Remain in Light

MusicAlbum Classics


[92/100]   

Sire Records
28/08/2015, Didier BECU

I’m not so sure about some things in life, but I am convinced that my musical life would have been totally different if Brian Eno had become a carpenter instead of a musical genius! Of course he is the man who invented ambient or the artist who created with his Yamaha DX7 the first steps of dark wave, but he was also an influential producer. In fact, his production work was so overwhelming that you immediately knew when Eno was involved. As a producer his best works are of course Low by Bowie (which is sometimes simply called an Eno album) and Remain In Light by Talking Heads.

After his album My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts with David Byrne, Eno also did the production for the fourth album by Talking Heads. If you have to believe the rumors, Tina Weymouth and Chris Frantz weren’t that happy with his involvement, but no one can deny that Remain In Light is the best album the band ever made.

There are only 8 tracks included, and of course Once In A Lifetime is the best known, but the other 7 songs are timeless classics too. I guess an album never started so weird as this one, because Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On) feels like a fight between electronics and African rhythms, and that’s in fact how the whole album sounds like: schizophrenic, but brillant!

Adrian Belew, who previously worked with Frank Zappa, was also involved. Talking Heads always was a strange band. Because they scored some monster hits, they were loved by the labels, but the band always refused to make a hit album. It is indeed strange that despite this concept, almost all Talking Heads albums were big sellers. Even if you don’t like the band (and I really do know people who can’t stand the nervous voice of Byrne), you have to admit that they did something unique that today no longer exists and no, Vampire Weekend never came close!

Didier BECU
28/08/2015


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu